We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not in line with the expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cirque

Le Cirque
151 E 58th Street, New York City, NY 10022
(212) 644-0202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Cirque is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #276 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Lexington & Third Avenues
Transit: 4,5,6 and N,R,W at 59th Street & Lexington Ave. F at 63rd Street & Lexington Ave. E, M at 53rd Street & Lexington Ave. M57 at 57th Street & Lexington Ave. M101, M102, M103 at 57th Street & Lexington Ave.
Description: Sirio Maccioni once again welcomes friends and guests at his renowned Le Cirque at its home within the prestigious One Beacon Court (151 East 58th Street). Under the leadership of the Maccioni family including wife Egidiana, sons Mario, Marco, and Mauro, the legendary restaurant entertains and attends to patrons with its hallmark service, exciting atmosphere and excellent cuisine as it has done for over thirty five celebrated years.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“not in line with the expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

we went to this restaurant for a business lunch, We've told this is one is the most well known restaurant in the city and we had great expectations, but honestly at the end of the lunch we were a little bit disappointed:

the servise was not really friendly and we didn't received a warm wellcome as you would think for such level of restaurant, the food itself very good indeed but i would not say "superb" and again, since it's considered one of the best in New York, I would have thought more attention to the quality of the meals and to the presentation of them as well.

The restaurant itself was nice and elegant without any doubts.

I would say and like to think in New york there are many better restaurants.

on a separated note I have some food allergies and I did not receive attantion / understanding by the staff (very annoying thing I would say ...)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    96
    41
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreux, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Classy and Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've been in this restaurant few years ago, but I stil have a great souvenir of their delicious meal. The lamb was exquisite and the creme brulé tasted as a Parisian one.Good location

Nice spot to try, hope to be back in NYC soon

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, DE
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“The decor gives you a headache!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The food, although outstanding, is overshadowed by a poor imitation of a Las Vegas strip club with red walls, bizzare lighting and pictures of unnamed celebs all over the Cafe topped off by a multi floor wine cellar that is all glass and chrome. I never expected to find this type of decor in New York City.
The food was excellent with a solid wait staff and an great wine list. The best appetizer of this trip was the Trio which is caviar, salmon and a terrine and was superb. The fish and duck entree's were also superb with good desserts. The wait staff did its best to overcome the decor and made helpful suggestions. The price was miraculously low for the quality of the meal.
Unfortunately after every bite you had to look at the red walls and the wine steward climbing a ladder in the wine cellaer which detracted from the meal. Ater 90 minutes, I could not wait to get out of there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Polished Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

From beginning to end I felt that all of the staff was going out of their way to make sure it was a lovely experience, and they succeeded. Beautiful plating and taste that was true perfection.

Men take note to at least wear a sports coat (or suit). This is a requirement for sitting in the main dinning room. This slipped my mind, thus the Maitre d' didn't even blink an eye and provided my a nice sports coat for dinning.

Overall a truly wonderful experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A classy dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Truly an enjoyable experience. We took our teenage children out to a sophisticated meal and were not disappointed. The maitre d' and the waiters were discreet and efficient without being officious (particularly to a younger crowd) and the food itself was delectable. Well worth a pleasant and elegant evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cirque also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Cirque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cirque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.