We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!!! This is comfort food at it's finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of S'MAC

S'MAC
345 East 12th Street, New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)
(212) 358-7912
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #994 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Pasta, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: East Village
Eastern Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OMG!!! This is comfort food at it's finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We took a 15 minutes taxi cab ride to this eatery because we heard it was that good - and it was!!! We tried the sampler with 8 different kinds of mac n cheese and it was heavenly. You cannot miss this if you like mac and cheese. It is a tight space so I wouldn't go there with a large party but so worth the drive or walk.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    86
    32
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very cool litte restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited NYC in May 2013 and a friend recommended this place. I mentioned it to my kids who thought it sounded cool. It was a little out of our way but we were glad we went. Food was so good!

The kids loved building their own creations.

You get a ton of food for a small price. Would for sure recommend this restaurant for families.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfort food at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I can't wait to go to S'mac when we visit NYC! This quaint little diner excels in the one thing: mac & cheese. And they can make most of them gluten free!! Living with celiac for almost 20 years now, something that may seem simple to others (like mac & cheese) is actually a real treat for me. The quality exceeds expectations and the staff are great. The only problem is having to choose which one to order as they have so many different options!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Order the All American Major Munch - New York Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This version is your basic comfort food recipe. I'm from Gatlinburg, Tennessee where Mac n Cheese is eaten 3 times a week in your average household. I loved it. Only downside is you have to leave your diet at home. But it's well worth it!!! Thanks for a real home cooked dish from Brigitte Grisanti New York and Tennessee Foodie.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mac and cheese; Yes please!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten at this place a few times now. The food is always good. They serve Mac and cheese countless ways. The wrought iron skillets keep it hot. The seats and tables are in need of serious repair but good is still good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S'MAC also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to S'MAC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S'MAC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.