I recently made a reservation with the Duane Street Hotel for an upcoming three-day conference scheduled early next week. I learned only today that they didn't have any record of the reservation, nor would they agree to honor the government rate.
After contacting the hotel and explaining what had happened, they referred me to Michael W, the concierge, who was curt (why the concierge for a booking remains a mystery). I merely requested that the hotel honor the rate I booked, I was flatly denied. Further, Concierge Michael W. lied to me and told me that the hotel had long before sold out that rate, despite the fact that my colleague/traveling companion booked the same rate less than a week ago (I made this reservation a month ago).
Now I am left to scramble for a hotel that will honor the rate within my government per diem during peak season in NYC.
I would have liked to stay at the hotel, but they lost my reservation and refused to honor a gov't rate. They will not have my business in the future.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for expressing your concerns. While we are sorry you were not able to stay with us and there was such confusion over your reservation, as we have communicated to you offline, we were able to confirm with your company that your reservation was confirmed at the Club Quarters, not Duane Street Hotel. I can understand the annoyance associated with arriving to the hotel and not having a reservation. Michael, however, as a leading Concierge, was just being honest with what was transpiring. Duane Street Hotel had in fact sold out of the government rate several weeks prior – your colleague had also booked at Club Quarters. Michael did eventually offer to match the government rate that was being offered that evening in trying to resolve the situation once he realized the root of the confusion (that you were given misinformation.) We’re sorry that this was not satisfactory. I do hope you change your mind and consider staying with us again as I know you would have very much enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.