We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Trendy Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM New York Times Square

Save Saved
You added citizenM New York Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
citizenM New York Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #19 of 452 hotels in New York City
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Trendy Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were very excited to stay here for three nights on our journey back from London and a Paris. My husband had never been to New York, I couldn't have picked a better hotel. Reasonbly priced for such a great location in Times Square. It is away from major busy traffic of people. Bed was very comfortable, loved being able to close our window curtain by tablet ( made room dark and helped us snooze off our jet lag) loved the overhead rain shower and changing led colors of shower. Room is very small, recommend two people per room along with small luggage. Hotel itself is fun with all it's citizenM saying around hotel and outstanding waiting "lobby" area. Staff is extremely helpful and welcoming. Highly recommend this hotel and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi Kayla T,

Thanks for sharing your experience with others on Tripadvisor. I hope you saw the big, oversized drawer under the bed to help store your luggage. If not, our bad! We should have left it a jar for you to find. Thanks also for reviewing your impressions in such detail.

We look forward to having you back soon.

PS – we have hotels in London & Paris too…maybe on your next trip.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    62
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
113
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Liked : the email before you arrive with useful tips location,weather and other info and confirming booking
High speed free internet for multiple devices eg smartphone ,iPad etc in the room and throughout the hotel
Great breakfast self serve lots of it ,hearty good value.
Very good value for NY
Location excellent steps from subway entry
High geek value with in room smart Samsung control for room functions such as temp,entertainment ,v cool music choices (or your own just plug it in)
Perfect for the solo or couple traveller (s) moving fast. (Channel George Clooney "Up in the Air" Jason Reitman quality make of Walter Kim novel made in 2009)
What's not to like... A little offhand if you are a boomer used to obsequious hotel attendees however Gen X and Y won't even notice.....overall very good and would stay again if travelling solo.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello Matthew P,

Thanks for sharing your experience with others. Excited to read you would return. Our design concept is not intended to target a specific generation. We are trying to appeal to what we see are the growing desires of today’s traveler. You spoke about the Wi-Fi and the good values which we find are of paramount importance. We have also placed a priority on design and art. We have put this in place in response to countless amounts of feedback we here from travelers all over the world.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Overall- can't wait to stay here again. As a hospitality designer, I've followed CitizenM for a while and was so excited to stay at your first NY location. Her is some constructive feedback:

- Having no hair conditioner (was confused by the two different shampoo types), lotion, q-tips, and ironing capabilities is super annoying. As a women who travels, I try to pack all my beauty essentials, but I consistently rely on the basics above.
- Mood Pad was not sensitive enough to touch- was sometimes difficult to wake up from "sleep" mode
- found it difficult to put on a "normal" tone of lighting without having a multicolored atmosphere (which is not good for putting makeup on)
- Could not believe that there was no "grab and go" items, fruit, or to-go breakfast containers available. I thought that's what CitizenM was known for! After prepaying for the hefty $16 breakfast, I checked out at 7:45 and needed to meet with a client shortly afterwards. I felt like an idiot when the staff told me all they had to offer me was a plastic bag to accommodate my "on the run" need (which definitely couldn't hold anything that was offered at the buffet). Major inconvenience...
-Menu boards in the morning reflected dinner offerings from the night before, which was strange and a little unappetizing
- I was asked for my credit card a total of 3 times- when booking online, when checking in, and when checking out. I didn't have any additional charges to worry about and thought it was inconvenient to physically take my card out that many times.

Overall I love the design and hope it stays up to the heavy wear +tear well. Really liked the integrated sink unit!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hi "LawSF",

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. I appreciate that you have been following our brand and finally made it to staying with us here in New York City.

Your feedback is very welcome, New York is a milestone for us and we can only succeed by having an open communication with guests staying here, in addition to great service, beautiful space and of course no hidden costs. We are here to bring an alternative to the overpriced hotels in Times Square with style, but also substance. Luxury where it counts is our motto.

