We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Tribeca Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duane Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Duane Street Hotel to your Saves list
Duane Street Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Duane Street, New York City, NY 10013 (TriBeCa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Included
Ranked #129 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
USA/Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very Nice Tribeca Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

It has been a long time I have not stayed in a hotel not belonging to the Hilton family. But this cute little boutique/lofty hotel in Tribeca is a Go. If you're looking to sleep in this area of NYC at a reasonable price, go for it and reserve at this hotel. The hotel has very clean rooms with hard wood floors, very (very) high ceilings like if you are in a loft and nice showers. The staff is VERY friendly and really helpful at all times. There is a bar/restaurant downstairs, but we didn't try it. We also didn't try the breakfast restaurant as we didn't want to spend $15 for a continental breakfast. Parking is expensive: $65, valet only. One downside: we "feel" the subway when it passes under the hotel. Some glass panels in my room were vibrating each time a subway was passing under. Other than that, go ahead and reserve a loft in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    146
    31
    9
    21
See reviews for
53
148
39
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here for one night, back in April.
We were lucky to get a big corner room; it was lovely with funky artwork and big windows that let in allot of light.
Nice bathroom and good shower with some nice toiletries provided.

All staff were helpful and friendly.

We were really looking forward to ordering room service because the restaurant had gotten good reviews, however when it arrived it was a MASSIVE disappointment!
It was so bad, it was almost unedible...almost gross, and thats saying some because my ex-husband used to say that I would eat poop out of a boot!
We had 2 orders of ground lamb (I think) sliders and fries. The sliders were so overseasoned, it seemed like a child decided to drop every seasoning in the cubbard into a small bit of meat and then didnt bother to cook it all the way. ugh.
for 2 ordrs of sliders with fries and a cocktail (coconut cocktail was superb, i will say) the bill was $86.
Yikes.
And then another "Yikes" upon checkout... the bill was over $500 for one night.

I imagine rates will vary, and if you can get a good rate, I would reccomend, howver if the rate is high, keep searching!

Room Tip: Go for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. I apologize for the less than stellar experience you had with Room Service. Please contact me the next time you are ready to book and will ensure you will be upgraded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

this hotel is situated in tribeca which is close to soho, village and brooklyn bridge. the rooms are clean, stylish and simple and staff is very kind and helpful, stayed here a few times and will stay here in the future. Dinner at restaurant is very good too. Free wifi and works well!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Always a pleasure to have you staying at Duane Street Tribeca and looking forward to greeting you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A small and friendly hideaway. Our corner room had three oversize windows, very high ceilings, lots of space and a small but well-designed bathroom, but beware no two rooms on a floor are the same: the building used to be a garage! The staff is youthful, efficient and most helpful: one of them struggled for some ten minutes in heavy rain to find us a taxi! My daughter & her family live a few blocks away, so we are sure to return again & again. By the way: the bed & bedding are super comfy & the room was quiet throughout the nights.

Room Tip: There's one larger room on each floor. Ours was #402.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great location close to subway for express trains uptown. Rooms very comfortable although a bit more storage space would have been welcome. Food in restaurant was excellent and highly recommended. Bed was extremely comfortable with nice linen. The water cooler in the lobby with the iced orange water was a nice touch as were the daily cookies. Loads restaurants etc within easy walking distance. Highly recommend and will definitely return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words and looking forward to meeting you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Europe
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I stayed at the Duane for 5 nights and the over-all experience was ok. I can't in all honestly rave about it or criticise it. Location is good for tribeca and easy for subway and taxis. Hotel was very clean and staff nice but my own room on the 3rd floor seemed to be directly over a subway tunnel and kept me awake most nights from the noise and the vibrations which kept the wine glasses and bottles rattling on the bar. There was no traffic noise otherwise. Room was very clean and but small and no place to store a suitcase. Banged my shin a few times on the designer bed frame which was really annoying and the bathroom sink was of a height for a smaller person than myself and I am only 5"11. In the Duane's favour, the location is ok, the bed was really comfortable and the internet worked really well and for NYC hotels the price was fair. Would I stay there again? No, because of the subway noise but that is hardly their fault.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you your feedback and hope you will return. Will ensure you get a room on the 5th or 6th floor. Have a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great location, easy access to Chambers Street subways. Lots of places to get something to eat within walking distance. Hotel staff very helpful. Beds very comfortable and great linen and pillows. Bathrooms and rooms very clean. Rooms a little on the small side, no fridge or tea and coffee facility, but not that important. Everything else you need is there, even a hair dryer. Quite quiet at night. Great for Downtown and Brooklyn. Would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas D, General Manager at Duane Street Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your support and great comments and looking forward to seeing you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Duane Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duane Street Hotel

Address: 130 Duane Street, New York City, NY 10013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#40 Green Hotel in New York City
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duane Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Duane Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Duane Street

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duane Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.