We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay in February 2013” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mela to your Saves list
Hotel Mela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% of our best rates !!
Ranked #182 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Montrose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“3 night stay in February 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Arrived on Sunday 3rd February (3 nights) and was giving a room on the 15th floor unfortunately it did not have a bath so went back down to reception who then gave us a room on the 14 floor, it did have a bath but don't expect a long luxiourous soak as it doesn't hold much water . The bedroom was tiny no space ,at all - suitcases had to lie on top of one another on the floor, the only place to sit was on the bed - It was superbowl weekend so decided to watch it on the television the picture was so bad my husband gave up No one at any time advised there where different rooms obviously we must of got the cheapest overlooking an office block. (this was booked by a travel agent)

On the positive side great location, clean and staff where very helpful. Would we stay here again probably yes but definately a different room

Room Tip: before you book make sure you know how big the room is
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    970
    298
    103
    58
See reviews for
311
1,307
164
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vermont USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our most recent stay was for a conference although we usually visit for pleasure. We don't often get to NYC, but over the past few years have made a point of it more often. This is particularly due to finding Hotel Mela on W. 44th. This boutique hotel is in a great location and is cozy, comfortable, and clean. The rooms are moderate in size and very nicely appointed. The king beds are delightfully comfortable. We cannot imagine staying anywhere else. There is only a tiny lobby, but our room had a comfortable reading chair. Another bonus is the French bistro next to the hotel called Saju. It is delightful as well and you can hop over for a wonderful breakfast in the morning, or for cocktails, lunch, or dinner. This hotel is great quality for the price - the staff is very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite quiet. We recommend the executive king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

It is almost hard to believe that a hotel in this location could be so perfect in every respect AND affordably priced. The rooms are clean, quiet and beautifully appointed with all the amenities. The staff are professionally warm, with evident customer-service mentality. The restaurant staff included, and the warmth and menu make the restaurant a favorite along with the hotel. I cannot say enough good things about this establishment.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be small, so be sure to ask if you require a bit of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We loved hotel mela, it was a cute little boutique hotel In an awesome location in the heart of NYC and within walking distance to the main streets.

The service was really great and the bellboys were helpful. The only thing we didn't like was we never got the hotel complementary drink and snack that we ad requested before arrival as part if their hotel mela package, most likely because we were upgraded upon arrival which was great but they didn't transfer our snack. Oh well but they told us the would get us something else but never did

The rooms are small but since we were upgraded we felt our foo wasa good size

They have apples at the front desk everyday if you wAnt a quick snack

I would stay there again and would recommend mostly because of the location, price and cute hotel feel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I would definitely recommend Hotel Mela when staying in Manhattan. Great little boutique hotel; trendy but not overly twee. Very nice and helpful staff. Location can't be beat. The rooms, however, can range from the teeny to the normal. I got a teeny room on my first try and a normal room on my second try (I had to stay an extra night because of a flight cancellation). As MauiBear noted in an earlier review, the teeny room has a double sized bed that is squeezed into an alcove with poor lighting. The bed does have some low wattage reading lamps attached to the headboard, but I kept hitting my head on them because they wouldn't stay in place. The "normal" room I got had two twin beds (traveling alone, so no worries), regular bedside lamps, and a tub/shower combo rather than just a shower in the teeny room.

But what can you do? New York is known for its small spaces and the price for Hotel Mela was unbeatable for the location. Unless you're planning on staying in your hotel room the whole time, don't worry about the small room. Get out. Enjoy all that is NYC. Sleep in the comfy bed. Chat with the friendly staff. Leave with a happy face.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My review is a little late, my fiance and I stayed here in October 2012. I have to say I couldn't fault this little hotel. I would and have already recommended it to friends. The location is amazing, the staff were friendly and helpful; our room was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent boutique hotel in the heart of Times Square adjacent to the perfect little French bistro that served the most delicious breakfast!
Well appointed abd clean rooms, friendly staff, great location! Couldn't have asked for more!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickhotelmela, General Manager at Hotel Mela, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Greetings Dear Guest,

We are absolutely delighted you took time out of your travels to post a review on your recent visit at the Mela. We have shared your thoughts with our team and please dont hesitate to contact us directly the next tiem you wish to visit NYC!

Warmest Regards,

Nick Ivezaj
General Manager
Hotel Mela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.