We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Holiday Inn!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #197 of 457 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Butler, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Holiday Inn!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My family and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel in June 2013. It was wonderful! It smells fresh and clean as you walk in from the street. Right out front are a dozen or so little bistro tables that have umbrellas and seat 4 people around them for outdoor dining or relaxing. The front desk staff were very polite and very accommodating. The hotel held all of our bags all day while we were out sightseeing. Check in was fast and effective. I should note that they do put a $50 incedental fee on your credit card but assured me it will be removed as long as the room is undamaged.

We stayed in room 917. The room was small but this is New York so that was expected. The elevators were pretty good for only having 2 for the whole hotel. We had very few times we waited more than a minute or two. Back to the room, it was very crisp and clean. The A/C system worked wonderfully and were were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean, well stocked and has plenty of towels. We requested an extra blanket and it was brought up immediately. It was a nice thick one too, not a flimsy, thin one.

The complimentary breakfast was good. Nothing spectacular but not so bad you cant eat it. It is free after all. They offer pancakes, eggs with cheese, sausage, juices, coffee, tea, water, oatmeal packets, dry cereal, milk, muffins, bagels, english muffins, warm cinnamon rolls, bread for toast and more! The staff keep it well stocked and organized. It gets a little hectic but we managed to find tables both mornings.

All in all a wonderful stay. No complaints here!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Megan F,

Thank you so much for reviewing your most recent stay at our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your two-night stay with us. Now that its summer, the front and back patios of the hotel are ideal locations to take a quick break from a day of sight-seeing, shopping and exploring!
Thank you for noting the efforts of our housekeeping and F&B teams. We work diligently to ensure our guests feel at home while visiting. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again.
Please give us first consideration!

Best Regards,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    590
    191
    48
    36
See reviews for
373
358
103
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location for a hotel. It is walking distance from shops, restaurants and subway. Afternoon/Evening front desk personnel was quick and very knowledgeable. Although a lot of people checked in at the same time all of the gentlemen had a smile on their face and were willing to accommodate. Both guys had great recommendations for local restaurants. Only downfall was a loud group of individuals in the gazebo area. It didn't make the hotel look so welcoming. Overall experience was good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear zachy0308,

Thank you very much for the spectacular five star review! We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed a wonderful weekend in the city with us. We have already commended both Fahad and Victor for making your stay exceptional. We are lucky to have a close-knit team of individuals who are passionate about our hotel, our city and most-importantly, our guests.

Please visit us again! We look forward to welcoming you back!

SIncerely,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My family and I stayed a week at this hotel and we were very pleasantly surprised! The room, other than being small (which I guess is normal in NYC), was very clean. In fact, we forgot to take the "Do not disturb " sign off the door and they left a note for us stating that the room was not cleaned and if we needed anything to just call. The breakfasts were good for continental and the staff kept it clean. The Front Desk Manager, Matthew Dempsey, was exceptional! He was quick to greet us and gave wonderful suggestions. We say him almost every day and he would greet us with a smile. Thanks to him and the cleanliness of our room, we will definitely stay at other Holiday Inn Expresses. Thanks Matthew!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear ladyhawkins,

Thank you so much for the glowing 5 star review! We are very happy to hear that you and your family found our hotel clean, comfortable and accomodating. We are also pleased that you will consider visiting other Holiday Inn Expresses after this visit. We have thanked Matthew for delivering exceptional service and making you feel at home in the city. We're very lucky to have him as part of our team!

We look forward to your return!

