We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and Smart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bowery Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 451 hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hip and Smart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Bowery Hotel is a relatively new hotel in the hip section of Lower East Side/Bowery.
We celebrated there our wedding anniversary and the staff could not have been nicer.
We loved the bar and the adjacent restaurant Gemma (great food).
Many outstanding restaurants can also be found in the neighborhood (walking distance)
A rare find

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    82
    14
    4
    11
See reviews for
31
178
48
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not only is this hotel situated right beside where the legendary CBGB used to be, it has the authentic lower East Side vibe to boot. The cozy feel blends cocktail bar with jazz lounge . The rooms are very comfortable and if you have higher floors you'll be in for a treat. The service is exceptional and the food equally amazing. It is also a great place to celebrity spot.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I visited The Bowery Hotel in conjunction with a wedding. The rooms as well as hotel was well appointed and charming. Hotel staff was very courteous. Hotel has a vintage feel, but is only 7 years old.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 6 nights at The Bowery. We had very clean, spacious bedroom. Staff was very friendly + location is great close to centre. Lovely breakfast. What more you could ask for? Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manzanillo colima
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed four nights at The Bowery and loved my time there. The hotel is so charming, you would think it has been there since the 1940's yet no funky smell!! The hotel is only 7 yrs old, but has charm oozing!
It's a pet friendly hotel, brought my two dogs, and the 24 hr room service rocks. Best part of my stay, we would wind up the evening with a drink in hotel
Bar / Lobby where Mario greets the guests & makes everyone feel special.
Great location , lots of restaurants in walking distance, and cute shops.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was perfect for us. Just a couple of blocks from Soho and the East Village, moving around was really easy. The main room was so interesting with the last century style furniture, low lights, rubbed wood and fireplaces. It was dark, romantic and cool in the summer heat. They were also so nice to provide seating in the restaurant and main lobby for hotel guest during peak hours. The rooms were a bit of a disappointment. I'm not sure what they are going for with the silly teddy bear and the aged woolen blanket on the bed. It just felt used and second hand. The tall ceilings with wooden panels were nice and the bathrooms five star marble and tile. It is very expensive. A little pricey at 455 a night before taxes, but I suppose it's the location. The Standard down the street seemed to have a huge nightlife crowd. The Bowerys restaurant was really good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My only previous time in NYC I stayed in Mid-Town (business), and I have to say that I saw the scale and the greatness of New York up there, but opting to stay downtown really opened my eyes to the spirit and history of the city. The long history of the this city is much more evident in the crooked streets, old buildings and varied scenery of the Lower East Side, Greenwich Village, etc.The neighborhood has so many young people, so many accessible restaurants and bars, and numerous public spaces used to great effect.

That introduction to the area around the Bowery Hotel is my way of suggesting the primary reason for staying at this hotel - location. The location is not for everyone, but we were very happy with it. After you pick this hotel for its location, you will be quite pleased with the wonderfully textured neo-olde worlde charm of the hotel, with its lobby bar and its terrace facing a 19th Century cemetery in the middle of the block. You will also enjoy the personal scale of a 130-room hotel that is not set amidst giant skyscrapers. The restaurant is just fine, with breakfast a good bit cheaper than found at most midwestern business hotels. The rooms are charming and big enough, if you are used to urban travel (Europe, etc.)

The service level of the hotel, along with the location, stands out. The doormen are very welcoming and the front desk is ready to help with anything. The host of the lobby bar was almost too eager to make sure we were comfortable. A couple of stand-outs on the service front. When we would call for something to be sent up (pillows, etc.), the person who took the call would follow up later to confirm that our request was delivered. And even after we checked out, we were treated as valued guests. We thought we left some items in the room and called from the airport. Security promptly checked the room, checked with housekeeping, even checked the garbage (!) before calling us back to confirm that we had not left the item (which we found in our luggage a few hours later.) Bravo!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tablet Hotels, MrandMrsSmith and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bowery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.