We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room, Good Service, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates from $179
Ranked #328 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Marco Island, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice Room, Good Service, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2005

In view of some of the negative comments, we were looking forward, with trepidation, to our stay at the Hilton. We took our two ten-year old grandchildren, who are extremely well-traveled, as part of a AAA special Christmas tour and were very pleasantly surprised. Even the grandchildren approved and they are used to five star hotels! It had been at least 25 years since we had stayed at the Hilton but remembered the "old days" when it was new and one of the glitziest. We found the rooms clean and well decorated, the beds are redone with the wonderfully deep mattresses, feather duvets, and lots of pillows, and we had a great view from the 34th floor. Our bathroom was very large with a handheld shower and lots of thick towels (maybe because it was a handicap room). Although not requested, I must admit it was welcome because of the extra space usually involved in the bathroom areas. We ate a breakfast and lunch at the Marketplace and found it to be reasonable with pleasant food. The staff was accommodating but the Concierge sent us around the corner for lunch to a new restaurant with a menu featuring only four entrees and two salads and boasting a mighty price, knowing we had two children with us. She half-heartedly tried to get us a reservation at Tavern on the Green, and was non-committal when I said I had heard that the Tavern had gone down hill and was now barely more than a tourist trap. Our son had been in NY the week before and given us this info. Because of the wonderful location: Radio City across the street, MOMA in the next block, four blocks to Central Park, six blocks to Rockefeller Center, and a block off Fifth, you could hardly get a better hotel for walking everywhere. We discovered Rosie O'Grady's Restaurant/Pub behind the hotel on Seventh Ave. and enjoyed the great food and very fair prices, and as previously mentioned, Starbucks is across from the front door. When you consider we spent $199. per person for two nights at the hotel, four seats at the Rockettes Christmas Show, and a 2 1/2 hour Grayline tour of the Christmas Lights, it was the very best deal in town!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    2,225
    1,300
    562
    271
See reviews for
1,531
1,259
316
1,502
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,022)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2005

My family and I stayed here for 4 days for our first time ever in NEW YORK CITY. We drove all the way from Florida. Needless to say we were tired when we arrived. Our check in process was to say the least.. VERY COLD AND RUDE. When we arrived in our room, as soon as we opened the door it had a foul smell. As my children were about to get sick from the smell, my husband noticed that there were not bedspreads on the beds . As he began to look around he noticed vomit all over the dust ruffle on the bed and on the floor. We called the front desk and was treated as if we were an inconvenience.They moved us to another room and it was horrible. Carpets were dirty, wallpaper peeling off the walls of the bathroom, rusty a/c vents, and our a/c would never cool the room off. Bathroom was tiny as were the supposed "queen size" bed. Very cramped and very lousy service... The restarant staff was also very rude. Not what I would call a luxurious hotel at all.. We were very disappointed.. Will never go back to this hotel.....

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2005

Our family (two adults, two kids) stayed here Dec. 18-21. We had read the reviews on TripAdvisor so we knew that some of the rooms were not that great. We deliberately looked for and booked a 'New Room' on the Hilton web site. Got a $279 rate that included full breakfast; high, but quite decent for New York.

Overall, we were happy. The room was great; the front desk, concierge and bell captain service was so-so; the restaurant 'NY Marketplace' was decent for breakfast, terrible for dinner. More detailed descriptions below for those who are interested. Pictures of the renovated room are also posted.

The Room: We were very impressed with the renovated room. Of course, since it was recently renovated, it was very clean and things looked new. It was also very spacious (except for the bathroom). The renovation included nice touches which you normally find in smaller boutique style hotels, such as stylish/funky lamps and a large LCD tv. The beds were extremely comfortable. Fixtures in the bathroom were very stylish and attractive. I normally stay in Sheraton NY Hotel and Towers, and I've never had a room this nice, even when I've gotten a renovated one. The Sheraton rooms are smaller, darker and generally less well decorated. And the Hilton 'Comfortable Bed' was much more so than the Sheraton 'Heavenly Bed'.

Our room in the Hilton was on the 22nd floor. Some other floors appeared to have been renovated, but several did not appear to be; those older floors looked quite depressing. Book a renovated room and you're much more likely to have a good stay here!

The Service: if you've read the reviews here, you'll know not to expect too much in the way of service. The front desk staff was efficient but fairly disinterested at check in. The concierge seemed annoyed that they had to give out directions to the subway to yet another customer. On the last day of our stay, the room was not made up at all. Sometime between 6pm and 9pm, someone dropped a new set of towels on the unmade beds but did not clean up at all; we called the front desk but they said housekeeping was behind (no kidding) and they would get to our room as soon as they caught up. Needless to say, they never did! Finally, the Hilton airport shuttle service charged us twice for our ticket to the airport so now we have to get that cleared up with the credit card company.

Oh well. We liked our room anyway.

NY Marketplace Restaurant: Breakfast buffet (included in our rate) was extensive and most things tasted good. Dinner was horrible (calamari, pizza, burger) and extremely overpriced; don't waste your money there, especially with so many restaurants nearby.

Overall: if we can get a renovated room at a decent rate, we will stay at the Hilton again. If not, we'll keep looking...

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saunderstown, ri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2005

we paid 195 on the sat before christmas. got it on priceline. i cannot understand why these people pay 500 and above. the hotel was terrific

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2005

We stayed at this hotel 5 nights for a conference and found it very satisfactory ( particularly since we got a great rate of $210 per night for a king room). It's not luxurious, but it's clean, nice, and has a great location for tourist activities like Broadway, shopping 5th Ave. etc. etc. I think it would be a terrific hotel for a NYC "first-timer" - you feel safe in the neighborhood and it's easy to find your way around. However, if you want to check out what "real" NYC is like, I wouldn't recommend it - having lived in NYC in the past, I find mid-town pretty sterile and prefer more residential areas of town.

Overall, however, a great deal for the money and very comfortable if you're on the upper floors away from street noise. I don't think I'd pay more than $350 per night, though - lots of other places with more character in that price range.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2005

Hotel location is the key.

This is the largest hotel in Manhattan with 2200 rooms and as such it is run like a factory (as such see many of previous comments - large variety of room and yes most rooms are small yet very clean, appropriate but not necessarily friendly services in lobby, $3.50/bag/day storage charge, busy elevators, host to hundreds of conferences etc.)

Indeed would look for other hotel if required to pay rack rates. Nonetheless the stay was delighful especially since booking was Pricelined and for the weekend before Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
454 helpful votes 454 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2005

We payed over $600 per night for an executive room and its was dreadful- tiny- not luxurious at all. The hotel itself is aimed at business people- there is nothing beautiful about it.

Ok- so the location is great- just 5min walk to radio city to see the rockettes- and one block from 5th avenue- 5min walk from central park.

We didnt eat at this hotel and the bar was awful. Dont stay here if u want luxury and beautiful surroundings- stay here for location and if ur only in ny for a few days.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1980
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.