Best,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My family and I just returned from NYC this past weekend. We stayed at the HIE in Madison Square Garden and were extremely pleased with our choice. We have stayed in other HIE in Manhattan and once again – we were very pleased with the hotel, staff and location. Upon our mid-morning arrival we were notified that our rooms were not available so they gladly stored our luggage until our later returned. Fahad the Supervisor assisted us with our check in, he was efficient and accommodated us with our needs as we were traveling with young kids. Our rooms were very clean and small but that is expected in NYC. The location of the hotel was perfect for our stay with the kids which ranged between 8-16yrs old. Breakfast was plentiful and well stocked from fruit to hot food. The indoor and outdoor breakfast areas were kept clean. Upon our checkout we were assisted again by Fahad and Victor, they both took the time to make sure our stay was to our expectation – which it was. Victor went beyond our expectation as when advised that we needed two cabs for our transportation to Port Authority he offered to walk us to 9th street and hail the two cabs for us and made sure we were attended to.

The cleanliness and location was perfect. This hotel is two blocks from Madison Square Garden. 5 short blocks from Empire State Building and a 7 min walk to Time Square which we did every evening. The subway for different routes is found at Madison Square Garden which is very convenient.

We flew into Newark airport and took the bus shuttle to Port Authority $28 round trip. From here you can walk to the hotel about 10-15min walk or take the train to Madison Square Garden. Food finds are great around the hotel, from pizza to Peruvian food. Pubs and lounges are also just blocks away. This is truly a great location for stay.

Again the hotel and staff was beyond expectation.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you Zachy!
Your review was truly "Beyond Expectation". Your satisfaction and the time that took to document your experience is sincerly appreciated. We're very proud of the attention that Fahad and Victor gave you during your stay.
We try very hard to create and maintain the experience you had and we can't you enough for sharing on Trip Advisor.
Please visit us again, and contact me personally when you do.
Sincerly,
Gary Mark DeSoiza, General Manager!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

First off be leery of the insane negative post below mine by someone that only has ONE review to their name with insane statements about this hotel They are LAUGHABLE.

On to my review :)
My family is from California and booked a week here starting June 9th. The staff greeted us all warmly and I told them we wanted to be in and out of the hotel daily fast... we are a go-go kinda family, lol. I didnt want to wait for elevators all the time etc, so he put us on the ground floor. He inquired TWICE if we were happy because its never a problem to move us.

EVERY employee greeted us every morning with a prompt hello and some even inquired how our trip was going. There is a plain clothed security there 24/7. Always.
Our family walked the area day, night and late nite with zero fears or worries.

Sheets and towels and bathroom were always immaculate on our return. I have my own personal coffee cup that maid service even washed for me. Nice!

Breakfast was promptly served at 6:30 am and coffee was always there day and night. We had our family up and eating by 7 and it was always empty in the breakfast room. If you wait until 9:00 expect a rush.

Eggs, bacon, pancake machine, fruit, yogurt, juice, milk, muffins...perfect start for our daily NYC touring. Is it 5 star? Hello! Its free. You're in Manhattan where you're about to pay $30 for a deli sandwich. Please get over yourself, lol. The breakfast lady Mary was phenomenal...clean, meticulous and always on time with everything for breakfast. Excellent worker and very helpful.
It was maybe a 3 minute walk to the subway around the corner, as well as a Starbucks. Walking to either end of the street (1 minute) and the cabs are plentiful.
I appreciate the staff at the front desk answering all of my tourist questions without seeming bothered in the least.
There is internet and a fitness room downstairs, as well as a rear courtyard. In the interest of people wanting quiet, requesting a room facing the rear will eliminate street noise. The rooms are tight but perfect in my opinion. This is NOT a resort its a place to sleep and eat breakfast and take a shower. I am a west coats girl and was shocked about east coast beds! We all got a kick out of our feet hanging off!
I felt very comfortable here and when we come back to NYC I would stay again, its a great hotel for the price and breakfast. The hotel itself is NOT extraordinary, its the staff that makes it feel that way, Thanks guys.

