We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful; how the Bowery has changed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bowery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Bowery Hotel to your Saves list
The Bowery Hotel
335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 459 Hotels in New York City
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful; how the Bowery has changed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed there for three nights in July. The staff were friendly and helpful. They pointed us to a great nearby restaurant (FIve Points). The room was spotless and nicely decorated. I did not feel that it was small, particularly given that it was NYC. Certainly our usual hotel room in Paris is smaller. (We had a room with a king bed, but not a suite.) The bathroom was decorated with a bit of a Bowery theme - all brass fixtures. The shower is a major downpour.

Our room was facing the back I think, and overlooked a standard garden in the middle of a block. I thought I detected a bit of music/noise one night, but fell back asleep. My partner didn't mention it, so I'm not sure there was an issue. (We are generally particularly sensitive to such.)

For us, the location is perfect, between the East Village and Soho.

The attached restaurant is very popular, but a little dense with trendy 20-somethings. The appetizers were excellent, but our mains were not outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    90
    16
    4
    12
See reviews for
33
199
52
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The Bowery is a great example of what a boutique property should and could be. I've been staying in New York for decades, but I'm always in search of the next satisfying hotel experience. This was only a one night stay, so I picked the Bowery for it's location near my meeting and for the excellent reviews here and on Tablet. Now I wish there had been more time for a longer stay!

Reception and check in were relaxed and helpful, the lobby bar is warm and inviting and the staff was gracious and accommodating It's like staying in a private club, but without the aloofness. My room was a decent (for NYC) size with special, interesting touches and super comfortable bed.

Room service breakfast is excellent, prompt and reasonable (for NYC) and the lobby bar is a clubby, warm and engaging scene. The location is an easy walk to all the great nearby SoHo treats (just North of Houston), so the Bowery can be a perfect hotel from which to enjoy the City. In short, what's not to like??

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

I'm an experienced traveller and NYC hotel resident. But I was still very impressed.

- This place is classy style. Extremely well appointed with great style.

- highlight is the guest-only back patio. A great oasis.

- Service is very warm and personal. Everyone seemed like they were in a good mood. (special thanks to Jaime and Vanna for great bar service)

- rooms are small, but beautiful. Besides, you will spend all your time in library and awesome back patio.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, CA
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I was a little concerned about booking this hotel because of the location, but am so glad I chose it. The Bowery is located in the middle of some great neighbourhoods, all walkable. You can get to East Village, Chelsea, Soho, etc. on foot. Plus, there are a ton of great restaurants within a 20 minute walk. The Bowery itself has some really great restaurants, cute shops and even a Whole Foods. But it is not totally gentrified, which give the area an interesting urban feel to it.
The Bowery Hotel has really amazing decor The design team did a fabulous job creating a cool gritty/luxury NYC feel of the 1930s. It is quirky (dark lobby, no concierge desk, small wood paneled elevators, a bar that looks like something from the shining or Barton Fink) but that is what really makes the experience great. Plus, they have an outdoor lounge area which I really value when spending time in New York.
The decor of the rooms is eclectic too and are fortunately very bright. Luxurious sheets, wood floors, grey marble bath (very retro NYC) all make for a great experience. Plus a great view of the Bowary below, NYC buildings ( with water towers) and even the empire state building in the background.
The neighborhood was great. At night there are tons of people walking around until all hours and during the day, it was very quiet. The street noise could be heard in the room, but just barely, just enough to remind you that you are in NYC but not disturb sleep.
Some of the staff at the front were really great and others a bit distracted. I think it would be easier for everyone if there was a separate concierge desk, with people who just specialized in that. One person at the front desk seemed a bit put out by my questions, others were great.
We ate dinner and breakfast at Gemmas. Dinner was really outstanding. Great fresh food and perfect service at a decent price. It is really an amazing place, looks straight out of some Northern Italian village. Plus, it is very fun to eat outside and people watch. Breakfast was not as good, slow service and boring food. But we discovered Think Coffee and Peels. Peels serves fabulous fun food with incredibly nice service, so we ate there constantly.
There are hotels that offer a more luxurious feel, but can't offer this amount of personality and great location at this price point.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here :)
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I have written a Review about this hotel previously - but that was four years ago, and a lot can happen in that time. In this case, the Hotel just gets better and better. I live on the other side of the world - but yet have been lucky enough to travel to New York about a dozen times now. I have stayed in a number of Hotels in the city - ranging from the Waldorf, through to other Boutique hotels and apartment style Hotels. But nothing beats the Bowery. If you are looking for a true New York experience, then don't even think about staying midtown or uptown - stay here.

Its the little things that make this such a wonderful place. I went here in late July - having gone to a conference in upstate New York, I thought I'd spend a weekend in the city catching up with friends before heading home. It was wonderful to get to the Hotel. From sinking into the wonderfully comfortable beds with sheets I'd love to have taken home with me, to the quality accessories they provide (and they think of EVERY need) through to the amazing room service from their restaurant downstairs.

And the location. It's a quick 15 minute ride on the Subway to get uptown to the museums and galleries. Or stay around the area and go to Soho - or head right downtown to the Staten Island Ferry to look at the Statue of Liberty. Or just wander around the cute shops in the area - eat at one of the amazing cafes or restaurants.

If there was one thing I'd change - it's the overhead 'rain' showers. They're impractical if you're washing your hair and if you're not. But that's a small price to pay for the rest of the amazing stuff.

Seriously, the only reason I would stay anywhere else would be if these guys were booked out. And then I'd ask to go on a waiting list.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Personal service and location make this hotel very special. The rooms are small but charming with lots of natural light and very well organized so that with two women it still worked! The reception/living area with fireplace was truly great with lots of energy at night. If you were alone, the staff was always introducing you to other guests and this was a lot of fun. This is our go-to hotel in New York.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic weekend in Manhattan. It couldn't have been more perfect. Every detail here is thought out, from the CO Bigelow bath products, to the iPod dock in the rooms, oversized marble bathtub, clientele appropriate magazines (Time Out NYC, Paper Mag, Blackbook). It is a more dreamy version of home-away-from-home.
They manage to make the hotel feel elegant without the stuffiness that comes in finer hotels. The location also can't be beat- between Soho, East Village, Nolita, all a few minutes walk (or take one of the loaner Bowery bikes and take a ride!).

Right now you can't stay anywhere hotter than on the Bowery, at the Bowery. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bowery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery Hotel

Address: 335 Bowery, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#129 Business Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bowery Hotel, a delightfully atmospheric luxury hotel in downtown Manhattan has opened its doors on the historic Bowery ushering in a new era of hospitality in one of New York's most exciting and desirable areas. Room types range from standard rooms to one-bedroom terrace suites, all of which boast hardwood floors, floor to ceiling factory windows and sweeping views of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your The Bowery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowery Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bowery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.