We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in the East Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bowery Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 451 hotels in New York City
New York
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Location in the East Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. The room was small but comfortable after an exhausting work day. Many great restaurants in the area.

A plus -- the private space at the Bowery is gorgeous! Capacity is 500 with indoor and outdoor space.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    82
    14
    4
    11
See reviews for
31
178
48
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My friend and I booked a week's stay at The Bowery because of its East Village location where she had a few meetings during our stay and I was simply going to enjoy New York. The many good reviews on Tripadvisor were encouraging. First off, we were disappointed that the hotel do not do twin-bed rooms. On arrival, we were further disappointed with the size of the room. The hotel calls it Queen size, which is flowery language for a standard. Luckily, we are of slim to normal build. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom has no bath. First morning found us struggling to get the hot water going in the shower. We are both very well travelled and using hotel showers aren't new to us. Later that day, when it was explained to us we saw where we had gone wrong. It was simple really. We shouldn't have tried to turn the hot and cold dials. They were there for show only. What were we thinking?
The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. We had a cocktail or two in the fabulously decadent lounge bar. The Emma restaurant served great breakfasts (don't miss the blueberry pancakes) and a couple of meals taken there were not bad at all.
If you are coming from the UK and expecting tea/coffee making facility in the room - standard in many 3* plus hotels - for which you have paid a handsome price, you will be disappointed. However, there are some complimentary benefits including a welcome fresh fruit platter, two newspapers every morning and free Wifi.
The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring the East Village with its rich immigrant history, the lower east side, Chinatown, Little Italy and has several good cafes and restaurants in the neighbourhood. It is close to two subway stations for explorations further afield.
All in all a very pleasant stay despite initial hiccups.

Room Tip: My room on the 8th floor was facing a quiet side street but high enough to have a view of the lively...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spent one night for work at The Bowery - beautifully laid out, exquisitely refined manner throughout the hotel. Staff are friendly and not pushy, while the rooms are a haven from the manic traffic of Bowery just outside. The bed itself is perfect - not too soft or too hard and the in-room entertainment (big screen TV and Jambox sound system) are superb. The bathroom was actually my favourite room with a big, hot shower and marble decor. As my trip was just for one night, I ordered room service - the burger was fantastic. Thankfully my employer has a corporate rate here so I'll be staying again when I go back to New York next month. Fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We wanted a room with real wow factor for the final few nights of our special New York holiday - so booked a Bowery King and specified a corner suite (as recommended by the reviews) many weeks in advance. We were subsequently really disappointed not to get a corner room - a real let down. We would have settled for a cheaper Bowery Queen if we'd have known the corner rooms were so scarce even with that much notice. Can't help thinking they should separate the corner rooms into a different category so as not to let people down - we would have paid to secure one.

Feeling let down about the room, I went to get a beer out of the mini-bar and they were ALL out of date! We subsequently went down to the lobby bar and discovered our favourite ever hotel bar. A great, comfortable, busy vibrant place with areas reserved for guests and fantastic drinks. Spent many happy hours in there in the following days.

Disregarding our expectations, the room was great. Feel we were needlessly let down as better planning or attention to detail would have avoided this - but a fun hotel and overall would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask them to confirm they have secured you a corner room well in advance, if you asked for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Cool Hotel, great staff, excellent beds, had a great room with an outside terrace.
Its what I would expect in Manhattan, it feels authentic and has been in the area for years.
Staff are all friendly and helpful not a lot of attitude from the staff.

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Once again had an extremely enjoyable stay here, this time in a corner suite which we can highly recommend. Though not cheap, the room and bathroom were both lovely, with the usual great windows and views. Helpful and friednly service as before. Still a favourite spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I just retuned from a quick overnight trip to NYC to celebrate a friend's birthday. We were wonderfully surprised with our stay at the Bowery Hotel. From the moment the taxi door opened, the retro attired doormen welcomed us with smiles and NY efficiency! Registration was also efficient and welcoming. We were shown our way to Room 403- a queen room. Room was not overly spacious but gave a sense of area and comfort. Every touchpoint of the place would make you believe you were steeping back in time (only with today's high standards of functionality and design). Loved the well stocked minibar selection which could compete with most small hotel gift shops.

Bed and linens were luxurious. Bathroom with walk in shower had great water pressure and Bigelow bath products- loved the Marvis toothpaste! Technology was appreciated with flat screen TV, jawbone Bluetooth speaker for music and ihome clock radio dock.

I didn't expect to have such a quiet experience- but design and soundproofing were excellent.

Lobby bar on Saturday night was the place to be seen with hostess most accommodating to hotel residents. Looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tablet Hotels, MrandMrsSmith and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bowery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.