We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale Save 25%
Ranked #293 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was the first time that my wife and I visited NYC during Christmas. The hotel was pricey ($1600 for 4 nights but that may be the going rate at this time) but very conveniently located. We were able to walk to Macy's; Time Square; Empire State Building; the Theater District and Penn Station (to catch the subway). Other POIs we were able to walk to but are a bit farther were: Rockefeller Center; St. Patrick's Cathedral and Radio City Music Hall. You would need transportation to Central Park and sites in lower Manhattan (subway was very convenient to see the WTC; Staten Island Ferry, Wall Street.
Wingate is a small hotel. It has 18 floors with only 6 rooms on each. They do offer free continental breakfast which is very good. We had a room on the fourth floor facing the street. We could hear street noise but not enough to disturb our sleep. Our room was nice. We had problems with the security safe and mini refrigerator which was taken care of the day after we checked in.
Housekeeping was adequate. I needed to ask 3 times for additional towels and pillows. And when the room was cleaned, dirty cups were not taken care of or the ice bucket emptied.
Overall I rated the hotel a bit higher than I would if it were not in NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    573
    203
    72
    38
See reviews for
491
403
68
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo , Brazil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel location is amazing,the rooms are comfortable and clean, nice beds, and good bathroom.
But,outisde our room was a very noie Ice Machine, we called the front desk to reclaim about it and the attendant told us that the machine would be off after 9pm, which didn't happened.
And also,the door was really hard to close,so in the day of our arrival we though that it was damaged so we called for assistance, the guy that went to our room was extremely rude.
The breakfast was really bad, few options and it was only until 9am,but is free though.
I wouldn't come back....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cweed32, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear YAndrade,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us some feedback. It is fantastic to hear that you found the location to be great and your room to be clean and comfortable! I am so sorry about the ice machine near your room. We only have 3 machines in the entire building and we do have them running on timers. They should go off between 8 & 10PM depending on daylight savings time. I will surely have our team look into making sure the timers are working properly. With the seasons changing the building does shift and settle some which does cause some issues with our doors. Our team works hard to stay on top of this issue. The complementary breakfast is open until 10:00AM daily and includes a variety of items such as eggs, bacon, sausage, bagels, bread, cereal, yogurts, waffles, oatmeal, and etc. We are always looking at ways to improve this so your comments and or suggestions are much appreciated!

Best wishes,

Charles Weed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
316 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Wingate used to be a nice hotel - we stayed there several times before. It was modern, convenient (near Penn Station), had decent rooms (with a refrigerator) - and breakfast included.
But something has happened to it - perhaps they just don't care about customer service any more.
We had no cell phone or internet access - and the staff was no help. To add to the annoyances, there was an ice machine outside our door and the heat/air system was very noisy - but they actually provided ear plus with the room! And I forgot about "saving the planet", so our towels were not replaced because we hung them in the shower. There was no sign telling us to throw them on the floor - which is not my habit.
The long story is that the front desk told us that they don't have cell phone coverage in the hotel "because of how it is positioned" - but we could use the house phone. I didn't buy a smart phone just to have to use a "dumb" phone!
As for the internet, they told me to call their service provider to fix the problem - which turned out to be a problem with their wireless router!
We're never going there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cweed32, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Riny,

Thank you for writing a review on your latest’s experience with the Wingate. Feedback such as yours will only help us to improve the quality of our service. I would like to sincerely apologize on behalf of the staff for your disappointments during your stay. I assure you that I will personally follow up with all the inconveniences you mentioned. I hope that based on your pervious stays that you can give the Wingate another try. If there is anything I can assist you with or you would like to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at Charles.Weed@interstatehotels.com. Thank you for being a loyal Wingate & Wyndham customer.

Thank you,

Charles Weed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAK HILL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

A friend of mine and I checked in on Nov 28 and out on Dec 1. We got there super early in the morning...around 8am. We knew we would have to wait...but we were SO TIRED. The front desk did actually have a room available and let us go ahead and check in. THANK YOU!!!
The hotel is just 1 block from Macy's and if you turn the opposite direction, it is just at the southern edge of Times Square! Subway just a short walk also. Location was the most convienient it could have been without being right in the center of Times Sq.
They had a hot breakfast consisting of eggs, bacon or sausage, cereals, yogurt, fruits, assorted breads, bagels, and english muffins. Also some danish. BUT our favorite was the WAFFLES! They were SO YUMMY! Also juices, coffees and milk. A great way to start out with a nice big meal to keep your energy up for a long tiresome day. It was all included in the stay!
Rooms were clean and roomy. We were pleasantly surprised. A totally different place to stay compared to where we usually had gone in the past. We wont be going back to that old place again! We (I) will definitely be coming back to the Wingate Midtown Manhatten for our (my) future stays!
When it has the name Wyndham/Wingate associated with it, you knwo its a good place to stay!
THANKS again!
Connie Baker

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cweed32, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Connie,

Thanks for the great review! We are so glad you and your friend were able to enjoy our central location and free hot breakfast. We look forward to your next stay! If there is anything I can assist you with in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you,

Charles Weed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel was great. One block from MSG and the Empire State Building. Great pizza around the corner and all the shopping you can imagine within walking distance. The best best part was the staff. Very helpfull and accomadating through out my stay and always did it with a smile. When it was time to leave, a Towncar was outside in 20 minutes thanks to the helpfull receptionist. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cweed32, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Michael,

Thank you for reviewing the Wingate by Wyndham Midtown Manhattan! I am glad that our staff was able to help you with all your needs! We look forward to your next visit to NYC!

Thank you,

Charles Weed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#114 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#265 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,704 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garden
Hampton Inn Madison Square Garde...
#151 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Wyndham Midtown 45
The Wyndham Midtown 45
#363 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden
Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison ...
#226 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#102 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown

Address: 235 West 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#227 Business Hotel in New York City
#238 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#251 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown New York City Hotel is located just 1/2 block from Macys and Herald Square in the heart of the Garment/Fashion District, two blocks from Madison Square Garden and Penn Station and just moments away from such famous landmarks as the Empire State Building - 4 blocks, Times Square - 7 blocks, Bryant Park - 10 blocks, the Theater District - 10 blocks, and the Jacob Javits Convention Center - 10 blocks. At Wingate by Wyndham, we know you mean business. Our ninety-two spacious guestrooms and suites feature a well-lit work area, complimentary high speed internet access-wired and wireless, two line phones and remote printing from your room. The Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown is now offering FREE long distance calls to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Manhattan Midtown Hotel New York City
Wingate New York City
Wingate Manhattan Midtown
Wyndham New York City
New York City Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.