We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down- so disappointed in Hilton Midtown NYC” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Executive Lounge Access
Ranked #337 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“What a let down- so disappointed in Hilton Midtown NYC”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A once in a lifetime trip to NYC. The hotel lobby looks grand and so do the bars. However,the room was dingy, wallpaper pealing of the wall, bathroom leaked and TV did not work. Had to pay 13 dollars plus tax for movies. No tea or coffee facilities. We had to pay for any Wifi and it was only available for free within the lobby. Standing room only and within a very small circle! Most of the staff were unfriendly and prices at the Herb and Kitchen and bar were expensive. This was not a cheap hotel and my husband chose it because it was central and had the Hilton name. I would not recommend any one stays here. We have wasted a lot of hard earned money on a hotel that did not live up to its renowned reputation. Further more the photos of the hotel by management must be from the executive or penthouse suites. We did not see any of the rooms or venues shown. A real let down. NF

Room Tip: Penthouse suite perhaps??
See more room tips
Green Features: City Centre - maybe lack of redecoration, leaky bathrooms and no clean windows constitutes to being environmentally friendly!
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,465
    2,506
    1,467
    647
    323
See reviews for
1,723
1,439
347
1,718
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We really had a very unpleasant experience at this hotel. We booked a non smoking room for 3 nights stay. The room smelled like rotten mouse and mold. One should check the room before checking in. There is no fridge in the room. It is difficult for the people with little kids. Hotel elevators/lobby is always very crowded

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for 4 nights and our first impression was: big, great hotel on a perfect location in Manhattan.

When we checked in, the guy asked us if we wanted to book breakfast with our stay. He had a great offer he told us, breakfast, wifi on the room and the whole day complimentary drinks and snacks between 5 and 7 pm for $ 60 per person for our entire stay. Otherwise the breakfast would be $ 45 pppd, so this was a great deal according to him. We decided to take this offer, because $ 180 for only breakfast (4 mornings) was crazy I thought.

The breakfast wasn't that great; nothing warm, only bagels, toast, cake and croissants, some fresh fruit and yoghurt. But hey, for $ 60 per person, it was okay then.

The day before we left, we saw some charges on our creditcard from the Hilton Hotel we didn't recognize. I went to the reception to ask what they were and there they told me it were the charges for the offer we choosed by chekking in. I was perplex, because this was an amount of $ 105 a day. The guy told me the offer the present wasn't $ 60 per person for the entire stay, but $ 35 per person a day... Okay, that amount wasn't the breakfast worth it at all!

After my complaints about this, they made a correction and charged us only the amount that we thought and informed it was. So, the handled very well, but it was a really unpleasant misunderstanding. The last morning we went out for breakfast and I was sorry we didn't do this every day...

Therefor my tip: do not take the "lounge-offer" for $ 35 per person a day. The wine and beer isn't complimentary and the snacks are gone at 7 pm sharp. If you had a great day in NYC, you probably aren't back at the hotel yet around this time and you will pay for nothing (only a breakfast that isn't that great).

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We took a birthday weekend trip and did the city and theater. This hotel is wonderfully located within walking distance not only of the theaters but also of some great restaurants and Central Park. We also utilized the subway to get to downtown locations. The hotel was a great oasis for a busy weekend.
We look forward to going again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed in this Hotel for 4 nights....Great location, nice big hotel not far from Time Square and central park, And Broadway! I think the price of Alcohol from the main bar is way to steep at $34 for 1 beer and 1 glass of wine including tax and paying the waiter to bring me the drink was not what i expected with being a paying guest? which then put me off drinking in the Hotel.....I would also say each room should offer complimentary tea/coffee and 2 free bottles of water per day, i have stayed in 2 hilton hotels in the past and have always had these items available, yes you can purchase these things downstairs etc......but most guests like to make there own tea/coffee on a morning for free....and to have zero internet in your room and only in the lobby is really not convenient, as the lobby area is like being at the airport with so many people walking about...yes this hotel is great with regards to all other areas etc.....but me and most people will want the same things in the hotel.....for the price guests pay per night, i think it needs to be reviewed to offer WIFI in all rooms for free......Sorry to write a comment like this, as apart from this i enjoyed my stay and will return....

Room Tip: go for a higher level room as the sound of traffic and cars beeping horns at all hours is annoying
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

So many good things to say about here. PERFECT central location. Close to anything you could want to do. Minutes walk from Times Square and great restaurants and shopping. Very helpful concierge. All staff are so friendly and welcoming (Thank you especially Charaf (?) for your hospitality) Great restaurant in the lobby called Herb n Kitchen. Great for a quick snack (burgers, sandwiches etc) even breakfast, including fruit and dessert as well.
Very clean, simple rooms. Housekeeping came and tidied up every day and we always came back to a clean room and fresh towels.
Its one of the largest hotels in the city so there are always a lot of people around in the lobby which adds some excitement
Couldn't have had a better experience. Hats off to Hilton

Room Tip: i Stayed on the 15th floor which was very quiet. Never had to wait longer than 2 minutes for an elev...
See more room tips
Green Features: No central lighting in the room but there are many lamps in important spots to use. Lighting is sufficient however.
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was a busy weekend in the City and lots of guests but the hotel staff were gracious and reasonably efficient. Rooms were clean. Hard to call the concierge on Saturday night because the line in the lobby was so long. Also, started out with 3 towels but ended up with 2 after housekeeping. Could have used one more! Access to the Executive Lounge was a good freebie; so nice to have a quick, small coffee or soda for a break. Charge for Wi-Fi seems high. Good location. Room seemed quiet despite traffic, etc. outside.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#179 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1932
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.