We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Interesting Main Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Bowery Hotel to your Saves list
The Bowery Hotel
335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 458 Hotels in New York City
houston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Location, Interesting Main Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The location was perfect for us. Just a couple of blocks from Soho and the East Village, moving around was really easy. The main room was so interesting with the last century style furniture, low lights, rubbed wood and fireplaces. It was dark, romantic and cool in the summer heat. They were also so nice to provide seating in the restaurant and main lobby for hotel guest during peak hours. The rooms were a bit of a disappointment. I'm not sure what they are going for with the silly teddy bear and the aged woolen blanket on the bed. It just felt used and second hand. The tall ceilings with wooden panels were nice and the bathrooms five star marble and tile. It is very expensive. A little pricey at 455 a night before taxes, but I suppose it's the location. The Standard down the street seemed to have a huge nightlife crowd. The Bowerys restaurant was really good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    90
    16
    4
    12
See reviews for
32
199
52
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My only previous time in NYC I stayed in Mid-Town (business), and I have to say that I saw the scale and the greatness of New York up there, but opting to stay downtown really opened my eyes to the spirit and history of the city. The long history of the this city is much more evident in the crooked streets, old buildings and varied scenery of the Lower East Side, Greenwich Village, etc.The neighborhood has so many young people, so many accessible restaurants and bars, and numerous public spaces used to great effect.

That introduction to the area around the Bowery Hotel is my way of suggesting the primary reason for staying at this hotel - location. The location is not for everyone, but we were very happy with it. After you pick this hotel for its location, you will be quite pleased with the wonderfully textured neo-olde worlde charm of the hotel, with its lobby bar and its terrace facing a 19th Century cemetery in the middle of the block. You will also enjoy the personal scale of a 130-room hotel that is not set amidst giant skyscrapers. The restaurant is just fine, with breakfast a good bit cheaper than found at most midwestern business hotels. The rooms are charming and big enough, if you are used to urban travel (Europe, etc.)

The service level of the hotel, along with the location, stands out. The doormen are very welcoming and the front desk is ready to help with anything. The host of the lobby bar was almost too eager to make sure we were comfortable. A couple of stand-outs on the service front. When we would call for something to be sent up (pillows, etc.), the person who took the call would follow up later to confirm that our request was delivered. And even after we checked out, we were treated as valued guests. We thought we left some items in the room and called from the airport. Security promptly checked the room, checked with housekeeping, even checked the garbage (!) before calling us back to confirm that we had not left the item (which we found in our luggage a few hours later.) Bravo!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juiz de fora
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

the bowery is a perfect combination between class and relaxation. the staff is amazing, location one of the bests and and rooms are just perfect. a drink at the bar close to the small and charmy "cemitery" bring me good memories

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I love everything about this hotel: the charm and sophistication combined with one of the best locations in the city. The staff here consistently go above and beyond to make your stay top notch. While it is on the pricey side, the experience is definitely worth it! I will be back for sure, and can not get back soon enough! : ]

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My fiancée and I got married in New York in late May. We decided to splurge and stay at the Bowery, a hotel that would typically be out of our price range. it was one of the best decisions we made. The front desk staff could not have been nicer. Every time we walked through the lobby someone offered their congratulations. The manager sent a complementary bottle of champagne to the room. The room itself was fantastic with a great tub for long hot soaks and an amazing view of the Empire State Building. We only had one meal - breakfast -at the on site restaurant but it was good and there are many wonderful restaurants nearby. We were very pleased with our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Älmhult
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a long week end. The location was great with walking distance to many restaurants and shops. The atmosphere was relaxing and authentic, the staff where always helpful and the room we had (corner king with bath tub) was good! The bicycles at the hotel were perfect to explore Manhattan and Williamsburg.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

A very interesting night indeed ! - as I mentioned previously the lovely man on the door welcomed us with open arms (almost - but he hadn't a problem with our non residency of the Bowery Hotel anyway) . We ordered our drinks at the bar just off the lounge area (M and myself couldn't decide on a cocktail from their list but he was happy to put together a cocktail of anything we liked-so we chose amaretto and ginger - I did also request pear but he didn't have any) . Oh my - this was one of the loveliest cocktails I've tasted (and as you know I've tasted a few, and that's just this week !) even better he topped it with 3 blueberries , so I guess that's made up my 5 a day rule for today.

We noticed that there was some space on one of the plush sofas in the lobby lounge area, so we and took a seat to enjoy our drinks - a minute or two later a door/security guy came over to ask if we were residents etc and we explained what his colleague had said, and he was okay with that and told us to enjoy our drinks.

Well no more than 5 minutes after this, I noticed another younger door guy watching us and he kept looking over, he then came over and asked us the same thing and we explained what both his colleagues had said - he joined his colleague near to where we were sitting (door guy no2) and argued the toss with him for a good 15 minutes !! - as we listened to their conversation it was obvious that the 3rd guy was the "trainee" or newest member of staff who was obviously trying to earn his stripes by saying how it was not hotel policy and DG2 was saying it was good customer relations and as the lounge wasn't busy and there were plenty of places to sit and we were just having the one drink it wasn't a problem - but OMG young "walk before he could run "really had a problem with it !! - We can well understand the non residency thing of course , one should have priority if you are staying there - but the door guy arguing about it in front of us all wasn't very professional and potential customer friendly at all - it did amuse us though , he was almost stamping his feet/spitting out his dummy in protest. Everything else about our time in the Bowery tho was fab , and it was fun going out for the evening in the East village as I love seeing the different "nabes" at differing times of day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bowery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.