We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Mela to your Saves list
Hotel Mela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 454 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Small but clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our room was small but very clean. Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful.

Great location round the corner to Times Square. Spoilt for choice for restaurants and diners

Only negative was constant humming of machinery outside window

Room Tip: ask to avoid machinery noise outside window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,068
    935
    287
    98
    55
See reviews for
303
1,269
161
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel! The location was short of a block from Times Square... Great location! The room was fairly small but I didn't spend much time in there. The staff was attentive and nice. I would definitely stay at Hotel Mela again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

From the moment we pulled up to when we checked out, everything was perfect. Short, very short walk to Times Square. Just steps from tons of shopping and dining locations minutes from the hotel. We chose to delay getting our rental car a few days since we utilized the hop on hop off buses down the block.
Staff was great and super friendly! We were met on the street by courteous door man that took care of our luggage. Across the street at night we were able to see Neil Patrick Harris as he came out after his Broadway show. No negatives that I can think of. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had the pleaure of staying at Hotel Mela this past weekend. The staff were utmost professional, and so pleasant in every aspect from the booking, to checking in, staying and checking out!!! Each and every person we spoke to who worked at the hotel were so happy, and seemed to really enjoy their job. The rooms were spacious (for NYC), clean and very modern. The hotel is very central to many tourist attractions of NYC and also close to the metro. The hotel is a wonderful find for anyone wanting to experience NYC and stay close distance to Times Square. The Manager Natalia and also a manager Dick (i think) were AN ABSOLUTE PLEASURE TO SPEAK TO and were very willing to do anything in their power to ensure our stay was the best stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to NYC for work, as a shopping trip, or as a family, This hotel has something for everyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We Price-lined a four star in the Times Square area and got The Hotel Mela for $125. Great location on 44th. Room was NY small, modernly furnished and very clean. Hotel common areas and hallways are small and quiet. Pleased with room and front desk service. At checkout there were several items from the minibar that we did not use billed to the room. A quick conversation at checkout cleared up the bill.

Perfectly satisfied with the accommodations, however I do not think the available amenities justify the four star rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We recently stayed in NYC for 6 days, all at Hotel Mela. Our room was pristinely clean, and we didn't hear a peep of street noise or of other guests. It was quiet, especially considering you're only half a block from Times Square, we found the bed comfortable, and despite other reviewers stating the rooms are small, it had ample room, even for a week long stay.

Yes the fridge was off limits, but a call to the front desk would get you a bucket of ice sent to your room without hassle.

Personally, I liked the small touches of the free newspapers each morning, apples on the front desk (mela), the complimentary Wifi, and helpful bellboys and concierge services.

If Times Square isn't your thing, this Central location is one block from the Subway, and close to Central Park, Rockefeller, Broadway, 5th Avenue, and much, much more.

Overall, it was very clean, quiet, had the boutique hotel feel that was advertised, and was minutes from many of the best attractions in New York. We've stayed in a dozen hotels in the last few months, and this was definitely one of the best.

Room Tip: Booking a room off 44th Street would be ideal, otherwise you can expect the sounds from Times Square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in NYC. We had tickets to see Dave Chapelle @ Radio City. The room was clean, very, very small, however, we didn't spend much time in the room. The bed was super comfortable and the room was very clean. The biggest perk is the location. We were able to walk to RCMH and after the show we walked to Times Square (2 min walk). The staff was also super friendly! I highly recommend this hotel if traveling either alone or with your significant other. This is not a hotel for a family.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#121 Family Hotel in New York City
#158 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.