We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Executive Lounge Access
Ranked #336 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2004

We stayed here from November 23rd to 25th. Nice hotel. I have read a lot about hotels in New York and was kind of scared to book. I have famiy there, so I always stay with them, except that they were getting married this time. THe Hitlton was nice. Not the best, but far from the worse. Our room on the 34th floor was small, but had a reasonable size bathroom. I received a price of 127 a night on priceline. The hotel is a busy place. The restaraunt downstairs is not great, edible, but its New York, many fabulous other places to eat. FOr the same rate, I would definetley stay here again. For 300 a night, I would look elsewhere. THis is not a 5 star hotel, so don't expect it. But do expect it to be clean and comfortable. Location is great, next to everything. Staff is also good about giving directions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    2,423
    1,423
    630
    313
See reviews for
1,677
1,385
341
1,661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2004

After confirming an excellent price from Priceline for 4 nights and airfare for two at $919, I was a bit leery about the hotel and wondered everything from would I be sleeping in the broom closet to whether I would have to endure an 8 am sales pitch for timeshares. I consulted tripadvisor and read many mixed reviews, one of which suggested we use the kiosk in the lobby to check-in. When we arrived on Oct 29, we did just that. The kiosk is the first thing you see when you walk in the door; you can't miss it! We got a room with two double beds (i'm assuming newly renovated), no problem. The keys are distributed from the kiosk. While the view from our 15th floor room was nothing to behold, the room was nicely appointed with big fluffy comforters and lots of pillows on the beds. I never visited the restaurant, so cannot comment on that, but used both the concierge and theatre desks to inquire about locations and shows and found both to be helpful and the theatre desk girl to be knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Our room was always nicely cleaned when we returned and never found anything missing (except a business card I got from a really nice guy I met...darn!). The hotel is easy to find....if you walk down any N/S avenue from Central Park (North) or the theatre district (South) and look down 54th street, you will see the huge red-lit Radio City Music Hall sign and you know if you walk toward it, you are nearly there or will pass it. As for hotel security, there are many people in and out of the lobby, but never anyone I felt the slightest bit threatened by. There is always a doorman to hail a taxi and occasionally, but not always, a security person checking keys before allowing entry. The hotel is also very centrally located. Our personal aim was to wander about and see Broadway shows. We were within walking distance to Central Park which we walked to quickly and then strolled through slowly. We wandered the East side and visited the Met on one day and wandered the West side to Strawberry Fields and the reservoir the next and walked to different Broadway shows at night. Central Park was absolutely breathtaking. The leaves were falling on the sidewalks in beautiful yellows and oranges. Late October/early November was a perfect time for visiting New York. Overall our stay was very memorable and the Hilton was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2004

Just returned on Oct. 31st from New York and a stay at the New York Hilton. You won't find a more centrally located hotel, and while its not The Four Seasons its a clean comfortable hotel with all the standard Hilton ammenities. One thing that impressed me was the bathrooms, while small had fantastic water pressure and copious amounts of hot water. The decor in the rooms is definitely early 80's institutional, but the rooms are clean and the staff does a pretty good job of taking care of the rooms and public spaces. The front desk staff while they weren't the gracious types we have down South, they were cordial and efficient. I would highly recommend this hotel to a tourist or business traveler looking for a central location at a reasonable rate. More experienced travelers or those looking for luxury accomodations will probably want to look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2004

We stayed here for 2 nights midweek (27-29 Oct) for £50 / night via Priceline.

The hotel is large and busy but when we checked in around 1pm there was very little line and we used the express checkout so that didn't take any time at all. We never had to wait more than a few seconds for an elevator either.

Our room was on the 31st floor, decent size with 2 doubles, everything very clean and comfortable although we didn't have or need the most modern TV or high-speed internet access.

The location was unbelievably good for first time tourist visitors like us - a block away from 5th Avenue, minutes from Central Park and Times Square. We walked comfortably to and from the Empire State Building and Grand Central Station and just about any subway line has a stop a couple of blocks away. We felt comfortable in the area at all times of day - it isn't frenetic like Times Square but there were always lots of people around.

We didn't eat in the hotel at all (although reading reviews on here I wish we'd tried!). I can highly recommend the W53rd Street Gourmet Deli just behind the hotel - wonderful selection of decent hot and cold food at very reasonable prices.

We would be delighted to stay at this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2004

The location is fantastic. Close to all attractions. The hotel needs some renovations but is quite nice and has all amenities. Rooms are spacious and agreable. The only problem is that it's a crowded, nusy hotel. It takes hours to get up or down to your room. Check out in time because there are always crowds and you'll be late for your travel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2004

The best thing I can say about this hotel was the restaurant on premises..fabulous food..enormous portions and excellent prices. Other than that..the hotel itself was rather disappointing in that the room was simply average for the price..with the furnishings merely average and the bathroom painfully lacking in counter space..the shower curtain smelled musty. They were generous with the towels..however the most annoying part were the elevators whereby if you stayed on a lower floor..you had to take one elevator to get to your room..then get in and exit that elevator in order to get another elevator to gain access to the Executive Floors where the continental breakfast and cocktail hour were held. These functions were nice and I must say had a very nice offerring of breakfast items as well as some commanding views of the City.

We would not stay here again when we discovered many, smaller boutique type hotels with similar rates and far more inviting amenities and charm.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2004

The Hilton NY is in a great location, very convenient to head anywhere in Manhattan either by cab or subway. My fiancee and I booked a room for a sat nite stay just a few days beforehand through priceline. We got a pretty decent rate ($170nt) and when checking in asked for a renovated room which we got. After reading some of the other reviews I wasn't sure what to expect, but we were happily surprised that our room was very clean, modern & comfortable. Overall we had a positive experience at this hotel and it's a very good value if you book through priceline or a similar discount travel site.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1980
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.