- In each room you will find citizenAM & citizenPM shower gels, specially developed by the 'nose' who was also responsible for creations by Comme des Garçons, Viktor & Rolf and Helmut Lang. Most often travelers bring own lotion and conditioner to their preferences while we offer them downstairs for sale if needed. A great iron is available upon request, which we can bring to your room.

- The moodpad is designed to be responsive and intuitive but is still being tweaked, for which we are very sorry if it did not live up to your expectations. The moodpad offers an option to turn off the moodlights, so that you have a more natural white lighting. Although tests were made, we understand we need to make the controls more intuitive. An alternative is to use the regular wall switches.

- You are absolutely right about the breakfast, it's a valid point which our F&B team is taking onboard. Same for the menu boards, which should reflect the relevant information for each time of the day.

- As regarding the payment process, it's our bad, you should have not been asked at check-out if you did not have any additional room charges. We do understand the inconvenience of asking the credit card multiple times, and we are working on a solution to make a seamless process.

All that said, I'm very happy that you still enjoyed your experience overall. Be assured that we took your feedback seriously, to improve the service we offer.

Wish you safe travels and all the best!

Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel is very eeasy to find and the lobby is very cool. The hotel uses technology really well and check in was very easy! The Room is small - you certainly wont be doing aerobics in there but was more than ample for what I needed and the location is great - very central and easy to walk everywhere. Times Square is really busy and touristy so I would recommend getting away from there! The room is spotless and the bed is really comfy and it is nice to relax and watch a bit of TV on it (although the view is of the building opposite). I rang reception to ask for an iron which arrived promptly and the rest of the service was to a high standard. The idea of having the tablet to control everything is nice and modern. All in all a very good experience and I would certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hey Sixtoedcal

Thanks for sharing your experience with us & others. Appreciate the comments about the cleanliness & service. Those are staff driven and the team works hard. Thanks for recognizing them.

See you soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed for three nights. Clean and comfortable. Rooms are small but modern and with a huge window. The best is the rain shower. Another traveler said the room reminded her of a spaceship. I thought of a hotel in Japan or a small cabin in a cruise. The internet is fast and the food is healthy and reasonably priced. It is almost next door from the subway line 1. Location is excellent. Close to theaters, and a few blocks to Columbus Circle and Central Park. Privacy in the bathroom can be an issue .

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello JaxLatino,

Thanks for your nice review. Glad you enjoyed the room and especially the shower. Between that and the large king sized bed and wall to wall window, we hope the room worked for you, size notwithstanding.

See you back soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

lets cut to the chase. beds huge, comfortable. rooms small, and I mean small (we didn't visit to live in room though) location (if you are a tourist) excellent. Metro (subway) right outside the hotel. Dunkin Donuts and Subway right outside hotel (convenient for coffee, which rooms didn't have). Only on demand movies we could pull up were porn (reported problem). Staff friendly. if you like the theater district and times square, this is good. if you like larger rooms with more room amenities, look elsewhere. bottom line, comfort of bed, price and location will have us back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello gary f,

Thanks for sharing your stay and so glad to hear you will be coming back. You described things very well and happy you appreciate our pricing philosophy. Our goal is to provide an affordable luxury experience...hope we succeeded.

See you again,

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

First of all, from a tourist point of view, the hotel is in a great location.
Secondly, the rooms are being controlled by a single tablet, which is easy and fun to use.
The lights and music are all controlled and there are great playlists to enjoy.
My girlfriend and I had an amazing time there!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi Ido C,

Thanks for taking a moment to share your stay with us and other readers. Really happy you had a good time and hope you tell all your friends!

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM New York Times Square

Address: 218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM New York Times Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
citizenM's archetypal affordable luxury is now in one of the largest cultural capitals of the world. Situated in iconic Times Square, just off the corner of Broadway & 50th. Inside citizenM, relax in our living room, retreat to the quiet mezzanine terrace, take a breath of fresh air at the back outdoor courty or head up to the 21st floor for a drink at the rooftop bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your citizenM New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM New York Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.