We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The London NYC

Save Saved
You added The London NYC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The London NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great hotel - nice upscale hotel, big rooms (for NYC), great workout facility, close to Metro, close to MOMA, close to central park and close to great restaurants. Close to Time Square, but far enough away to be away from the madness. The staff is exceptional too. We wanted to stay an extra day, and they initially told us that they were completely filled. However, they called later in the day, because apparently someone had cancelled and we were able to stay one more day. It was so nice they followed up, because it would have been so inconvenient to move to another hotel. We also had a great view from our window.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    523
    153
    62
    48
See reviews for
419
902
108
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Overall this is a nice, all-suite hotel in a great area of the city. Super close to the park and Times Square. Perhaps a bit out of the way if you're here on business.

Some overall thoughts:

- Rooms are nice (all suites) but seem to be a bit dated, decor-wise. Everything feels very 90s Miami for some reason, complete with pastels everywhere. Further, some of the rooms are just lacking any decor at all. The living room in my suite has zero wall art or anything but a couch, desk and TV that is far too small for the room. Walls are just plain grey. It is just matching the finer touches that you see elsewhere.

- The staff is generally friendly, but some of the concierge hosts do have a bit of that snooty NYC attitude.

- Wifi is decent but could be faster.

- The other big area besides the lack of room decor that they need work on is the lobby. There are zero chairs or places to sit. Anywhere. Not one. Why is this? I guess maybe they don't want stragglers coming into that space since it is relatively small but it's very frustrating when it is pouring rain outside and you just want to wait for your car/taxi/ride to get there. At the very least they could put a couple couches and coffee table in front of the fireplace.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed here for the first time on a 4 day trip to NYC where we wanted to be in mid-town close to shopping and the theatre district. This hotel is perfectly situated on 54th St. between 7th and Ave. of the Americas. Theatres were at most an 11 block walk. 5th Avenue is just 2 blocks away. We found a deal on the American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts web page and upgraded to a Sky Suite. The one we had was on the top floor of the building and at 950 sq. ft. was a very spacious apartment. It was great. All the rooms in the hotel are suites. One night at the bar we spoke with a man who has stayed there many times over the years. He comes to New York frequently and would not stay anywhere else. A big part of why he does so is the room size. He said all the rooms are a very generous size. The staff in the lobby, doormen and bellhops are very friendly. The restaurant leaves a little bit to be desired. It is a Gordon Ramsey. It is quite small for a hotel of this size. Most mornings there was a long wait for breakfast. In my opinion one reason is because they were not very efficient at turning over the tables. We had dinner there 2 nights. I found the food excellent, the crab cake, lobster pot pie, scallops were all excellent. The ambiance left a lot to be desired. I really felt I was in the dining room of a hotel. They did not try to make it look nice, warm and inviting for the night time crowd. This detracts from the overall attractiveness of the hotel. That being said, I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE! Edward Costa is hands down the WORST GM i have ever dealt with at a hotel in my life. Snide, rude, awful at customer service. My company held an event at the London's amazing penthouse ( beautiful space, worst customer service i have experienced) After spending over 12k for an event asked to speak with gm about a few concerns and issues was told directly by ED that they have much larger corporate clients who spend much more than my company did and he would not be able to help us all with a BIG smirk on his face. Ed took my perception of a beautiful room at a fine hotel and turned me into a client who will never ever return. We have requested Ed's bosses contact info at luxutry resorts to no avail. He is an embarrassment to customer service and should be removed as the GM before he ruins a perfectly fine hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed at this property in Novermber 2013. My stay was amazing.The staff was attentive and very accommodating. You are within walking distance of Time Square and Central Park. The suites were modern and well appointed. My favorite part of the suite was the bathroom. The double shower was a nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Westmeath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed in The London NYC by myself on business firstly and then had an extended few days to experience it as a leisure guest.
This hotel is prime location between 6th and 7th just back from Central Park South and is only a minute to 5th Avenue.
The staff at the hotel could not have done any more to make my stay any better, from the initial welcome to leaving the hotel the team were top notch, extremely knowledgeable on all counts and most helpful.
The suites are excellent- large, bright, spacious, excellently decorated with excellent amenities.
From a business point of view the suites sitting rooms offer large desks, comfortable chairs, strong wifi and all you need to conduct your business or host meetings.
From a personal point of view the gym facilities and proximity to runs in Central Park were excellent and the lounge offered both an excellent breakfast and a great wine or cocktails menu in the evening.
At the time of my stay the main restaurant was closed so the same area used for breakfast was the only full dining facility available for dinner - it was tasty and I couldn't fault it, but I did find it quite limited and uninspiring as the only full restaurant for dinner in the hotel. Fine if you are staying in the hotel and just want something tasty and handy. It was just as easy to dine in the bar on the smaller bar menu which offered nearly as much and had slightly more buzz. But in New York dining options are not exactly limited anyway so I would not rate this as negative just an observance during the time of my stay.
This hotel in general is excellent, exceptionally maintained, wonderfully located and hosts a fantastic front of house team. I will make a point of staying in The London NYC on my next trip to New York, whether it be on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

It all began when our taxi smashed into a parked truck trailer in front of The London...employees from the hotel on their break..saw this...quickly grabbed our bags..took us thru the back of the hotel and in 2 minutes had us checked in and our holiday began...the service continued to be superb thru out our stay in this most charming hotel situated near all...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The London NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The London NYC

Address: 151 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#47 Business Hotel in New York City
#53 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The London NYC 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated urban luxury in the heart of midtown Manhattan, the award-winning London NYC sets a new standard for New York luxury hotels. Named to several "€œBest of€�" and "Top 10€� lists", you'€™ll find detailed design, attentive service and the acclaimed Gordon Ramsay restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your The London NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The London Nyc Hotel New York City
London Nyc New York City
London Hotel New York
London Nyc Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The London NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.