We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and stylish without too much attitude” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bowery Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 452 hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hip and stylish without too much attitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Bowery Hotel offers a rare mix of hip hotel and welcoming staff. We spent a night at the Bowery close to home on a staycation in NYC, so we know NYC, its hotels and bars and restaurants quite well, and there was nothing about the Bowery Hotel that didn't exceed our expectations. The desk staff, room service and bellmen were all friendly and welcoming. We had a very large suite with a very large deep bathtub. This is the first hotel I've stayed at where the iHome dock has a built in lightning connector, which showed a surprising attention to detail. It was too cold to go out so we ate at Gemma, the in-house restaurant which hasn't always received the best reviews, and we were pleasantly surprised at the friendly service and very good food. The location is great for access to great restaurants and bars and boutiques without lots of tourists and crowds.

Room Tip: The splurge for a suite is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    84
    14
    4
    11
See reviews for
31
183
49
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. Fabulous location. Staff very polite and helpful. Has a great atmosphere in the busy bar area. Only downside was the room was a little on the small side, but very well appointed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I live in NY but booked a night here for a really important celebration with my girlfriend. The hotel is beautiful, super cool, great location, and having told them about a surprise I planned before checking in, the entire staff made sure everything went smoothly. A great stay for a very special night!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just stayed in this fantastic hotel. Rooms were spotless and to a very high standard. The Staff throughout the hotel were always very pleasant and helpful. Had room service a few evenings as well and again the staff dealing with requests...over the telephone or bringing it to the room were always happy to help and very pleasant. Loved my stay and would recommend. Hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in early October as part of a New York/Brooklyn trip.
Initial impressions were great - its laid back but decadent. We had a corner King room with lovely floor to ceiling windows on two walls, I'd really recommend asking for one on a high floor if you can to enhance your visit.
It's certainly a hotel with personality - the rooms are old school glamour and really charming. It was the main selling point for us really.

Breakfast next door was lovely - I'd highly recommend the baked eggs and pancakes.

Location is great - walking distance to Broadway and all of the East Village charms - we'd def stay there again

Room Tip: Def get a corner King room on a high floor for great views. If you book with Mr and Mrs Smith, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very very disappointed with this hotel.

On checking in the women at the front desk was very rude. We were stood for 3 minutes before she even acknowledged us. Then once she had she didn’t even bother to ask us any friendly questions, such as how we were, if we had been to the hotel before (standard for a hotel such as the Bowery). When she stared to check us in, one of her friends walked in and she started to talk to her – totally ignoring us and was talking about her Friday night and what she was planning to do with it. She gave us our key and didn’t even explain to us how to get to the room, so I had to ask her and she just looked at me like I was a idiot and said go to the elevators. NOT a good first experience…

Once we had got to the room the Maid was still cleaning and didn’t leave for another 5 minutes which was vey awkward. She then hovered for a tip… which we didn’t give as she should have cleaned the room hours before we arrived. Have in mind we arrived at 9pm.

We stayed for one night and one night was enough. On checking out I called down to ask for the bill to be prepared and that I was paying by cash. We went down 30 minutes later and I said that we would be paying by cash and she said no one had told her and that she would need to go upstairs to check the mini bar arrggghhhhhh!!!!!

I heard so many good things about this hotel but I will never be going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business in July 2013. The Bowery is a really interesting place to stay. The room I stayed in was on the 6th floor and faced north of Bowery. I liked my room which, like the rest of the hotel, is styled to be a 1920s looking place (although built recently in the mid 2000s). The bathroom room was really the best part with a giant tub! I also like that my room had a Jawbone Bluetooth Jambox to play my music while taking a shower.

I think the place may be haunted; like probably for real. I'll leave it up to you, the reader, to ask around about this.

Great hip hotel. I really enjoyed my week long stay in SoHo.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#68 Business Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tablet Hotels, MrandMrsSmith and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bowery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.