We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mela

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 451 hotels in New York City
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here after many visits it the big name hotels in the area and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is located mid block and they made very good use of the space the hotel sits on. After reading reviews I decided on booking one of the executive suites for more space and was happy with my selection. Very modern appointed rooms with fantastic staff. Very close to great restaurants and Broadway show locations. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,045
    893
    273
    96
    51
See reviews for
279
1170
155
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had tickets to a Broadway play and wanted to be able to walk to and from our hotel. We picked Hotel Mela based on the Trip Advisor reviews and their location. It's a smaller hotel, and much of the clientele were European. The hotel was an easy couple of blocks to most theaters, Times Square, TKTS, Starbucks and many excellent restaurants; so it is in the Times Square area but a bit off the beaten path. The staff was courteous, professional and helpful. The hotel room and common areas were spotless. We had a deluxe room on the 16th floor (queen bed, and desk), away from the elevator, and the room was very quiet. Both the room and bathroom had windows that opened. My only negative (and this is a personal preference) is that the shower water does not get very hot, which may be a conservation strategy - the water temp did not bother my husband.

We had breakfast at Saju, the adjoining restaurant, twice. The ambience was very nice, the food and service were good, and we thought the price fairly reasonable for New York ($38 for 2 full breakfasts and coffee, including tip). We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter, with less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Hotel is adjacent to Times Square, just a few steps. Staff extremely attentive and concerned about the comfort of guests. I'll indicate this hotel to everyone, Excellent in all aspects. The restaurant, Saju Bistro, near the Hotel is great too, excellent food. Try the classic burger in house, great!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

I would stay at the hotel again. Having welcoming staff and a great location was a great way to spend my birthday. It within walking distance to Time Square and Broadway. The restaurant within the hotel does a really nice breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Good value for NYC. Small, customer friendly boutique hotel well located near theaters and restaurants. Rooms are small but adequate and nicely furnished; bathrooms are also on the small side but with fluffy towels and a good selection of complimentary products.

Room Tip: Request higher floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

A minute from the Times Square, but on the reasonably quiet street.
Great location if you go to the late show and want to go to bed right after. :)

Rooms are not large, but very clean and nice. The beds are comfortable.
The staff is VERY friendly and knowledgeable.
We stayed with my daughter for just one night, but we still felt like we are welcome there.
For the breakfast try the bistro next door.

DON'T go to the French "Cafe Un Deix Trois" across - rude staff, the food is nothing special.

Room Tip: ask for the higher floor, so you get less noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

MELA Times square is a clean place but nothing more so it's easy to find a better place to enjoy NYC. We had a tiny 8 floor bedroom on a noisy backyard due to airconditionning machinery, the lobby is far too small to accomodate a group of US tourists and the staff gives different answers to your questions depending on whose answering : the wifi access is quite expensive too and even the location is great and central for shopping, Times square reamains too much busy for us so next time we will not come back to the MELA tImes square NYC, for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickhotelmela, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Mela. I am so sorry you had a negative experience at our property.

Our goal is to provide friendly, personalized service to every guest. I apologize if we fell short during your visit.

Please know that Wi-Fi access is free for all guests.

The next time you visit NYC, feel free to contact me directly and I promise you we will deliver an exceptional experience at Hotel Mela. You can reach me at patrickk@hotelmela.com.

Warm regards,
Patrick Kennedy
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Business Hotel in New York City
#146 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.