We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duane Street Hotel

Save Saved
You added Duane Street Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duane Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Duane Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Hot Hot Hot - 25% Off
Ranked #114 of 449 hotels in New York City
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Had a Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Duane Street Hotel is a nice and cozy boutique hotel in Tribeca, downtown Manhattan. The staff and service are excellent. They're very attentive. The rooms are pretty stylish and the beds are very comfortable. I slept really well. Overall the amenities are quite good. The hotel is located near several restaurants and a few subway stations. It's location makes it easy for you to get around the city using different modes of transportation. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a specific thing in your room like a bath tub, for example, you should ask in advance to...
See more room tips
Green Features: The room I stayed in had a trash receptacle divided into two parts for trash and recyclables.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback on our staff. The entire team is looking forward to your next stay in Tribeca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    115
    23
    8
    19
See reviews for
42
117
34
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Although this boutique hotel like others has relatively small rooms, the staff was engaging, informative and were overall very helpful. We requested a room on a high floor and heard virtually no street noise. We visited Brooklyn, the Bronx, Little Italy and Harlem all which were easily accessible via the two near by subway stations. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and we are looking forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Loud. No lobby. Party took over entire main floor making check in horrible. Had to yell back and forth with front desk guy. Hallways narrow and dark. Rooms not sound proof. Was kept up past 12:30 am by people talking adjacent rooms and hallway. And silverfish in the bathroom everynight. Lounge / restaurant lighting horrible CFL bulbs and service in mornings mariginal at best with coffee full of grounds in bottom of the cup Over $800 for a Wednesday and Thursday night at a supposed "special rate". Front desk barely apologized when told at check out. Will be writing manager.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we do apologize for the less than satisfactoy experience that you experienced while at our hotel . As soon as management was notified, we did contact you and immediately offer you compensation for one night stay. We hope you would reconsider staying at the hotel and as mentioned while communicating, we will be more than happy to upgrade you to one of our deluxe accommodations on your next trip to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is a trendy boutique hotel. All the staff were so helpful and really couldn't have done any more for us if they'd tried. The room was fantastic - really stylish and the everything was great quality - even down to the REN bathroom products and Tassimo coffee maker. Close to Subway station so easy to get around. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Book the corner suite (601) if you can!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We really appreciate your great comments. Looking forward to having you back in NYC on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Duane Street Hotel is unassuming, trendy and quite nice. Room we had was tiny, tiny, so don't bring a lot of luggage because there's no place to put it all. Very nice room despite the size. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was good. Small but with nice toiletries and loads of little cubbies and shelves to put things on. There is an elevator (lift) along with stairs. The valet got us unloaded and into our room very quickly as we were on a deadline. There is parking but off site and for a price. The hotel is located very close to the World Trade Center, maybe a 10 minute walk with 2 Dunkin' Donuts along the way and the awesome Century 21 Department store which unfortunately was closed because it was early Sunday morning. City Hall restaurant is directly across the street and we had a great experience there at a wedding reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback and support of our Tribeca neighborood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Small, cool hotel in Tribeca. Great location, close to subways and all sorts of eateries from greasy spoons to reliable standbys (Odeon) and slighty snotty newbies (City Hall). Rooms are small (of course) but well designed and amazingly quiet. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We can not agree more about your comment about Tribeca. Fantastic neighborhood easily accessible to the rest of NYC via our subway system. Thank you for staying at Duane Street and looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It is so nice to be greeted by a smiling face at the front desk after a long flight or day in the office. The front desk staff are always more than helpful. The pillow top beds are a welcome amenity. Large variety of eateries are very close. Transportation is easy whether you need a cab, subway or just want to walk. Duane Street is my go to hotel in New York.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your great comments about our team and we are all looking forward to seeing you soon in Tribeca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Address: 130 Duane Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Tribeca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#44 Business Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#112 Family Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duane Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.