We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual HGI quality in great area!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10013   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$5 Breakfast for 2
Ranked #140 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Usual HGI quality in great area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

I frequently stay at Hilton Garden Inns when I travel, so when we were planning our New York vacation this year I was pleased to find the HGI in Tribeca offering a stupidly low price--$158/night, which is almost unheard of for ANY chain in New York. The location is fantastic, literally steps away from the A/C/E trains on Canal Street. We flew in through Newark and took the Airtrain into Penn Station, then hopped the A train down to the hotel (little trick since there's so many exits at Canal--look for the one marked Beach Street. Go up the stairs, hang a left once you're outside and there's the hotel). We got a nice view of the neighborhood from our fifth floor room--I suspect those are the HHonors rooms--and as per usual HGI operations the staff was pleasant and helpful. A special shout-out to Felipe, who helped out when I somehow screwed up the TV! Beds were comfortable, room was spotless and decent-sized by New York standards. If there was any nitpick it was the business center--there's two computers but only one is hooked up to the printer, and invariably said printer-compatible computer was being hogged by a teenager on Facebook. The staff will let you use their printer though, but still. If you want a little night life Bar Artisanal, attached to the hotel, seems to be a pretty popular spot. Tribeca isn't cheap foodwise, but you can always walk a few blocks to the Village for lots of cheap eats. Also check out Kitchenette, a funky little place on Chambers Street that serves great and (for the area) cheap breakfasts. I don't know if we'll ever luck out and get a rate this low again, but if you get the opportunity to stay here do so, it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    328
    68
    25
    11
See reviews for
217
212
57
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed there for 7 nights (July 13-20, 2010). Our room was a front-facing 5th floor.
Nice location, walking distance to Tribeca/Soho shopping, Chinatown and Little Italy.

Canal street (A,C,E lines) subway stop is literally 20 steps away from the entrance of the hotel, The 1, 2 and R lines are very close.

Free coffee/tea and cookies in the lobby as well as a small shop for snacks and toiletries you may need.

Fuctional rooms (HGI standard) with a good bed, bathroom (good towels) & flat screen TV. Room cleaned perfectly everyday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We just returned from another wonderful trip to NYC. This is our first time staying in the Tribeca area but it won't be out last. I found this hotel to be in a ideal location. Subway is right out the front door. Great for walking to Greenwich Village, SoHo, Chinatown.... Staff at hotel were helpful and freindly. We were in room 513 and we had a lovely bright room, with 2 doubles and what a great view we had. Our rate included breakfast which was of great value. Also the lobby always had fresh coffee and afternoon cookies. Nice treat when you are returning from a long day of sightseeing. Thanks for a excellent stay HGI!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This was our third stay. Fuctional rooms with a good bed clean bathroom & flat screen TV. The location is a bit out of the way. Going north, its an easy walk to SOHO and Greenwich Village. Going north, a direct walk into the Financial District. If you want to go to Midtown, the subway entrance is just outside the hotel. With the AAA or senior discount the nightly room rate is around $225.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

first visit to NY in 7 years....very good hotel.
rooms cleaned perfectly everyday, staff very pleasant and helpfull.

good location to catch the subway, ACE and 123 lines very close.

not too many good eating places nearby.....use bubbys for a good if slightly expensive breakfast.

overall very good

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seat 33E
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed there in 9/2009 and returned in 7/2010. It's still basically as good as I said in my year-old review, except this time they first put us in a room facing north. So we had a "view" of the gym on top of the next building, but not much more. (OK, if you stand to the left of the window and look to the right you can see further.) Not so good if you're paying for a "Tribeca View" room.

We protested, but only the following day did they move us to a front-facing room. Much nicer, except it was on the 3rd floor, and faint bass noise from the restaurant came through the walls.

Still a good hotel overall, and a great location. The desk staff is friendlier this year than last, not that we care. No one hassled us to ride a private car back to LGA, in fact a taxi was waiting right outside.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Solid hotel all around. I think everything has been said already, but let me just gives you a few comments about my stay:

-Nice location away from all the congestion, but walking distance to Tribeca/Soho shopping, Chinatown and Little Italy

-Canal street (blue line) stop is literally 20 yards away from the entrance of the hotel. Super easy and convenient.

-Free WiFi, free coffee/cookies in the lobby, fitness center, business center with free use of internet

-Easy no nonsense lobby and check in, no big lobby or anything, very European. Small shop for snacks and toilitires you may need.

-Rooms are your standard HGI offerings albeit a little smaller (it's NYC after all, eh?) and it's SUPER convenient to have a fridge and microwave. Pick up some drinks and snacks and keep them cold in your room or even buy stuff to make lunch. The opportunity to save some money here is really nice.

The reason I give the 4/5 stars is because of two shortfalls of this otherwise nice hotel:

-This place is only a year old but it's already showing wear and tear. I know NYC hotels take a beating but the hotel should watch out for that and make repairs as needed. The elevator button in the lobby required lots of pushing to get it to work, lots of nicks/scratches on the walls and doors in the hallways, and we had a broken desk lamp in our room. What gives?

-Upon leaving for the airport, the bellhop urged us to take some hotel-arranged airport car for $20 more than what a cab would cost to LGA. He was really pushy about it and when we told him we were just wanted to take a cab, he got a little rude. Avoid this conversation with the hotel...just take a cab or take the train uptown and catch the M60 of you're trying to save a little $$$. I hear supershuttle is good too?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca

Address: 39 Avenue of the Americas, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in New York City
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#158 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca located in Manhattan’s vibrant Tribeca neighborhood is home to the famous Tribeca Film Festival and features direct subway access to get you anywhere in Manhattan in minutes. Visitors can walk to some of the city’s finest restaurants featuring some of the world’s top chefs or shop at some of city’s finest boutiques.Guests will enjoy the property’s many amenities including onsite dining at the AOA restaurant, spacious rooms with HD TVs, complimentary WiFi and Garden Sleep System® beds for a relaxing night’s sleep. Business travelers will appreciate the proximity to major corporations in Lower Manhattan in addition to spacious desks in each room with secure remote printing through PrinterOn®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca Hotel New York City
Tribeca Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn Tribeca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.