We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Wingate Inn, Will return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #256 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved the Wingate Inn, Will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

First trip to NYC (07/05-07/08)as a Birthday surprise for my Husband. We had a great time. The Wingate Inn is a very nice hotel with friendly staff, extremely clean rooms, and a great location! The street that the hotel is located on is dead after dark, there is nothing open, but once you get to the end of the street closest to Macy's, there is a Starbucks, McDonalds and all kinds of little places to stop for a quick bite. Very close to Subway and taxis are everywhere. Walking distance to Macy's, Time Square, Empire State building, Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, etc.
The hotel was very quite, with only 6 rooms to a floor, we always had a good-night's sleep. We did get an early morning wake up by a trash truck, but that happens at home too.
Breakfast in the morning was great and very convenient. The breakfast room was a bit small and crowded at times, but here's a hint: go down early, make your plate, and take it to your room, that way you avoid the line at the waffle irons.
The manager, Elvis, was most helpful!!! Kudos to him and his staff. He was always there, I wonder if he ever goes home, LOL. He was always available to suggest a great restaurant or other points of interest. We will definitely return to the Wingate Inn!!!

P.S. If you like Mexican Food, checkout Mi Nidito near the Times Square Area. A nice quaint little restaurant with a great atmosphere, great music, Best Margaritas and food!!! If you have the Margaritas, be careful, you will get drunk!!! LOL

  • Liked — Location, Modern furnishings, Cleanliness, Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — To short of a stay!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    531
    180
    63
    28
See reviews for
440
383
65
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow, scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

We stayed at the Wingate for 4 nights at the beginning of July. We had selected this hotel after reading so many positive reviews on Tripadvisor and it certainly lived up to those comments. The room ,while not huge, was fine for 2 adults and 2 teenagers and it was clean and equipped with everything you could need for a short stay. The complimentary breakfast was the best we have experienced in any hotel we have stayed in, in the US. We found the staff to be helpful on the few occasions we had to ask anything. Our only concern before we arrived was that we had read one review which said that the area was a bit dark and scary at night time, we did not find this at all. We found the location ideal- in less than 5 minutes you can walk to Times Square,in 2 minutes you can walk to bus pick up points for the hop on/off bus tours, Macy's is just around the corner(very handy for dropping parcels back to the room) and we found the nearby Starbucks and Bread and Cake factory great for snacks and meals during the stay.

  • Liked — excellent breakfast great location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

Price is good for NYC, $179. Includes real breakfast, not "continental" crap, only about 100 yards from Penn Station, clean new rooms, Short walk to Times Square, great friendly service (except for the charge for movie when we were not even in the room which is to be "investigated" by manager and credited to card. This will not happen in your lifetime so raise loud hell at checkout in front of as many people as possible). Until this scam we had a very nice stay. Cheating people out of $10.00 is pretty petty and hardly worth the trouble. If you are going to steal make it big time.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Movie Scam
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

We have just returned from a 5 night 6 day stay in New York City.
What a great place to stay. The free breakfast is worth it's weight in gold. I'm talking sausage, bacon, eggs, waffle maker, juices, fruits. The staff is there to help with your every need. The rooms were spacious and VERY CLEAN. The hotel is on 36th street. 5 blocks from Broadway. The subway is 1 block away. You are very close to the center of everything. This was one of the best value hotels we found that stated non-smoking.
Would recommend and stay there in a hearbeat again.

  • Liked — clean, close , friendly
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

