We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and cheap eats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xi'an Famous Foods

Xi'an Famous Foods
24 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)
(212) 786-2068
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,263 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun and cheap eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Be careful with the spice level and let the staff assist you in this matter. Limited choices but delicious

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Spicy, salty, tasty, and cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Xi'an bills itself as "Western Chinese", represented here with a pork-heavy menu of mainly noodle dishes, seasoned with a similar blend of hot pepper and spices. Perhaps somewhere in China another family is cooking this way, perhaps not. We liked the spicy tofu soup best--it had a fresh, tangy quality and came in a sensible portion--as well as the cucumber salad. Every other dish was very similarly-tasting, so try one and if you like it, you'll be hooked. We had lamb dumplings, lamp noodles, chicken noodles, oxtail noodles and cold noodles. All the hot noodle dishes had the same quality: the noodles were obviously made-out-back fresh, and the sauces were like boiled-down stew, with enough spice to make them almost grainy. Clearly this recipe and its variants are appealing enough: at lunchtime the line is down the street. There was never much of a wait for dinner. Finally, remember to bring cash, and don't be put off by the gummy noodle take-out warning: gummy or not, you will be happier eating your noodles elsewhere if you need a quiet place to think or talk.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I went here with a couple of colleagues and we were amazed by how good the food was. It is a small place but since many people take their food to go we still managed to sit during the week at lunchtime. They have a great selection of hand pulled noodles with different sauces and the 3 we tried were excellent. Even though we visited some of the best restaurants in NYC during that week, this was the meal that we were most impressed about for the flavour and enjoyment of the food and also for the price as we paid $25 in total for the three of us!
Definitely a must try in NYC and I will surely go again the next time I am in the city!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great taste and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Small place but very famous and tasty food. I think Andrew Zimmer picked Xi'an as one of his favorite quick eat spots in NYC and his favorite dish (as is mine) is the Spicy Cumin Lamb Noodle.

There are about 7 Xi'an outlets in NYC and I've been to 3 of them (the other 2 being St. Mark's Place and Flushing), and the food has always been very good although I have slight bias towards St. Mark's in terms of taste. I like anything on their menu that is spicy: it's all good. Not too sure about the history of Xi'an as a location but apparently it's somewhere in China that was on the Silk Route and although its cuisine is spicy it has a different flavor from Szechuan or Hunanese food.

This chain has received considerable coverage in the media and as far as I can tell it's all good.

Prices are reasonable for NYC and a plate of spicy noodles + drink will cost around $11 (including tip). Good value for money and I would like to see more seating space in some of the outlets.

Staff are generally friendly and efficient.

Overall. Good value for money and food tastes great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh homemade noodles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Saw this place on Andrew Zimmerns show and Anthony Bourdain has been there too and any place I've been to that has been profiled by either one of them has been absolutely worth the trip. This is no exception. We went to the midtown store on West 45th st. on a Sunday afternoon and it wasn't too busy. Menu with pictures is on the wall. Nothing more than $8, very tiny little space with some stools and counter space in the back. You can watch the guy making the noodles so you know it's fresh.
We ordered the curry lamb noodles. Quite a kick but boy were they good! My kids each had soups with noodles, also spicy, but you can order the soups not spicy. The iced teas they had were really good too. We tried the jasmine and also the hewberry, not too sweet and nicely flavorful - a good balance to the spiciness of the noodle dishes.
I can't wait to go back and try some of the other dishes. It was delicious, inexpensive, fast and well worth going out of our way.
Check out their website. they list all the different locations and how busy they are at the time so you know if you'll have a wait. great idea to do that, especially for the lunch rush. I also really like that they point out that these noodles need to be eaten right away or they'll get soggy. only thing I couldn't manage very well were the chopsticks.I don't usually have a problem eating with them but the noodles kept slipping off. Fortunately they have forks for the chopstick-challenged.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xi'an Famous Foods also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Xi'an Famous Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xi'an Famous Foods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.