Room Tip: Rear facing courtyard, not street will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdesoiza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you Michelle!
I really appreciate your warning about the insane LAUGHABLE reviews that are posted occassionally.
As a member of the Intercontinental Hotel Group (IHG), we are held to strict service, cleanliness, and condition standards. Additionally, we exist in a highly competitive marketplace that requires us to continually challenge ourselves and improve daily.
I was so pleased to read your review, because you shared everything that we're trying to do for our guests. I only wish that I could have had a California type King ready for you at arrival.
Contact me next time you return to New York
Gary Mark DeSoiza, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, NL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The staff here were great! The rooms are really small and could use more room to hang up your clothes as everything (safe, iron, ironing board) was crammed into a tiny armoire. The location is OK but given the fact that I had 2 small kids I would probably opt to get a little closer to Times Square the next time. It's a bit of a walk for the little ones. I had no trouble getting a cab here. The free breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggie H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear NewfieSteak,

Thank you so much for your review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially our breakfast. Thank you for your feedback concerning our armoires. We are actively researching improvements that will help us gain more hanging space for our guests. Without feedback like yours, we would not be able to continually improve the experience we deliver to our patrons.

Best,

Maggie Houston
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Plenty
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nothing but good things to say about this place, and I stayed here a full week (Sunday to Sunday - the last week of May 2013). The hotel was just renovated in Feb 2013 so the place is pretty much spotless and new, and very nicely appointed. Excellent location in the middle of a quiet (for NYC) side street just two blocks south of Penn Station and one block from the 28th Street subway stop (red/1 line) made it super easy to get around town. From the moment we arrived, the staff were unfailingly polite, helpful, pleasant, hard working, and professional - we were very impressed. The extensive free breakfast was a HUGE bonus every day. The hotel sits back from the road, and a nice bonus was the outdoor seating/patio furniture complete with umbrellas at the front of the hotel.

So please, you spoiled whiners - people giving bad reviews because the (FREE! EXTENSIVE!) breakfast room was crowded?!? Give me a break!

People complaining because the room was "small"?! It's NYC! Every hotel room in NYC is small! It was totally fine, and even had an open-able window. If you want a big hotel room, go stay in Omaha.

I requested and was given a room on an upper floor and stayed the first half of the week in room 1517 (top floor, rear) then moved to 1518 (front), furthest from the elevators. The rooms were quiet and very comfortable and clean. We never waited all that long for the elevators despite the fact that the hotel unfortunately doesn't have service elevators for it's staff - the only, and at that it's minor, negative I can think of to say about this place.

Right at the end of the block (7th) there was a "Fresh" and a "Pret A Manger" - two sandwich/salad shops + an excellent and very reasonably priced sushi shop right on 7th (LZ Sushi) which even delivered. There is a huge Whole Foods about 4 blocks south. So excellent, fairly cheap eats are right on our doorstep if you're on a budget.

So again, this was an EXCELLENT choice for exploring Manhattan, and was relatively reasonably priced (for NYC), to boot. I would stay here again, no question.

Room Tip: I would request a room on an upper floor and away from the elevators, but that's just my prefere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJDempsey, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear bboinng,
Thank you for your excellent review! We love our guests who come and enjoy our hotel and NYC as much as we do. Our patio is a great place to relax. Our breakfast provides lots of options to get your day started. Our location lets you enjoy the city.
Please come and stay with us again.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden

Address: 232 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for choosing the brand new Holiday Inn Express Madison Square Garden Area hotel located on West 29th Street between 7th and 8th Avenue right in the heart of Chelsea and Madison Square Garden Area. We include a complimentary hot and cold Express Start Breakfast to all guests of the hotel. Our hotel is a new 15 story high-rise hotel with amenities to include free high speed wired and wireless Internet access, free local calls, fitness center, rear garden terrace and a full business center. We are just ten short blocks from Times Square. Also within walking distance is Penn Station, the Empire State Building, Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Theatre District, Macy's, mid-town and 5th Avenue shopping. Rockefeller Center is just one mile away! We are also centrally located to many fine restaurants, entertainment venues and some of the finest shopping the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Nyc - Madison Square Garden Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.