We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to theaters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mela to your Saves list
Hotel Mela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE UPGRADE!!!
Ranked #191 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Close to theaters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had tickets to a Broadway play and wanted to be able to walk to and from our hotel. We picked Hotel Mela based on the Trip Advisor reviews and their location. It's a smaller hotel, and much of the clientele were European. The hotel was an easy couple of blocks to most theaters, Times Square, TKTS, Starbucks and many excellent restaurants; so it is in the Times Square area but a bit off the beaten path. The staff was courteous, professional and helpful. The hotel room and common areas were spotless. We had a deluxe room on the 16th floor (queen bed, and desk), away from the elevator, and the room was very quiet. Both the room and bathroom had windows that opened. My only negative (and this is a personal preference) is that the shower water does not get very hot, which may be a conservation strategy - the water temp did not bother my husband.

We had breakfast at Saju, the adjoining restaurant, twice. The ambience was very nice, the food and service were good, and we thought the price fairly reasonable for New York ($38 for 2 full breakfasts and coffee, including tip). We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter, with less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    1,110
    342
    116
    63
See reviews for
357
1,483
188
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Hotel is adjacent to Times Square, just a few steps. Staff extremely attentive and concerned about the comfort of guests. I'll indicate this hotel to everyone, Excellent in all aspects. The restaurant, Saju Bistro, near the Hotel is great too, excellent food. Try the classic burger in house, great!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I would stay at the hotel again. Having welcoming staff and a great location was a great way to spend my birthday. It within walking distance to Time Square and Broadway. The restaurant within the hotel does a really nice breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Good value for NYC. Small, customer friendly boutique hotel well located near theaters and restaurants. Rooms are small but adequate and nicely furnished; bathrooms are also on the small side but with fluffy towels and a good selection of complimentary products.

Room Tip: Request higher floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

A minute from the Times Square, but on the reasonably quiet street.
Great location if you go to the late show and want to go to bed right after. :)

Rooms are not large, but very clean and nice. The beds are comfortable.
The staff is VERY friendly and knowledgeable.
We stayed with my daughter for just one night, but we still felt like we are welcome there.
For the breakfast try the bistro next door.

DON'T go to the French "Cafe Un Deix Trois" across - rude staff, the food is nothing special.

Room Tip: ask for the higher floor, so you get less noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

MELA Times square is a clean place but nothing more so it's easy to find a better place to enjoy NYC. We had a tiny 8 floor bedroom on a noisy backyard due to airconditionning machinery, the lobby is far too small to accomodate a group of US tourists and the staff gives different answers to your questions depending on whose answering : the wifi access is quite expensive too and even the location is great and central for shopping, Times square reamains too much busy for us so next time we will not come back to the MELA tImes square NYC, for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickhotelmela, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Mela. I am so sorry you had a negative experience at our property.

Our goal is to provide friendly, personalized service to every guest. I apologize if we fell short during your visit.

Please know that Wi-Fi access is free for all guests.

The next time you visit NYC, feel free to contact me directly and I promise you we will deliver an exceptional experience at Hotel Mela. You can reach me at patrickk@hotelmela.com.

Warm regards,
Patrick Kennedy
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is fine. Don't expect great service, just think of it as somewhere where you can dump your bags in a very good location. I guess value for money is OK given how expensive NY is. If I was paying that much anywhere else in the world I would say that it is bad value for money...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#204 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Hotel Broadway
Millennium Hotel Broadway
#293 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,708 reviews
Midtown
Night Times Square
Night Times Square
#325 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#348 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,046 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#28 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,907 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#99 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#129 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
#160 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.