We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They're lucky their food is good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of S'MAC

S'MAC
345 East 12th Street, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)
(212) 358-7912
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #903 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Pasta, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: East Village
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“They're lucky their food is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Visited S'MAC for the first time last night with my girlfriend. I had read some of the reviews about the horrible service and they weren't kidding. It was actually comical. Once I ordered my food it took 45 minutes to get served. 45 MINUTES! It's just Mac and cheese. Lol. If you can ignore the slow service, cursing and arguing by the staff and complete chaos and just focus on the food you'll enjoy it. The Mac was great. Lots of cheese and flavor. I probably will go back but will order in advance next time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    87
    32
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This place has been on my “to-visit list” for years, but it just seemed out of the way from our usual treks up and down Broadway. Thank goodness we finally wandered off that path to partake in the deliciousness that is S’MAC. It’s a hole-in-the-wall place with limited (and cramped) seating and more skillet-served varieties of mac-n-cheese than I thought possible. Now it’s moved to my “must-return-and-eat-more list.”

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pretty OK (Gluten Free)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a small, quaint little place that is modestly decorated and the staff was friendly. I paid about 18 bucks for gluten free veggie light mac (there was a 3.00 charge for GF pasta). I expected it to be a lot better than it was. The mac and cheese tasted almost like real cheese was used to top the dish, but the cheese that was used to mix the actual macaroni may have been powdered or maybe a lower grade of cheese. The two flavors and textures of the cheese did not match up.The broccoli, mushrooms, and cauliflower also did not really add much flavor. I ordered the second largest size which was more than enough food. I had some left over. My husband had the masala mac and cheese he said it was OK not really worth coming back for.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Super Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I love being able to chose multiple types of macs to eat. I am one of those people that like a little bite of everything and S'Mac lets you do that with their fancy pants mac and cheese plates! And the mac and cheese is cooked perfectly to boot!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Excellent food and Gluten Free (dont usually say those two things together) Portions are pretty big, so try some different flavors and share!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S'MAC also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to S'MAC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S'MAC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.