We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hole in the Wall” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates from $179
Ranked #328 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hole in the Wall”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Literally, our room had a large hold in the wall. But putting that aside, I was still terribly unimpressed with this place. For the same price, we could have stayed uptown with many more amenities. Main issues: 1) It is always crowded, but not in a good way. It was like being in grand central station. 2)Registration staff was rude, as was staff at Herb N Kitchen, the cafe/restaurant. 3)No room service past 10:30pm… really? In the city that never sleeps?? The late night food available in Herb N Kitchen was seriously the worst food I ate in my 5 days in NYC. 4) Room rate includes not courtesy items. Not even free internet. For as much money as this less than average room cost, they could throw something else in. 5)Luggage check service costs 4$ per bag, AND… they lost one of our bags, delivered it to someone else's room. Boo!

Positives: Central location, nice views. After they located our bag, they waived the $4 bag fee.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    2,237
    1,311
    567
    272
See reviews for
1,543
1,265
318
1,513
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,026)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Went in to NYC for a local play and stayed at the Hilton. Perfect location for a day or two in the theater district. Nice area to walk to and from theaters/restaurants. We were cordially greeted by Paul at registration who made sure we got the early arrival request. Paul made the registration process smooth and quick. Lobby, elevators, hallways were very clean. Staff was always attentive when we needed help. Our room on the 21st floor was excellent. Clean and sparkling bathroom with a great shower. Very comfortable bed, TV worked perfectly. Room had a small sofa which made the room very functional. The bar area was very clean and comfortable for a late afternoon/evening drink. Staff at the lobby bar was excellent and very attentive.
We would highly recommend this fine hotel, especially if you are in the city for a play or just sight seeing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

First time to NYC! Hotel was in great location, clean, spacious, and very friendly, helpful staff! Easy, quick check-in even on a busy Friday afternoon. Corner room on 15th floor south/west side of hotel offers nice views but was noisy at night. An in-room fridge would have been a plus!

Room Tip: Corner room offered nice views but noisy on the south/west side at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great location very clean. Staff very helpful full of ideas as to what to do and where to do. Don't tell mama a piano bar was suggested and it was just so much fun we ended up spending the evening. Went to Rothman steak house yum yum. Kinky boots a blast. Wanted to stay for the St. Patrick day parade but it was to cold. We enjoyed it so much we bought a time share

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed in the Hilton for a conference, so didn't really shop around, but have been in New York many times so I'm not just naive about prices here. I felt the hotel was in a very convenient location, and the lobby and conference center were nice. The room was a little rundown, i.e. scrapes and patches in the wallpaper, scratched furniture. I hate being charged for wireless access. Nowadays, even Holiday Inn gives you free wi-fi, shouldn't Hilton? Concierge was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I was on the fence between an "Excellent" and "Very Good" rating. I settled on "Very Good" for only two reasons:
- the rooms do not have coffee makers in them (which is quite frustrating when you wake up at 5 a.m. on a Saturday and nothing is open)
- I was not upgraded to an Executive Level room, even though I am a Diamond member and I thought there were some rooms available. (I did, however, get upgraded to a "deluxe" room which had a nice couch but wasn't a terribly big room.)
This hotel has many good things going for it:
- proximity to Central Park
- proximity to Times Square
- proximity to many Subway stations
- an excellent Executive Lounge which offered an extensive continental breakfast, cookies throughout the day, and hot and cold appetizers in the evening (along with a honor bar with several beers on tap)
- a helpful staff.
Overall, I'd recommend this hotel. Just be prepared to go without coffee if you wake up early on a weekend :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Actually the most i liked about the hotel was the kindness of the employee which reflect on their cooperation specially in check in out and their support with the late check out which really was needed from my side and the location was fantastic in addition to the nice room which was comfortble even with the small size Thanks

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1980
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.