We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Bowery Hotel to your Saves list
The Bowery Hotel
335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 454 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best hotel bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We wanted a room with real wow factor for the final few nights of our special New York holiday - so booked a Bowery King and specified a corner suite (as recommended by the reviews) many weeks in advance. We were subsequently really disappointed not to get a corner room - a real let down. We would have settled for a cheaper Bowery Queen if we'd have known the corner rooms were so scarce even with that much notice. Can't help thinking they should separate the corner rooms into a different category so as not to let people down - we would have paid to secure one.

Feeling let down about the room, I went to get a beer out of the mini-bar and they were ALL out of date! We subsequently went down to the lobby bar and discovered our favourite ever hotel bar. A great, comfortable, busy vibrant place with areas reserved for guests and fantastic drinks. Spent many happy hours in there in the following days.

Disregarding our expectations, the room was great. Feel we were needlessly let down as better planning or attention to detail would have avoided this - but a fun hotel and overall would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask them to confirm they have secured you a corner room well in advance, if you asked for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    87
    15
    4
    11
See reviews for
31
191
51
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Cool Hotel, great staff, excellent beds, had a great room with an outside terrace.
Its what I would expect in Manhattan, it feels authentic and has been in the area for years.
Staff are all friendly and helpful not a lot of attitude from the staff.

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Once again had an extremely enjoyable stay here, this time in a corner suite which we can highly recommend. Though not cheap, the room and bathroom were both lovely, with the usual great windows and views. Helpful and friednly service as before. Still a favourite spot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I just retuned from a quick overnight trip to NYC to celebrate a friend's birthday. We were wonderfully surprised with our stay at the Bowery Hotel. From the moment the taxi door opened, the retro attired doormen welcomed us with smiles and NY efficiency! Registration was also efficient and welcoming. We were shown our way to Room 403- a queen room. Room was not overly spacious but gave a sense of area and comfort. Every touchpoint of the place would make you believe you were steeping back in time (only with today's high standards of functionality and design). Loved the well stocked minibar selection which could compete with most small hotel gift shops.

Bed and linens were luxurious. Bathroom with walk in shower had great water pressure and Bigelow bath products- loved the Marvis toothpaste! Technology was appreciated with flat screen TV, jawbone Bluetooth speaker for music and ihome clock radio dock.

I didn't expect to have such a quiet experience- but design and soundproofing were excellent.

Lobby bar on Saturday night was the place to be seen with hostess most accommodating to hotel residents. Looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Mine was a 2 day stay here while I was on business in USA. The best thing about it is its location as it’s in a quiet neighborhood so it’s quite peaceful here. One can work in peace (as it’s far from Times Square). The place has a beautiful and chic interior, quite elegant I must say with a serene ambiance. My room was spacious and the big windows held a beautiful view of the city along with a mini bar too. They provided high speed internet at no additional cost which was great and came in handy for me. The hotel has its own restaurant, Gemma so I did not need to venture out much for food during my very short stay here. It was a very comfortable stay and I think that Bowery is ideal for business stays.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a fantastic time here and if we went back to New York we would not stay anywhere else. The rooms were decorated beautifully and the attention to detail was very good- even the toiletries in the room were from the local independent high quality apothecary which demonstrated how they go teh extra mile.

I also forgot a transformer for my hair straighteners and was able to borrow one which was a life saver! The rooms are slightly smaller than expected but I guess that is to be expected in central New York. The location is fantastic and we used the hotel recommendations for restaurants which were spot on so we recommend that you do this too.

Staff were fantastic and the bar is also very good for a lovely glass of wine.

Room Tip: We got a free bottle of champagne as it was my birthday
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great rooms, smallish (as they should be in NY) but well laid out, immaculate. Hotel has character, dark woods, heavy rugs in common areas. Cozy atmosphere for cool evenings. Gemma's is great for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#76 Business Hotel in New York City
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bowery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.