We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates from $179
Ranked #328 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Southampton, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location, good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night in a double room with 2 adults and 2 kids. I used my Hilton Honors points but the rate would have been $219 with tax. I am a Gold member so my room was upgraded to include the executive lounge which was a great value when you figure in the cost of a lovely breakfast. I think we would have been upgraded to a suite if that floor wasn't under construction. The people were very friendly. The beds, linens, etc. we're very good. Elevators were swift.
The woman at the podium Guarding the executive lounge at first struck me as very rude, but I quickly realized, watching her, that she was under enormous pressure from the hordes of tourists pressing in on her. In the end I decided she was one of the best employees I encountered.
Jose, at the Herb'n Kitchen was fantastic. He fixed a minor problem with our order with such grace and humor.
Not that it was promised but there was no coffee maker or refrigerator.
The plumbing was a bit dicey (toilet didn't flush, the stopper in tub didn't work) but all in all it was a very good experience. Location amazing. Valet parking painless. My checkout was extended to 3pm.
Clean. Organized. Painless.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,299
    2,222
    1,299
    561
    271
See reviews for
1,531
1,257
316
1,500
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,018)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I was at this hotel for a business trip in January. My room was good, but seemed a little bit dated, compared to a renovated room that another conference attendee had. You need to be aware that this hotel does not offer room service, and does not provide a coffee maker or mini bar (at least in standard rooms). So, if you want something, you have to go to the lobby restaurant or eateries, where food is very expensive ($45 for a breakfast buffet, about $5 for a bagel or $5 for a coffee). Fortunately, there are choice within a couple of blocks of the hotel, including a deli on 53rd Street with good service and very reasonable prices. Many people ate their for all 3 meals of the day!

On the plus side, the room was quiet, the bed was comfortable, the heat worked well, and the fitness center on the 5th floor was very nice, with a lot of treadmills and elliptical machines. As I recall, they only had 4 stationary bikes.

The shower pressure was good, and I had no issues with hot water, but I could not move the shower head.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

For the price it charges the facility are bare minimum. Hotel has plenty of rooms in 3 towers and high speed lifts but rooms are very small. No facility to make tea or coffee in the rooms. It has only 1 restaurant which also makes food in take away parcel and has space for eating. There is a bar cum fast snack facility in entrance lobby with an exclusive bar inside.
Hotel location is very convenient as many restaurants are located within walking distance.

Room Tip: Select Club Lounge rooms which gives you free access to Lounge in Ground Floor serving complimentary...
See more room tips
Green Features: Did not find anything specific to report. Linen change was standard practice. Cooling was excessive and provision to reduce was not working. I had to switch off the air conditioning.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed here for one night, having returned after last staying here a few years ago.

The check in was quick and when I arrived in the room it was spacious and clean and the bed was comfy.

The Executive lounge is being refurbished so they have a temporary one on the ground floor which was nice. Same irritation I have in all Exec lounges in the states they have a honesty bar for alcohol, quite why they cannot have a free bar like the rest of the Hilton world always bewilders me.

The reason I gave the hotel a 3 was the fact there were multiple occasions when I was stopped by people in normal clothes with earpieces in asking me where I was going and why. I understand the need for security but not to be stopped multiple times. There was one rather officious person on the entrance to the lower ground conference rooms who was most hostile on a Saturday morning. Not sure what was going on but it could be much better managed.

I shall not be returning!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the inconvenience encountered with our plain-clothes security team. We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I had to stay overnight and be near the office. The Hilton was perfect. Nice room, courteous staff, great location. We had a corporate rate so it was really reasonable. The room was quiet and bed was comfortable, so I had a great sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This business hotel is a great bargain for people visiting New York because it's in an excellent position (6th avenue, just a few blocks from Central Park).
The rooms are quite spacious for NY standards and they are nicely furnished and well kept, although the baths seem to be in need of some sort of restyling.
One negative point for a 4 star hotel: luggage deposit on checkout day is not free and is charged per luggage piece.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great rooms, excellent price! couldn't believe midtown new york for so cheap! Lots of food around. Didn't try out the bar or the gym area. Staff were very nice too. Lots of banks nearby too. T stop literally just outside the hotel. Concierge guy however didn't know much about the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT on the police station side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1980
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.