My two sisters and I recently stayed at the Wingate for 8 nights. We were very happy with our stay, and we found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. Unlike a few of the other reviewers, we thought the staff was very friendly, from the people at the front desk to the sweet little housekeeper polishing the wood in the elevator who greeted us with a smile and told us to enjoy the day.The room was cozy for the three of us (2 double beds), but we understand that hotel space in NYC is at a premium, so we were prepared. The decor was updated and appealing, the granite bathroom counter was generously sized for all our stuff, the room and bathroom were clean, and the beds were comfortable. The shower was strong, the water was hot, the towels were thick and fluffy. Even the toilet was an upscale brand--Toto,which is one of the best on the market. The microwave and refrigerator came in quite handy.
I will admit that the bathroom fan is loud, but it works well, and the room air conditioner is noisy also (many hotel A/Cs are like that). We discovered a curious thing about it --we realized it wasn't just a coincidence that the A/C came on whenever we entered the room after a long day of sightseeing. It shuts off during the day as an energy saving measure, and as soon as a warm body comes back in the room, the A/C starts up again.
The manager explained that there was an infrared sensor that was responsible for this curiosity. This wasn't a problem (cudos to the hotel for conservation), and we were fascinated by it. The breakfast was good, though I personally didn't care for the scrambled eggs--on the dry side. There were lots of other things to choose from--sausage, bacon, pastries, bagels, waffles, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. The location is convenient, and the hotel is easily accessible to several different subway lines (1-3 blocks away, depending on the line you want.) It is 1 block from Macy's, and is close to Penn Station and Madison Square Garden.
Now for the downside. The hotel isn't perfect, and if you are looking for a 4 Star hotel, this isn't it. It is on a dingy side street, and the view from our room was looking at a warehouse- type building. The housekeeping was hit and miss, but this could have been due to our particular housekeeper. On a few occasions, we didn't get fresh mugs and glasses; toiletries weren't replaced during our stay even though the manager said they should have been; and one day, the housekeeper forgot to leave us any towels. We found ourselves calling down for stuff like this more than we should have had to. However, the management and front desk always cheerfully and apologetically took care of the requests, so I can't complain too much. All in all, I rated it a 5, mainly because of the good value compared to other NYC hotels.

  • Liked — Convenient location, breakfast included, price compared to other NYC hotels
  • Disliked — Street wasn
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEW13
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

Where do I start, Me and a buddy (Early thirtys) booked this hotel through travelocity as part of a package deal with room and air fare . We chose this hotel because we wanted to be garanteed two beds in the room. This was one of the few hotels that would do this for us. We flew into Newark, and took the 20 min train directly into penn station ,which happens to be about a block from the hotel.We walked to the hotel and it is located on 35th st between 7th and 8th ave in the fashion district. Other reviewers have stated its in a bad area or off the beaten path but its just on a small street with a bunch of textile or fabric stores and from my perspective a gem of a hotel. The lobby is clean and small nothing fancy but the staff was helpfull and got us our room with zero problems. Our room was on the 18th floor witch was the top floor 1806. The room had two double beds a flat screen tv. complimentary bottled waters , a desk area, a small fridge, microwave , wireless internet access, in room safe , and most importantly a clean , good size bathroom. There was a nice little workout room and a small buisness center also below the lobby floor. This hotel is located a block from pen station , 7 blocks from time square and the theater dist. 4 blocks from the empire state building and subway access less then a 1/2 block.

So all and all this hotel was a great homebase for me and my buddy to get to all the sites , yankee games, and would recomend this hotel to anybody. Please just remember your hotel experience is what you make it . If you want it to be positive most likely it will.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2007

When my husband and I checked out we had a mysterious movie charged to our room. We never purchased a pay-per-view movie while we were there. The desk clerk stated he couldn't do anything for us and then provided a specific "movie" Memo from the Manager stating that movie charges could only be adjusted by the Manager. And of course, the Manager wasn't available when we checked out. Seemed like a scam to us. I will never stay in this chain of hotels again and do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown

Address: 235 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#223 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown New York City Hotel is located just 1/2 block from Macys and Herald Square in the heart of the Garment/Fashion District, two blocks from Madison Square Garden and Penn Station and just moments away from such famous landmarks as the Empire State Building - 4 blocks, Times Square - 7 blocks, Bryant Park - 10 blocks, the Theater District - 10 blocks, and the Jacob Javits Convention Center - 10 blocks. At Wingate by Wyndham, we know you mean business. Our ninety-two spacious guestrooms and suites feature a well-lit work area, complimentary high speed internet access-wired and wireless, two line phones and remote printing from your room. The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown is now offering FREE long distance calls to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Manhattan Midtown Hotel New York City
Wingate New York City
Wingate Manhattan Midtown
Wyndham New York City
New York City Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.