We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive room - great location for New York” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Save Saved
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast + Wifi Upgrade
Ranked #319 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Executive room - great location for New York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for the final three nights of our honeymoon. Excellent hotel on the whole. We stayed in the 44th floor in the Executive rooms. This gave us access to the lounge on the ground floor. This meant you had access to a continental breakfast in the morning, cookies and drinks throughout the day and light snacks in the evening. It wasn't that much more expensive and I highly recommend purchasing this option.

The champagne and chocolates on arrival for our honeymoon was a lovely addition - thank you.

There are three minor issues I have with the room:

1) On the executive floor there are no tea/coffee facilities. The lounge closes at 11pm so what happens if you want a hot drink after this?

2) No complimentary Wi-Fi. We stayed in several big chain hotels during our three week holiday across USA. All, except Hilton, offered free Wi-Fi. Why not? You can access it in the lobby. This is something Hilton as a brand need to address as it was the same situation in another Hilton we stayed in.

3) We needed to store our luggage on the final day as late checkout was unavailable after 1pm (very busy hotel). They charge $3.50 per case! I have never paid to hold luggage anywhere in the world. Most bizarre, I think it's operated by an external company.

Room Tip: Get the Executive room for lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    2,054
    1,188
    499
    247
See reviews for
1411
1148
296
1348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is very well located in midtown Manhattan and is close to Central Park, Times Square, and many Broadway theaters. While check-in was slightly slow, the staff took time to answer questions and get me oriented. My room with a king size bed was good sized and reasonably decorated. The bathroom was a bit small, but roomy enough for one person to get ready. The room was beginning to show signs of wear with wall paper coming loose in a few spots, a few minor dings on the desk, scratches on the walls and baseboards, and peeling paint on the bathroom ceiling and chips in the tub. The hot water pipes were a bit noisy and squealed at times, enough to wake me up. The room was clean and the staff did a great job in servicing the room. The hotel had a good restaurant and a separate bar. It also had a deli/coffee shop with a wide range of items to grab if you wanted something to go. Overall, this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less street noise, but longer waits for elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Busy hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Can't beat the location. Bar is not really all that "hip" but the bartenders are great and the drinks are expertly crafted. It is a shame they moved the Executive Lounge from one of the highest floors to a crammed space on the lobby floor, but the quality of the food is good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff was friendly and efficient at check-in. Unfortunately the carpet in the room was sticky. Bed was not particularly comfortable with paper thin blanket (with no extra balnket in room). Stayed in Sheraton earlier in the week and bed was much, much better.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our third stay at this hotel, part of a pre-cruise package. On arrival asked about any letters or messages left for us from the cruise company and told that there were none. This turned out to be an oversight on the hotel reception's part but it wasn't until we met with the cruise company rep three days later that we found this out. At this point the hotel found and gave us the letter. We continue to stay at this hotel because its location is so good for us. Eat elsewhere as very overpriced though their in-house Herb n Kitchen is a useful facility as open early and late and you can take the snacks to your room. Room clean and comfortable but furniture and fittings worn and broken in places. Needs a facelift! No ice in machine on a couple of occasions. Some members of staff seem not to be enjoying their work and can appear listless and uninterested.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lets face it , in NYC of all places there is an amazing choice of hotels
What many people won't know is that the Hilton New york , Midtown , is the largest hotel in the city , with around 2000 bedrooms . Its huge
So why do i say look no further and why will i never stay anywhere else in NYC
Its easy
It is because the staff of this hotel, DESPITE its size, go that extra bit further to make you feel welcome
The newly refurbished Executive room bedrooms are superb with private fridges in the room for you to store your own drink ( not as a way of the hotel selling you their overpriced stuff like many others do ) , and a huge flat screen TV
The Exec lounge on the ground floor is amazing and one of the best of any Hilton i have stayed in
The location of the hotel is unbeatable
SO SO CLOSE to the main shops on 5th avenue etc , a stone's throw from Central Park , and minutes from Times Square!
There are more brilliant restaurants close to the Hilton than you could possibly eat in and many are kid friendly also
Columbus Circle is also minutes away and Soho , Meat packing district etc , is a short taxi cab away

I love Hilton hotels, I will be honest . They always make me feel like i am at home but this hotel in the center of NYC is really something else

Special thanks go to
Hannelore Uhl, Amy Moreno and the General Manager, Laurens Zieren , for making my stay so amazing

I had three rooms in the end here and stayed 17 nights

Do yourself a favour , stay at this Hotel
Its got it all

Simon Taylor
Manchester, England

Room Tip: Take an Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I spent a recent two day stay at this hotel to celebrate our anniversary (Aug. 23-25). The location was great for what we wanted to do - go to Central Park, Time Square and two broadway plays. We had a great time, and especially found the staff at the hotel making the stay most enjoyable. I wish to compliment the Hotel management, a lounge server, and security officer Daniel, who all assisted us in several ways during our stay. We have already made reservations for a future stay in December. A great stay indeed!

Room Tip: We stayed at the executive level and purchased access to conceierge room on level floor. My wife an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#256 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.