We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mela

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 449 hotels in New York City
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“New York Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hotel Mela, the excellent position just off Times Square made it really good to hit the action within less than a minutes walk, however quiet enough after a busy days sight seeing. The rooms were kept clean to a very high standard although ours was rear facing we had no issues as full days of New York's many attractions meant not much time to think of anything but our next days adventures! The staff on reception were very helpful and answered any request for help or advise with a most pleasant manor, nothing was too much trouble for them.
We were recommended to the Mela for its great location and more personal smaller design of hotel, I do not think we could have stayed any were better to suit our city break.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the slightly larger deluxe rooms where possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,035
    883
    269
    94
    51
See reviews for
278
1156
154
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Everything was fine - small but modern room (on the front facing 44th street) with good view - great location for Theatre District / Time Square / Mid-Town - easy access to subways in Times Square - - - one large issue: While the hotel was quiet and fine, you have to navigate the chaos of Times Square to get to the nearby trains or go west to theatres, etc. If you like that activity - this would be perfect - if you dont, you might consider other options. All in all -nice hotel - questionable location.

Room Tip: Room was quite small, but very nice - only a double bed and limited place to open a suit case - had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hotel Mela did not disappoint. Next trip back to NYC we will definitely stay there. Location is perfect. Steps away from Time Square and about a 10 minute walk to Mid-town. Rooms were comfortable & modern. Quiet for being so close to Time Square. All the staff was friendly but John Paul the Concierge was top notch. Bistro next door was perfect place to start with breakfast before a busy day. Great variety of other restaurants on the street if one didn't want to venture too far before heading out to the theater.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

For mid-town Manhattan, this hotel's location is perfect because you're within walking distance to everything, and if necessary, the subway is within a block of the hotel. Although small like European hotel rooms, the rooms and bathrooms are clean, comfortable and quiet. The hotel staff (front desk and housekeeping) is friendly and very helpful if you have questions or need assistance. Bistro Saju, which is adjacent to the hotel, is wonderful -- delicious food and welcoming atmosphere. Free wi-fi, free morning newspapers and discounted parking are also offered. The rates are competitive, but less than other hotels in the area. I have stayed at Hotel Mela a number of times and have never had a bad experience.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the building have more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I travel to NYC every two to three weeks and I couldn't be more happier with Hotel Mela. I like smaller hotels and Dollar for dollar ...location, amenities, Saju next door...the only thing I wish they had was reward systems for stays, since I stay there so much...great mix of clientele as well. I no longer look for other places to stay. The personnel treats me like family which makes business travel all the more enjoyable. Stay there you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Was very impressed with this hotel. This was our first time in NYC and we couldn't have chosen better. The hotel was just a minute walk from the heart of Times Square and the rooms were spacious, modern and well-equipped. Danny and Adrian at the front desk were friendly and courteous and very helpful. The breakfast at the neighbouring bistro was also great. Would definitely stay at the Hotel Mela again on future trips and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

What a wonderful boutique hotel. I travel to the city for business several times a year and this is my favorite place to stay. The staff are kind, courteous and helpful. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the location is perfect, near Times Square. Thank you Hotel Mela!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#97 Family Hotel in New York City
#102 Business Hotel in New York City
#148 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, JackRabbit Systems, Amex, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.