We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for your stay in New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mela

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mela to your Saves list
Hotel Mela
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% of our best rates !!
Ranked #182 of 458 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
“A must for your stay in New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from 18-22nd Jan 2013 and found the place to be amazing! I chose this hotel based on price & other people's reviews on here, boy then were NOT wrong! Firstly, I'd rung at Xmas just to double check my reservation, they asked why I was coming to NY & I explained it was for my wedding anniversary. Fast forward 3 weeks and they gave us a hand written card and a free upgrade!

The room was HUGE, very clean and just like it looked in the pictures. The complimentary snacks were much appreciated after such a long flight. Everything was clean and tidy and believe me, I checked. The bathroom was spotless and the free shower products are just the best!

The service we got from all the staff we came into contact with was exceptional, they were friendly & helpful, not something we saw much of in the rest of the city this weekend!

As for location, walk out of the hotel & to your left is Times Square. It's not more than 15 doors down. Try the bagels from the deli on the to Times Square...mmmm!
You couldn't ask for a better location unless you pay a gazillions $ for one.

I'll definitely be returning to the Big Apple, I've been bitten by the bug and when I come back ill definitely be staying at Hotel Mela!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    970
    300
    103
    58
See reviews for
312
1,306
166
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My second time in two years at Mela Hotel and everything was great. Spent 5 nights. Of course, we're in New York (small to mid-size rooms) but the room was very clean and the bed very confortable. Only small problem, sometimes hot water comes only after 2-3 minutes in the shower, but I was at the 16th floor, so very minor problem. Breakfast at Saju was good and the service friendly (we even chat with the french server for dinner one night) Try to find a nice hotel like that at less than 200$ a night in Times square. Don't hesitate, reserve! Only cons: the flat screen tv is too small. Getting bigger tv's would be a good upgrade.

Pierre
Montreal.

Room Tip: If your room is on the side of the street, ask for a high floor. Deluxe room is worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

In the heart of Manhattan. small hotel. tiny rooms but very clean. No desk to work on and no place for baggage. efficient staff. nice apples at the reception, Free Wi-fi. recommended for short stay in Manhattan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel was clean and seemed newly renovated. The room was extremely small. Great location. Perfect place if you just want to sleep.Good for 1 night, maybe 2. Not even room for a chair in the room but the price was great for the lacation in the heart of time square.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a one night stay at the Hotel Mela as a gift from our daughter, so I cant give a review on the price of the hotel, although even though I know she used Groupon, the price still had to be somewhat reasonable for her to afford it! The main thing is the location of this place -- its just one block in from Times Square - out the door walk to the corner and you are right in the middle of it all. (the hotel is located at 44th between 7th & 6th) One thing to definitely note the rooms are SMALL (very small) We had a room with a queen size bed and that pretty much took up the whole room. The bathroom, though is a workable size - no problems there. The rooms & bath were very clean and everything looks very new and nicely decorated. The only couple of things that I would mention is check what kind of view you may get - if that is important to you -- we basically looked into the windows of other rooms - so it was a bit claustraphopic. Also, as one other review didnt like, you have to call for ice. I also had to call twice (mainly because there were also no glasses in the room, which i think was just a housekeeping error) So if you are looking for a clean, nicely decorated, conveniently located hotel this would fit the bill. But if you need room to spread out in your surroundings you may want to re-think it. Also the staff was always very courteous and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

hotel is in a great location, in the centre of times square. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff on reception are very helpfull. Bus tours let you see a lot. the deli a few doors down has a good selection of food. i would recommend staying here. Hectic holiday but so worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed 3 nights. Couldn't believe the location. Absolutely fine for a busy 3 days seeing things.

Whilst Empire State Building is worth a visit. Don't waste your money on the extra 'Skyride' over New York attraction. Very poor. Boat trip round southern half to see statue liberty very good. Riding bikes round Central Park the highlight. Hundreds of people nearby to flog you a bike ride or horse carriage ride (don't see near as much)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mela

Address: 120 West 44th St, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#118 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
#158 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mela 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mela Hotel New York City
Hotel Mela New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.