We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky boutique hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bowery Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 452 hotels in New York City
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“quirky boutique hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Ideally located for exploring new York. Hotel is modern but with lots of vintage style and character. Ideal for romantic weekend break. Good Italian restaurant and nice hotel bar- all quite hip and popular.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    84
    14
    4
    11
See reviews for
31
183
50
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Bowery is a very nice hotel in a great location close to everything the East Village, Soho, and downtown in general has to offer.
Despite being an obvious "hipster" hangout (rich hipsters anyway!) the staff are charming and helpful.
Another very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you're looking for a cool hotel in New York with something a bit different and special then this is the place for you.

My boyfriend and I stayed here last August and absolutely loved it. The staff were brilliant, super friendly and very cool!

We loved the location of the hotel in the LES. Nice and close to Soho, Brookly Bridge, etc - but further away from Times Square (which is exactly what we wanted).

Overall, nice vibe, great staff, lovely room with the best bed I think I've ever slept in. Their restaurant, Gemma, next door was lovely too.

We'd most definitely stay here again. Without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Great boutique hotel that is well located no matter what direction you are headed. First of all the corner room I had was wonderful with huge floor to ceiling casement windows. Very little street noise. While the room was on the small side, the view more than made up for it and the bathroom was large. I took room service for breakfast, and promptly arrived at the requested time. Great coffee. As far as the location you can easily walk to Greenwich village or Soho. The number 6 is just 2 blocks from the hotel and takes you right to midtown. I will definitely make a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed at in Manhattan! My husband and I stayed at The Bowery for 4 nights and and loved everything about the hotel. Our room (1002) was extremely spacious and had a fantastic view! The king size bed was very comfortable and the washroom was bigger and fancier than our bathroom at home (waterworks bathroom accessories, and COBieglow amenities). The restaurant (Gemma) was actually very good. We were suprised considering a lot of hotel restuarants can be a bit 'meh', but we thought the food was very tasty and reasonably priced considering the brunch place down the corner charges similar prices for half of the portion sizes. If you are staying at the hotel you will not have a problem getting a table at the restaurant of the lobby bar. We hung out at the lobby bar each night - either before or after going out. It's got a great vibe and is awesome for people watching! Oh - all of the staff at hotel were also very helpful and not prententious whatsover. The rooms are pricey - but since we were in NYC to celebrate my husbands 40th bday we wanted to splurge a little. We also got a complementary bottle of wine to celebrated my husbands bday, which was a nice touch! The hotel is a 5-10 min walk to Soho, Little Italy, Chinatown, and about 15 mins from Washington Square Park. There is also a Whole Foods only a couple blocks away - which is so handy if you want to pick up some food for the room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. My husband and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: email the hotel and request a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a different type of hotel. It is small and has the feeling of "Old New York City". The rooms are decorated in the 1920's but everything is brand new. The bedroom was pretty, clean and nicely decorated but on the smaller side. It had a very comfortable bed and nice amenities.

The lobby bar is very happening in the evening. Despite being crowded, t the staff managed to find us a place to sit. I would definitely recommend The Bowery Hotel. We enjoyed it because it was different than the usual hotel. Fun location too!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I've enjoyed all my stays at The Bowery. It's tastefully done, very sophisticated but not overly stuffy. I like staying downtown and like the location. Easy spot to get taxi if going uptown. A winner but expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#67 Business Hotel in New York City
#213 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bowery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.