We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Lovely Days @ the Bowery Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bowery Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bowery Hotel
335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 452 hotels in New York City
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“3 Lovely Days @ the Bowery Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I just had to take a moment to send a review for this awesome hotel. My husband and I just returned from a 3 day trip to NYC (our first ever time going there) and we decided to stay at the Bowery Hotel to get a more 'neighborhood' feel for our trip instead of staying in the Times Square or Midtown Manhattan area. I am so glad we decided to stay here as it was one of the best hotels we have ever been to! When we arrived to the hotel we were early (10:30 AM) so they had no problems stowing our belongings until the room was ready. We booked a queen room and in the comments I requested a corner room with a view as some other viewers had mentioned. An hour later we were contacted to let us know we could check in. We received some helpful assistance in getting our bags to our room and I must say that I was so impressed with our room and my husband was also. The entire hotel decor is very old english library type. Lots of wood, clean lines and colors and very luxurious. Our bathroom was gigantic with a huge sunken tub and rain shower with lots of high-end toiletries. The bathrobes were very nice as was the cute teddy bear that every one has mentioned. Our view was gorgeous and with the floor to ceiling windows we really enjoyed the experience of viewing the city at night and during the day from our room. The turn down service with cookies and bath slippers was a very nice touch too. Also nice is the fact that room service and eating at the neighboring Gemma Restaurant is inclusive on your hotel account. We really appreciated that being there and enjoyed the restaurant immensely. Also nice is the evening drink service on the patio and lobby bar area. This was such a peaceful place to hang out and get an evening happy hour. I have to say that even though all of that was great, the staff themselves were the best part. The gentleman that run the door are very helpful and are always there should you have a question or need assistance. The desk staff are great too, I was able to e-mail my boarding passes for my return flight and within an hour they called me to let me know that they were printed out for me, which was very helpful. Also my husband hurt his back on our last night and one of the room service staff didn't hesitate bringing us a bucket of ice with some bags so he could have an icepack...WOW! All in all we had a wonderful time in NYC and a big part of that was staying at the Bowery Hotel. I know anytime we return to NYC we will stay there.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a corner room, it makes all the difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    84
    14
    4
    11
See reviews for
31
182
49
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We have 25 yrs of NY concierge experience between us. We now live out of state, but travel to NY for business at least 10 times a year and will not stay anywhere else.
The staff is professional and friendly.
Gemma is their fantastic northern Italian restaurant. The lobby/atrium is perfect for business meetings or delicious cocktails made by true mixologists!
You will not be disappointed..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I honestly felt like I could move into my room at the Bowery and live there. What other hotel has hardwood floors, oriental rugs, mable baths, is immaculate etc.? I used to always stay at the W on Broadway when traveling on business, but from now on my "go to hotel" in NYC will be the Bowery...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have always wanted to stay in this hotel, and finally got the chance for a long weekend in March. It is truly a beautiful place, antiquey-luxury, with gorgeous accents everywhere in the lobby and lounge. The rooms are also cute, but look much more shopworn. We stayed on a fairly high floor and the view looking uptown was truly incredible.

There are so many great things about this hotel, especially in terms of service--easy, free, no-register wi-fi, daily delivery of NYT, super friendly front desk staff and waiters--that it made me sort of want to become one of those people who always stays here when I come to NYC. The room service is from a good restaurant below the hotel, and is fairly reasonably priced (we had brunch and my caprese omelette was super tasty!). The location in the East Village is awesome--you can't beat it for having fun in Manhattan. The drinks in the bar were so good--you should definitely have a few cocktails while staying there. But on another level, the hotel has that clubby feeling that everyone staying there is trying very hard to be cool. (The staff doesn't have to try to be cool--they were naturally awesome and had zero attitude, which was lovely.) It was hard to reconcile that feeling of hoping to fit in with the fact that I was a tourist from Iowa and there is no hiding how uncool I really am, no matter how much money I spend to pretend otherwise.

I'd never really stayed in such a trendy hotel, and this one, as fun as it was, made me realize I value convenience and scrubbed-to-the-bone cleanliness over style. There was nothing wrong with the hotel or our room other than the fact that the room had like zero sound-proofing. It was St. Patrick's Day and you could hear every single thing that happened on the street below. Also: I had to iron something and the ironing board was the kind from Ikea for people who live in shoeboxes, which was mildly problematic for dealing with wrinkly travel clothes, but this is to be expected in NYC. But despite how nice the room was, it still felt very, very lived in, and for $350 a night (for the very smallest room!), I kind of want to not be reminded of how many people have stayed there before me. So it was a fun experiment, and I would certainly love to hang out at the Bowery again, but I think it caters to a very different type of traveler than myself. I would recommend it to people who want to feel like they are living sort of like hip locals, who are aiming for a more bohemian but still luxurious and trendy NY experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Pros:
- hip hotel in the coolest location in NY
- friendly and helpful staff: young and beautiful people
- wifi and bikes for free
- king rooms: large bathrooms with huge windows overlooking the skyline
- cozy ambience, well equipped rooms, awesome minibar stuff with Dean and De Luca food and other amenities, Co Bigelow bathroom soaps

Cons
- NONE

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Bowery Hotel is a "vintage" hotel even though it is only 5 years old. Located on the fringe of the Village, it is a quiet oasis with a beautiful terrace for breakfast or drinks. The staff is very attentive (lending me their personal phone charge) and the rooms are very clean.
I loved all the little touches like the bear logo, tasseled key and wonderful room amenities.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breinigsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My sister flew in from LA to stay here for a work gig, so I drove in from PA to spend the night with her. Such a beautiful, clean, classy, charming little hotel. From the second you check in, you know this isn't your typical chain hotel. The room keys are actual keys attached to an oversized, old fashioned tassel. I'm a sucker for details. Great staff- very friendly and helpful. Clean, nice size for NYC, and well renovated (updated without loosing an historical charm). Location was not much of an issue for me, as I was there to see my sis really. But lots to do and see, and walking distance to many great restaurants.

Room Tip: OK... There was no pool that I know of, but I accidentally clucked on a rating and can't unclick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tablet Hotels, MrandMrsSmith and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bowery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.