We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Busy Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates from $179
Ranked #328 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Very Busy Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2007

Arrived in the very large foyer of Hilton Hotel. Very impersonal and clinical. Waited in a short queue and given room allocation. 26th Floor unrenovated room with view of Central Park. The room was very nice. We had requested and paid for a king bed but only two doubles available. The shower was a bit tempermental. We were staying for seven days. One morning awoke to the sound of jackhammers above, and burst water pipe. We were then 'upgraded' downstairs to a renovated room. The room was very new with plasma t.v. large shower etc. Ordered room service one evening and were very impressed how prompt the service was. Many conferences going on in Hotel, so lifts were full to overflowing all the time and foyer constantly crowded. Once in room of hotel it was very quiet and staff were prompt to respond to requests.

  • Liked — Great location, clean rooms.
  • Disliked — Impersonal crowded foyer, crowded lifts at conference time.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,312
    2,243
    1,316
    570
    272
See reviews for
1,549
1,270
318
1,516
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,027)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2007

Stayed at this hotel from 4th of Jan for three night, excellent all round, got upgraded foc. Room was spacious, bathroom was a little small but excellent. Location cannot be beat and staff were wonderful and all for the price of $130 including taxes per night per room!!! Amazing!!

  • Liked — ROoms
  • Disliked — ????
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights at the start of February. As a Hilton HHonors member we were put on the 17th floor in a recently renovated room. The hotel room was spacious for new york, and the location cannot be faulted. However...the walls are seriously thin. We could hear people wandering back to their rooms at 1am, we heard our neighbours alarm clock every morning, and we could hear taxis honking their horn. I appreciate that its New York and that's what taxi drivers do, but I have stayed in other hotels in New York where this has not been a problem.
I would say go - but take your earplugs!!

  • Liked — The Gold Hhonors check in desk, and proper duvets!
  • Disliked — Poor soundproofing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2007

We stayed at the New York Hilton during a long weekend in June. The hotel is very well situated for all the sights in the city as there is easily accessibility by taxi or subway. However, be warned that during the hours of 6:00pm – 7:00pm the taxi queue at the hotel is very long and you may wait a long time to get a taxi. Keep this in mind when planning your departure times.

The hotel is very busy and there are always large crowds in the lobby however on this occasion it did not cause us too much trouble and we were able to check in easily. We asked for a change of room while checking to something as high as possible and this was done without any fuss and we were given a room on the corner which was good as we then had two windows – also we were on a side road so the noise from the outside was not a problem.

The room was nice and well decorated with a small bathroom. There was nothing special about it but it was clean and well maintained. We unfortunately did have noisy neighbours who insisted on shouting and talking loudly to past 1:00am. We called downstairs and asked for them to be stopped and security must have done something as eventually the noise decreased.

We did not use any of the restaurants, room service or gym as there are plenty of restaurants in the area so cannot comment on these amenities. We did use the concierge to arrange for a car to take us to the airport and that was done quickly and efficiently.

The hotel was nothing to write home about but it did provide us with a decent place to stay in New York city at a decent price.

  • Liked — Good Location
  • Disliked — Noisy neighbors
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2007

I have stayed here a number of times in the past and it was adequate but on this trip I stayed part of the time in one of the new renovated rooms. Incredible, actually spectacular. The only complaint I had, if you could call it that, is the lack of robes! The bed is amazing, the decor is modern but warm and the big flat screen tv really is great. It also has lights on the bottom of the side tables that go on when you walk by so you can see i the dark. Make sure you ask for the renovated rooms when you book here, you will be amazed. And the service has really been great as well.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2007

Used Priceline to secure a room at the Hilton New York back in March 2006. What a great location and a great hotel! Just minutes from Central Park, Time Square, great shopping, etc etc.

Hotel was sophisticated, very clean and overall a fabulous experience. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.. especially at the rate of $120 USD per night we got on Priceline.

  • Liked — Outstanding location
  • Disliked — Cost of parking is insane
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2007

I love staying at the Hilton New York. Be warned that there is a fee for doing just about anything in the hotel, though the elevators are still free. Unless you are in the executive lounge you pay for internet, local & long distance calls, use of the gym/pool, etc. Try to get a refurbished room, but it really doesn't matter as all of the rooms are fairly nice. Hotel is in a good central location between the stores of 5th Ave and the lights of Times Square. You are within walking distance of many things in NYC including MoMA (which is free on Friday evenings).

  • Stayed January 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1980
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.