We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mela

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 453 Hotels in New York City
1 review
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed in the hotel mela for a week and couldn't fault it! The location is unbelievable...a stones throw from Times Square and in a great location to access all other sites easily! The rooms are small but no smaller than any other rooms New York is know for, but they are very clean and comfortable!I would recommend this hotel for a trip to new york for it's location!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    917
    280
    97
    54
See reviews for
297
1,246
160
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel Mela for 14 nights at the end of June/beginning of July.

The hotels location was excellent. The service staff were top notch. We arrived back to our room on the second night to a bottle of wine waiting for us. A very classy touch.

Saju Bistro was located right next store. We had breakfast included with our stay and it was very good, but basic. No complaints.

The AC was amazing and always kept our room cool. We stayed in room 1410 which was high enough to block out most of the noise down below. However there was some heavy machinery that did wake me up once or twice during the stay, but hardly the hotels fault.

You can rent a mini fridge for $30 for the duration of your stay. Seems as we were there for 14 nights, it was a bargain and a must have.

The rooms were tiny but even though we were there for 2 weeks it never seemed to small.

We will consider this hotel again if we can get a similar deal on travel zoo next summer. There is not really any thing else we needed for our stay.

Room Tip: If staying for an extended visit, get a deluxe king room or better. Worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Northern,

Well thank you so much for writing some honest feedback on the Mela. We will share your comments with our team and ensure we continue to stress personalized guest service every chance we get.

Please contact us the next time you wish to visit NYC!

Yorus in Service,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela
Direct: 212-710-7008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We are a family from Australia and had travelled a long way, would have been nice to be greeted a little better after long trip. The staff did there job but I believe going that little extra doesn't take much energy. Have been to NY before and have stayed in better places. We needed 2 rooms so picked this hotel for value. Location great, rooms ok, service ok, but if you only need 1 room pick another hotel. For a little extra money you can definitely do better than Hotel Mela.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerMela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello Silke N,

Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to write a review on your recent trip to Hotel Mela. We very much appreciate the feedback and we are constantly looking at ways to improve our hotel.

Also we absolutely have Deluxe and Executive rooms that average over 300 square feet and are of ample size for long stays.

Please contact me directly if I could be of any service to you at all. We would love to invite you back at a discounted rate and upgraded room accommodations. I'm certain you will have an amazing experience with us.

Warmest Regards,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela
Direct: 212-710-7008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Sometimes I stay in the city for a weekend of theatre. This hotel is a boutique hotel and it is near a lot of shows. The rooms are clean and well appointed. There is no view, but that is not why you stay there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Mela for one night, July 31, 2014. It's a boutique hotel and not like the big chain hotels (think Westin), but we loved it! It's half a block away from Times Square which is really convenient! Right now it's across from a theater that has a show (Hedwig) that Neil Patrick Harris is starring in. At night, you might catch him leaving the building. We did!

We originally booked a standard king but were upgraded to Penthouse 2 (room 1702)! It was awesome! The staff at the hotel is very, very helpful and very nice! Our penthouse has one bedroom with a king sized bed, two full baths, a living room, dining room and office. Also the closet had a safe and ironing board. The dining area had a fridge, but like someone else reviewed it is weighted with snacks. So we didn't dare touch it. Thankfully the front desk warned us of it beforehand. The bottle of water was pretty expensive!! We also did not touch it. That whole area we steered clear of. Our living area had a TV, espresso machine (also a coffee machine in the dining area) and a book case with books! A hotel room with books? That was a first for me. The bedroom also has a TV and a docking station for your iPhone/iPad etc. Although the docking station is not compatible with iPhone 5 and higher.The bathrooms were very clean and we really have no complaints on our accommodations.

Complaints? Nothing that's a deal breaker for us but like the others have noted, it would be the WiFi. It really does work quite slowly. We had some pressing emails with attachments to send out that night and at 3am, I gave up, went to bed and just let it run overnight. It was completed by the next morning after we showered and packed up our things. My husband needed to print some tickets for the Statue of Liberty off the internet, so we went down to the second floor to use the computers they have there (which are not free. I think it was $8.95 for the initial 15 minutes? (I'm not sure on the time) and then an extra charge for each page you print; maybe $.95 for b&w?) and print them. However, the computer froze on him and the time was ticking. So we called the front desk and they sent someone up right away. He suggested trying the other computer while he shut the frozen one off. Initially my husband didn't want to because he'd be charged again, but the gentleman said he would tell the front desk to void the charges. So he tried on the second computer and it too froze. On the bright side, the gentleman helping us informed the front desk of our situation and they did not charge us anything, They offered for us to forward our email to them and they would print them at no charge. So we did that and were happy on our way.

Other "complaints" but again not deal breakers for us: the elevators are pretty small. I'd say one elevator could fit 4 adults (with no bags) comfortably, but closely. But again, it is a boutique hotel and you're not in the elevator long anyway so it didn't bother us. The water pressure in the shower was really, really low. I have pretty thick hair so I had to let it really soak in to wash all the shampoo out. But I almost forgot to even mention that (only remembered while editing), so it obviously didn't bother me much. I didn't see anyone else complain about it, so it maybe have just been that bathroom. I'm not sure and we only stayed one night anyway.

They also have a workout area on the second floor that seemed pretty decent. They also held our luggage for the day while we explored NYC more before leaving that night. Oh, and they are right next door to a parking garage. Very convenient! I think we paid about $40-45 for 24 hours.

So, four stars because the WiFi and the computers they have really aren't great and the low water pressure (might just be that bathroom though). But everything else was awesome! The WiFi issue is not a deal breaker for us and we are planning to stay there again on our next visit. We've even recommended it to our friends and family.

I took pictures of the space we had (probably doesn't do it much justice) and have posted those as well. Just don't mind my 6 year old daughter who loves to take pics. hehe

Room Tip: Being on the top floor, we heard NO NOISE. The room was quiet and you can easily forget the bustling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

In May, my family and I stayed in two rooms at this this hotel. Initially, we were taken to two rooms that we so minute, that it was impossible for us to get our luggage into them and ourselves comfortably and the view was horrendous - the wall of the next building. The staff very kindly changed our rooms with a better view and slightly bigger, but be warned the rooms are very small. However, the location makes up for it - it is very central and right next to Times Square, the metro and the theatres. So if you don't need to spend much time in the hotel, this is perfectly situated.

Room Tip: As for the largest room possible with a decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Looking for a reasonably priced hotel near everything and this place was awesome! Got a deal which was under $200 for the night and they gave us a suite with a bathroom bigger than in my own home! Free wifi, midday check out, convenient location, and a wonderful restaurant underneath make this the perfect stop for a NYC stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
#124 Family Hotel in New York City
#147 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.