We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly dreadful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Save Saved
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast + Wifi Upgrade
Ranked #319 of 452 hotels in New York City
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Truly dreadful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I have just stayed for two days during a business trip and I am still amazed at the state of the facilities in the hotel. Rooms are crying for a renovation in every possible aspect. They are in such bad condition that even the bathroom, let alone the carpet, managed to look positively unclean.

On top of that they even pretend to charge in order to have free wifi in the room, and that, despite a daily tariff close to 500 dollars without breakfast.

I have always been of the opinion that hotels in New York offer quite poor value for money but this hilton has comfortably set a new benchmark at the bottom of the scale.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,174
    2,048
    1,185
    498
    244
See reviews for
1411
1145
295
1343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (930)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

New york one night stay, I had expected it to be a clean room, bright and good smell, but I feel that it was a dark room, no smile, no people care about those guys from Worldwide like me. It is a cold hotel just taking your money, no good feeling, not comfortable. Why not improve your service like a little change? 1. put a wifi setting help list in the desk, 2. put a clean water of bottle in the desk 3. set bright light ....

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Hilton due to location for a business visit. I thought it was just a large convention-style hotel and while it is large, service was good, rooms were large and quiet. Gym is excellent. Only problem is that the check in process was VERY slow and cumbersome.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Hotel is clean, friendly Staff, excellent location! Secure in the evening. Bellmen to Bar Servicers make you feel right at home. From the start to finish our stay was excellent, highly recommend, we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I got in pretty early and my room wasn't ready but the clerk told me they would text me when my room was ready and that he would place me in a king room on the 44th near my colleague.

No text.

9:45PM I get back to the hotel from the office. The lady checking me in was rude. They placed me on the 31st in a queen room. I asked if there was any king available and she offered me a room with 2 doubles!? By the time that was all straightened out it was 10:02 and the bag check was closed. The bell captain was called to get my bag and he was going to meet me there. 5 minutes later no bell capt. The desk called again and they met me after another 5 minute wait. Then he had to go get security to open the room. Why would they meet me without a key? Couldn't find bag until I pointed it out. There were after all 10 bags in the room.

45 minutes to check in after a long day doesn't make for a happy customer. I'm staying at the older Manhattan East location next week. It's smaller but have a great staff that actually cares about its guests.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Perfectly placed within walking distance of lots of sights and Times square.Round the corner from the Subway if you want to go further afield. I'm afraid we found it a little disappointing after staying at other Hilton's. The staff were rather standoffish and the room was a little small. Still good quality furnishings though and very clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The New York Hilton Midtown is a big intercity hotel located centrally just between the park and Time Square. Because of its size, the reception reminded me of some of the big properties in Las Vegas but the difference in service is noticeable. I arrived - there was no line for check-in. 4 were at the concierge, one receptionist helping a customer, and the rest of the area empty with one receptionist chatting to someone in the office. It took a while (1-2 minutes) to notice that I was waiting. I had checked in on line but she still had to process my keys. By comparison, my recent stays at Homewood suites (also Hilton branded) had my keys ready and I only needed to provide my ID and Credit Card. I asked if upgrades were available - "No". Difficult to believe but how would you know. I had to ask about breakfast - "Oh - you have a choice of continental breakfast or 1,000 points".

When I arrive on the 44th floor, the hallways were clean, well decorated in light grey, and very quiet. My room was clean although small by American standards. I tried to turn on the light by the bed and ended up having to pull the bed away from the wall to find the unplugged lamp. Small thing but when you are in a dark room and can't get the lights on - annoying.

My breakfast voucher was for takeaway of a medium drink and one pastry. Not impressed I sat for the breakfast buffet and paid $65 for pancakes, eggs, bacon, sausage, pineapple, orange juice, and coffee. Typical Hilton breakfast (no al-a-carte available).

Room Tip: North facing rooms at the higher level have view of Central Park - very uninspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#255 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.