We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trestle on Tenth

Trestle on Tenth
242 10th Ave, New York City, NY 10001-7002 (Chelsea)
212-645-5659
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trestle on Tenth is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,312 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Swiss, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 24th Street
Transit: C or E trains to 23rd street and 8th Avenue, then walk west 2 blocks to 10th Avenue, turn north, walk 1 block to 24th Street. The cross-town #23 bus to 23rd Street and 10th Avenue, turn north, walk 1 block to 24th Street.
Chevy Chase, MD
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had dinner at Trestle based on a friend's recommendation. We were very pleased. Though the menu was small, the food was quite tasty. For starters we had crepinette and tagliatelle pasta -- both were quite tasty. The creipnette should come with an American Heart Association warning label! Mains included the seared scallops, duck breast and pork loin. All were very good, though the scallps were just a shade overcooked. Service was brisk and friendly. Wine list was (a bit oddly) both more extensive and higher priced than the menu, but included some interesting, reasonably priced choices. Overall, a good meal and we'll be back when we're in the neighborhood.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    39
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool spot for Brunch....food o.k. nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is my 2nd visit to Trestle on Tenth, a cool neighborhood gem with good food, ambiance outside seating. Previous visit was for lunch which was good, today took friends there for brunch. Was a nice day, so elected to be seated in their outside garden which is a nice respite from inside and hustle bustle of other restaurants. Brunch menu was cool, but nothing really extraordinary. Had two egg whites scrambled with rustic potatoes and bacon, about $10. All decent, again nothing special, eggs were sort of on the small portion side. So if you're looking for a quiet place to chill for breakfast with cool ambience that won't put a hole in your wallet and not so much of a 'scene', where you can actually hear each other talk with decent brkfst/brunch food, this is the place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good Food Close to High Line”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I went here twice for brunch.

Cozy, clean, casual, and welcoming ambiance. Seating available in a small garden in the back.

Friendly staff. Bartender was very helpful in picking a good beer.

Reasonable prices.

The food was pretty good. I thought that the crab cake sandwich with side salad was excellent. I didn't love the pork sandwich, but it wasn't bad.

Nice beer selection.

Very convenient location to the High Line.

Would I come back again? Yes.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in Chealse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We came here twice for breakfast. The first time the service was on a extreme high level. We were seen all the time. And had our coffee cups refilled as soon as they where empty. We had todays recommendation witch was two eggs and fried potatos. It was very tasty. By a mistake i didn't order any toast, but was given butter and jam on the side. So i had to order toast afterwards. My wife had oatmeal with topping and brown sugar. And she was delighted. The best oatmeal se has ever tasted. The next time we came there was a much lower service level to observe. But the food was of the same class. The atmosphere in the restaurant reminds me of some 60´place and they play jazz music on the speakers. I really recommend the place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delicious, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Dining alone while on business can be a dismal affair. Room service alone in front of the television or a sandwich grabbed at a deli doesn't always cut it. Sometimes you want to sit down with a glass of wine and a proper meal. You can do this at the Trestle on Tenth.

Restaurants abound in Chelsea and this one is another good one. Aside from the fact that the tiny $9 watercress salad seemed to average about $3 per bite, the food was tasty and nicely presented. For an entree I enjoyed the sea bass with fingerlings and it was delicious. Since the portions were small, I had room for dessert and was glad I did. The caramel-walnut torte with ice cream was a true splurge but I ate every delicious bite. Sitting alone in a corner banquette, I had a great view of the room and was well-occupied, especially by the conversations of nearby diners. I am looking forward to going back with some friends.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trestle on Tenth also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Trestle on Tenth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trestle on Tenth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.