We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels more like an upscale, 1930's luxury apartmemt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Bowery Hotel to your Saves list
The Bowery Hotel
335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Ranked #62 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Richmond, VA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Feels more like an upscale, 1930's luxury apartmemt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I've stayed at the Bowery at least ten times in the past few years. The front desk staff is not typically as "service oriented" as you would imagine a hotel of this price would be, but I find they are hit or miss on this.

That aside, the rooms, hallway decor, and public areas (even the gym!) feel like a throwback to the 1930s. All with updated, contemporary furnishings and super soft bed linens, beds and pillows. Having previously lived in NYC, this is my favorite hotel as the rooms give you all of the amenities of staying at a luxury establishment, and the feel of the hotel gives you more comfort that you are retiring to your own luxury apartment unit which is a welcome thought for anyone who spends a good amount of time traveling for work. The bar/lounge lobby is popular with locals and there is a small outdoor space that is gorgeous in the summertime.

If you can afford to stay here, it is worth it. Hopefully one day they will concede to honor corporate rates.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    87
    15
    4
    11
See reviews for
31
191
51
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Time travel seems to be the thing these days and The Bowery Hotel in NYC handles it very well. While the buiding is only 4 years old, the interior takes you back to the early twentieth century in style and appearance. Rooms are very nice and up to date and everything is well thought out. The area is convenient to the East Village and to the West Village, and a short cab ride to Union Square and above. The area itself, despite the connotations of its name is surely up and coming.
An enjoyable getaway in the city, unlike the glossy hotels further uptown.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Really great experience! Extremely comfortable rooms (stay in the bigger ones), mix of old and new. Old is mostly copies, but do not look like replicas. I am quite sensitive to fake paintings and tacky design. They have married the old world into modern with incredible ease and conviction. Relaxed service and I specially like the open bath in your room. You can watch TV from the bath. Check out the unbelievable minibars.... the private intimacy kit for 52 USD can not be beaten. It is just not a condom, but very thoughtful and delicate box of surprises for 2. Beds and linen are to die for. You can stay there for days and never go out....

Only big minus is, that you spend too much time in the hotel and do not see NY enough :)

Room Tip: Stay in larger rooms with the open bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at the Bowery Hotel in April and loved everything about it. It holds it's classic charm with all of the modern comforts of home. Room service was amazing, as was the bar. Bathrooms are spacious with train station style tiles and marble and gold basins. Our room had floor to ceiling windows with a view over the park.
The lifts are old and small, however it ties in with the old world charm of the place.
I have stayed in a few different hotels in NY and this was in the perfect location surrounded by restaurants and bars.
I would definitley reccommend staying here, we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We spent 3 nights at The Bowery Hotel with another couple. From beginning to end our experience at The Bowery Hotel was perfect. Old world charm felt so authentic that it was hard to believe that this hotel was only four years young. The friendly and welcoming staff, the absolutely perfectly lit bar/lounge/living room with fireplace to boot, fabulous cocktails and waiters, not to mention delicious food, and the nice size, quiet, well-decorated rooms...Is there anything more one could ask for? This hotel is my new "go to" when staying in NYC. Only one potential problem: The hotel is so cozy and romantic -- you may never want to leave it!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 402. Some rooms have outdoor terraces with lounge chairs. May want to consider this u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks Uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here in Dec for 5 nights for pre-Christmas break. Picked the Bowery after much deliberation. Rates not cheap by any means but we thought we'd splurge. Requested a high floor room with tub when I made the reservation and we were given 1111 which was PERFECT. Corner room with views uptown straight to Empire State Building. Bathroom has massive tub (and overhead shower) with the same view. Staff were very helpful and pleasant to deal with. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I am a former New Yorker and when we now come to the city, the Bowery is one of our favorite hotels to stay at. The service is great, rooms are great sized and the windows open allowing for some air. The bathrooms also have great amenities. One of my favorite things about this hotel is the movie selection - they have the Top 100 films available for borrowing. And it is always great to meet friends at the bar at the end of the evening... as a hotel guest we love the added perk of being able to get a table reserved without a minimum, etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#76 Business Hotel in New York City
#229 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bowery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.