We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience. friendly staff. small rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Duane Street Hotel to your Saves list
Duane Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Duane Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast
Ranked #130 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“good experience. friendly staff. small rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel is located in Tribeca which makes it desirable for downtown and Brooklyn visits to NY. The staff was extremely welcoming and kind. The rooms were super small but included everything you need. More room could be devoted to closet space for guest clothes rather than hotel items for sale. The bar is attractive but also takes up space. Restaurant was closed for renovation yet coffee, tea, muffins were available until 9 am. Would like to be able to open the window, but this is not an option.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and actually our windows open in all our rooms at the exception of the 2nd floor. Please let's us know the next time you book a reservation and will ensure you stay on our higher floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    130
    24
    8
    20
See reviews for
45
128
35
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware City, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Short stay, but very comfortable - no disturbances as we had worked all night and then checked-in very late without any issues.
Found the room to be well equipped, the staff were friendly, and the decor throughout was pretty cool. There was almost no street noise in the room at...

Room Tip: Not very sure as stayed for a very shot time.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good, linen and towel change options very eco-friendly.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and looking forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in the Tribeca area of New York which is the perfect base to investigate the rest of the city. We found the room to be well equipped (although a refrigerator might be a good addition), the staff were friendly, and the decor throughout was pretty cool. There was almost no street noise in the room at all which is very impressive, so it was a nice haven! We stayed for 4 days and found there was plenty of space to unpack and feel at home, with a very comfortable bed and great bathroom and shower.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and will share with our staff. We do have fridges available upon request and apologize for the fact it was not communicated to you. Looking forward to having you soon at Duane Street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The staff alone made this gem worth it!! The rooms are cozy but that is not a slick euphemism --they really are comfortable, modern, and you have everything you could need. And if there's anything you are missing (in my case it was a room service menu) the staff are incredibly friendly and efficient. It's like a modern B&B in TriBeCa/Manhattan. I was drained from work and this place was a great all-too-brief oasis. Also a special shout out to the quality of food -- fantastic!! Work or play I plan on a return visit, or ten.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a higher floor if street noise easily bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
What a wonderful feedback ! Will make sure to pass it along to our entire staff. Also at the beginning of the Fall you will be able to taste from a new room service menu. Looking forward to having you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We are staying here to both work and visit our daughter. We are well traveled and I add this not to brag.. But so the reader understands we have many many hotels to compare to this one, all over the world,all price ranges.
The beds... Ahhh.. Sumptuous.. I can't say more.. To come back after working all day.. Fighting the heat and the traffic jams.. And the luxurious feeling of the sheets.. Amazing.
But it's the staff that we find so above par.. Always genuinely friendly.. Not the cursory greeting at the front desk.. But one gets a feeling they truly are in the hospitality business for all the right reasons..
They go out of their way to suggest restaurants that you would enjoy..they run to your valeted car to get your husbands sneakers..insisting it is too hot for me to go...I can go on and on..
Don't think small hotel equals small experience...
This one is a gem!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your great feedback and will ensure to pass it along to the entire staff. Looking forward to having you back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Loved my stay here, nice rooms with a modern look and a great staff. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the bathroom was a decent size for NYC. It is a little out of the way but well worth the cab ride home or the walk from the subway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Will make sure to pass along your wonderful feedback to our Housekeeping staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I booked my brother, his wife and 2 small children here whilst they were visiting NYC and they found everything wonderful. The beds apparently are amongst the most comfortable they've ever experienced - I need those soft sheets!! And the afternoon house-made chocolate chip cookies hit the spot. I'll definitely be recommending it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your note and fantastic feedback on our bedding. Also know that we have a special discount for our Tribeca neighborhood friends. Please mentioning it the next time you make a reservation for your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Address: 130 Duane Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Tribeca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#33 Green Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#88 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#110 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duane Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.