We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not very good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Bowery Hotel to your Saves list
The Bowery Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good, but not very good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. A quirky place which was great for people watching albeit the public areas were tired and needed a good clean. Room was nice and comfortable with good amenities, although having a window view of a sun deck covered in a dozen piles of dog faeces doesn't inspire you to open your curtains. Other downside was that it was expensive for what you got especially with breakfast not included, although available next door.

Room Tip: If you don't like traffic or fire engines keeping you awake stay at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    101
    22
    5
    13
See reviews for
42
233
55
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I truly like this hotel, the rooms are great and the location is good because you can explore a lot of neighborhoods that are a little more off-the-beaten tourist path like the Lower East side and Bowery itself. They have bicycles in the summer and the restaurant is great for breakfast, lunch, and dinner... it feels like a French Café for breakfast and lunch then a very authentic Italian trattoria for dinner. And you can eat dinner in the lobby area or the outdoor space if you are a guest. Here is what makes me feel a little uncomfortable when I stay at the Bowery. Because the lobby seating area and outdoor patio are highly coveted places to sit and they're supposed to be only for hotel guests (plus celebrities or other important people who know the maître d and are ushered in right away) it can feel like you have to prove yourself any time you just want a quick drink or a rest after shopping. I like to consider myself well-dressed and pretty presentable but every time I've even tried to look out onto the patio to see if I'd like to sit there (are there a lot of people smoking? etc.) I've been stopped by someone acting like a bouncer saying, excuse me , are you a hotel guest? And it feels uncomfortable, especially since I see a lot of people just walking in and out (but I also see a lot of other "regular" guests being questioned.) I understand the need but there must be some way to make it a less, "Are you someone important?" experience. Perhaps a way to slide your door key or press it against a sensor? Again it's a great hotel but this has become sort of a deal-breaker for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our 5 day stay at Bowery, a stylish boutique hotel, was perfect. Even though it is a budget hotel but there is no compromise with the facilities and hotel services. The hotel has a peaceful ambiance and the location is perfect for city explorations as main tourist attractions like the Brooklyn Bridge is quite close by. The Broadway is also quite close and we went there one evening. The staff was very warm and cooperative. They were always ready to shell out information and that helped us a lot during our city touring. They also provide net access without any extra charges, which was a very generous and guest friendly. We loved our stay at this lovely hotel and we would be returning back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
205 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. The room was small but comfortable after an exhausting work day. Many great restaurants in the area.

A plus -- the private space at the Bowery is gorgeous! Capacity is 500 with indoor and outdoor space.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My friend and I booked a week's stay at The Bowery because of its East Village location where she had a few meetings during our stay and I was simply going to enjoy New York. The many good reviews on Tripadvisor were encouraging. First off, we were disappointed that the hotel do not do twin-bed rooms. On arrival, we were further disappointed with the size of the room. The hotel calls it Queen size, which is flowery language for a standard. Luckily, we are of slim to normal build. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom has no bath. First morning found us struggling to get the hot water going in the shower. We are both very well travelled and using hotel showers aren't new to us. Later that day, when it was explained to us we saw where we had gone wrong. It was simple really. We shouldn't have tried to turn the hot and cold dials. They were there for show only. What were we thinking?
The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. We had a cocktail or two in the fabulously decadent lounge bar. The Emma restaurant served great breakfasts (don't miss the blueberry pancakes) and a couple of meals taken there were not bad at all.
If you are coming from the UK and expecting tea/coffee making facility in the room - standard in many 3* plus hotels - for which you have paid a handsome price, you will be disappointed. However, there are some complimentary benefits including a welcome fresh fruit platter, two newspapers every morning and free Wifi.
The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the East Village with its rich immigrant history, the lower east side, Chinatown, Little Italy and has several good cafes and restaurants in the neighbourhood. It is close to two subway stations for explorations further afield.
All in all a very pleasant stay despite initial hiccups.

Room Tip: My room on the 8th floor was facing a quiet side street but high enough to have a view of the lively...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent one night for work at The Bowery - beautifully laid out, exquisitely refined manner throughout the hotel. Staff are friendly and not pushy, while the rooms are a haven from the manic traffic of Bowery just outside. The bed itself is perfect - not too soft or too hard and the in-room entertainment (big screen TV and Jambox sound system) are superb. The bathroom was actually my favourite room with a big, hot shower and marble decor. As my trip was just for one night, I ordered room service - the burger was fantastic. Thankfully my employer has a corporate rate here so I'll be staying again when I go back to New York next month. Fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We wanted a room with real wow factor for the final few nights of our special New York holiday - so booked a Bowery King and specified a corner suite (as recommended by the reviews) many weeks in advance. We were subsequently really disappointed not to get a corner room - a real let down. We would have settled for a cheaper Bowery Queen if we'd have known the corner rooms were so scarce even with that much notice. Can't help thinking they should separate the corner rooms into a different category so as not to let people down - we would have paid to secure one.

Feeling let down about the room, I went to get a beer out of the mini-bar and they were ALL out of date! We subsequently went down to the lobby bar and discovered our favourite ever hotel bar. A great, comfortable, busy vibrant place with areas reserved for guests and fantastic drinks. Spent many happy hours in there in the following days.

Disregarding our expectations, the room was great. Feel we were needlessly let down as better planning or attention to detail would have avoided this - but a fun hotel and overall would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask them to confirm they have secured you a corner room well in advance, if you asked for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#162 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#65 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#133 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#157 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Manhattan
Hyatt Union Square New York
Hyatt Union Square New York
#70 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#89 Business Hotel in New York City
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bowery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bowery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.