We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very clean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Duane Street Hotel to your Saves list
Duane Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Duane Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% Off Suites
Ranked #121 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Germantown, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, very clean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I found the hotel very elegant in its minimalist simplicity and the high ceilings made it seem a lot bigger than your average NYC room. Linens were great, bed was comfortable, toiletries were good. I was lucky to get a room away from the elevator, and suggest asking for one as it's loud around there. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
thank you for your great comments and looking forward to having you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    136
    26
    8
    20
See reviews for
48
135
37
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very nice boutique hotel. Great location for discovering NY. The Tribeca area is very nice and very residential. You see that with all the kids and young families in the area. The rooms are small, but that is NY. More importantly are they spotlessly clean with soft beds. Large bathroom (shower only), with a lot of amenities. You have two subway stations (blue and red-line) around the corner at Chamber street, which made it very comfortable to get around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. Hope to see you upon your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. A smallish, boutique-style hotel similar to a lot of others that have been popping up in NYC over the last couple of years. I like this one a lot. It's a mix of new, modern flat-surface styling and old, worn furniture. Very nicely done.

I had a nice corner room with plenty of light. Staff was nice and efficient. Location is brilliant if you like TriBeCa and work Downtown (like I do). My favorite detail was the rock radio station blasting when I returned to my room.

Wireless internet didn't reach my room and I do feel it was a tad too expensive, but I would definitely recommend it and I will most likely come back.

Room Tip: Corner room has plenty of light, but was barely in reach of the WIFI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and looking forward to greeting you back upon your return in Tribeca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Small but great! My som and I had a clean, comfortable and modern queen size room at a (for Manhattan) reasonable price. Free Wi-Fi was a great plus. Close to seven subway lines and a lot of great cafes and restaurants. Exellent service - the people at the reception did all they could to make sure we had a great stay. Highly recommended - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Room facing Duane Street had no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your great comments and looking forward to seeing you very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was in NYC downtown area for business and all of the usual names were booked up(near 911 anniversary). The local lawyer recommended the Duane Street. I was pleasently surprised at what a great place this is. Very boutique NYC contemporary. Lots of places to eat nearby and the Metaphore restaraunt was good too. And only a short 10 minute walk from heart of downtown. The staff was really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments and hope to see you soon in Tribeca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We loved this hotel for putting us squarely in the Tribeca area of New York, with a decidely unique
favor from our usual Time Square visiting digs. The rates are reasonable by comparison to
others in Manhattan at a rate of 264.00/night.{New York rates are pricey; mine are usually around 385-400 for a nice but not elegant hotel). We were in walking distance to restaurants we otherwise may not have tried. Like many boutique hotels which go up more that out, halls are narrow, high and windowless, painted in stark gray. The rooms are bright with cheerful tones,uncluttered with light colored hardwood floors. The beds were very comfortable with linens that billowed around us.
The theme is carried into the bathroom with modern, clean surrounds and a Elm Tree/Ikea
design flair. I traveled with two of my college aged kids and they were pleased with it. Because the bathroom is small, if I were traveling with two of my friends, I would probably not choose this place because three ladies would want a bit more elbow room.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. There is a nice restaurant on the property and the fitness center about two blocks away is clean, convenient, and complimentary.

Room Tip: Because I was interested in coming back with my two friends,I asked about larger rooms and was told...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments and know that we have larger room if interested when you return with your friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was my first visit to New York and I wanted a place near the Pace universtiy where my son
was going to join as undergraduate.The best thing about this hotel is location and you can find
so many good restaurants around it.The first impression of the hotel was not that good as it
was Sunday and the restaurant was closed and it was a bit dark and the lobby is too small.
The staff who received was excellent and very polite and fast and the room was very clean.
I stayed with my son for 8 nights and I can say the whole staff is excellent and very prompt.
They were very helpful in guiding us about every thing. Though I found the rates of hotel
a bit expensive but if you think about commuting you can save a lots of money paying to taxies.
The rooms are really very clean and I think they have the best linens.Though it is on main road but there is no noise at all and could sleep very well. We had dinner at the Metaphore in the hotel and that was also a great experience.I am looking forward to return to this hotel on my next visit to New York.I just want to say a big thank you to all staff for making our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your great comments and looking forward to seeing you when you are visiting NYC next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Address: 130 Duane Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Tribeca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#35 Green Hotel in New York City
#50 Business Hotel in New York City
#83 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#133 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duane Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.