We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem in lower manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Bowery Hotel to your Saves list
The Bowery Hotel
335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Boston, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“a gem in lower manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

what a wonderful hotel. I had a room on the 9th floor with a view of Manhattan that would leave you speechless, especially at dawn. Common areas were exotic and posh. Room service was a treat. Bathroom sleek complete with Bigelow bath products. A five star oasis.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    90
    16
    4
    12
See reviews for
33
199
52
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I love staying at The Bowery. It's very elegant but also small enough that you feel like you're staying with family. The staff there are super friendly, and when you travel a lot for work that makes a huge difference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Bowery is a truly great hotel. The design aesthetics are beautiful and the beds are so comfortable.

The hotel is in one of the best areas on manhattan, right next to SoHo and it's surrounded by new up and coming bars and restaurants. The bar in The Bowery is great to chill out in and often full of NYs elite, that being said the drinks are fairly pricey but I suppose that's to be expected.

The rooms vary within the hotel. I've stayed in 8 different rooms and have always preferred the rooms that face out onto Bowery as you get to see the sun rise. There are also some rooms that are classed as a queen room but have double aspect windows making them lovely and bright, I think they are 909 / 1009 & 1109.

There is a small gym in the basement that has a selection of free weights, a running machine, a rowing machine, a cross trainer, some yoga mats and Swiss balls but that is all.

I can't recommend this place highly enough, the staff are lovely, most of the rooms are great and the bedding on the beds is devine.

Room Tip: As I said I think the queen rooms that have the double aspect windows are 909 / 1009 & 1109 whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Is a nice hotel which is frequented by young Hollywood types.
I enjoyed my stay here but it wasn't amazing. Service was shoddy and the price was a bit steep for what you got.
Good location but if my friends didn't stay here I wouldn't choose it

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Bowery is everything you expect it to be: beautiful interior & bar, great location close to Nolita, and very classy. With that being said, it doesn't come without some NYC attitude.

We booked this hotel for our wedding, having being ex-New Yorkers we had tons of people coming in and out. Generally, everyone working there was fine with it but we did get a few eye-rolls. Also make sure if your booking under someone else's name, you get your name added as well. One night the front desk asked me to call up my fiance to confirm I was staying there before handing me a key. Not a huge deal, but a little annoying after I'd been at the hotel for a few days. Overall, the service is unpredictable, the staff either seems really nice or really snobby, depending on who you get. So don't expect that shelling out $800 a night is going to buy you top-notch service. I guess this is to be expected from a 'it' hotel in Manhattan.

On to the positives, we had booked a suite for about 4 nights, last minute we decided to stay another night and they were able to accomodate. Suites are HUGE by New York standards. The breakfast from Gemma's room service was so good, we must have ordered everyday.

If you need a beautiful place to stay and that's it, I would recommend The Bowery.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Apart from some confusion at checkin (they were expecting me the following night, even though my confirmation email from the hotel booking site was correct), I enjoyed staying at this hotel. It's in an interesting location, close to some good restaurants but near some homeless shelters, so not quite as sanitised as nearby SoHo.

My "Bowery Queen" room was small, but still felt like it had plenty of space, with a desk along one side wall and a small table with two chairs for sitting at. The bed and pillows were comfortable, with a teddy bear dressed in Bowery Hotel uniform as a nice touch. WiFi was free (always a pleasant surprise) and a little Bluetooth speaker box was provided (and it actually worked). Some other nice little touches included plugs on each side of the bed for charging mobile devices and a tube of Marvis toothpaste also provided. I'll certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We wanted to enjoy a splurge during the weekend of a family wedding, and this hotel's $500/night turned out to be just what we wanted. We chose the Bowery Hotel after knowledgable New Yorkers told us that "The Bowery is what the Mercer [which cost $100 more] used to be," and it proved a very good choice — interesting location in an area North of SoHo that is what SoHo and Tribeca were before all the big money and cutsey boutiques moved in, which means that galleries and restaurants appear with bunches of kitchen supply stores. The elevators with their dark carved wooden paneling make one believe that this is a very old building, but one of the desk clerks told us that NYU had built it as a dormitory before finding out that it could not obtain required permits, so the building was purchased and rebuilt. As that anecdote suggests, the desk and lobby staff was consistently cheerful, friendly, helpful, and informative. The bedroom was very comfortable with one of the most comfortable, luxurious duvets ever, and the bathroom and shower was excellent. My only complaint/suggestions involve clothes storage. The few drawers were too shallow for much, and the closet, was certainly one of the smallest in the civilized world -- so small in fact that there was literally no room for coats and other outerwear after we had hung up a pair of trousers, jacket, a few shirts, and two dresses. Moreover, although the household staff was as friendly and helpful as the lobby staff — asking for some ice, we received in in a very few minutes —  the service was not what one might expect for $500/night: after the first night the maid took but did not replace our 2 wash clothes and one towel (though we still had 3 thick bath towels), and although she placed little cloths on the rug along with slippers — sign of a European-style luxury hotel —  after the first night the cloths mysteriously disappeared. The room also had 3-4 luxury magazines, but someone had torn out weird strips from every other page, and no one on the staff had checked. None of these observations detracted much from our enjoyable stay, and I would not mention them is somewhat less expensive hotel, but a hotel at this price and with such a nice staff should not have such glitches, however minor they are. My wife says to add that the excellent cookies delivered each evening in a little three-compartment ceramic tray were wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Business Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bowery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.