We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only thing missing was a restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Executive Lounge Access
Ranked #336 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
“Only thing missing was a restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our family of five stayed in the Hilton Midtown from December 26th until the 29th. The rooms and service met all of our needs. In fact, when we made additional request, like a cot for my flailing daughter to keep her grandmother safe in the night, we were accommodated immediately.

In particular, though, I wanted to note help we received from a wonderful concierge. The first day we arrived, we checked in early and headed straight to a musical. Afterwards we were quite hungry and had no real plan for an early dinner. We used the internet to look up options, but no one had an opening for hours. Your concierge, Eugenia Nolan, saved the day. I asked her advice for dinner, and could barely explain what type of food would suit. She surveyed the family, quickly deteriorating into a crabby fog, and made us an immediate reservation at Bobby Van's. (As noted above, there is not an option to eat in the hotel) We left right then and walked the quick couple of blocks where we ate the best dinner of our trip- and kept us from starting the trip poorly.

Room Tip: Very close to food and entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. Happy to hear that the concierge team assisted with your needs. We do have a restaurant on property along with a full menu in our lounge. Sorry this was not offered to you during your visit.
Thank you,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    2,424
    1,423
    631
    313
See reviews for
1,677
1,385
342
1,661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Binbrook, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited New York on holiday and we were very happy with our stay at this Hilton. The location is great, close to everything we wanted to see. The ambiance was excellent and the service was too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. Glad to hear that your stay was good despite your room size.

Thank you,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed at this mid town hotel between Christmas and New Year as a family of four. The hotel was incredibly busy and took a fair while to check in even with the Hilton Honors queue. The double bedded room was much larger than the downtown Marriott that we had checked out.
The hotel is very close to Times Square and easily walk-able to Broadway, 5th Ave and many of the other other NY sights. It has many restaurants all within walking distance. Breakfast was impressive for the money that they charged and certainly seemed on a similar par charge wise with other breakfast venues. It provided a wider choice than the local diners and included fruit, cereals and the usual American.
All in a hotel that can be recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. Appreciate that you chose to visit during such a busy time frame. Apologize that you waited in long lines to be checked in. Happy to hear that the hotel rooms and the breakfast impressed you during your stay.

Thank you,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice centralized location to get around town from. Very busy hotel. Quiet in floors and rooms. Clean, I was treated well because I am a Hiltons HOnor member. Pricing depends on time of year. good places to eat right around hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. Happy to hear that the location worked for your stay and as a valued Honors member you felt the hotel treated you well. Thank you for choosing Hilton.

Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are very disappointed to hear that the hotel team has not been friendly via the phone. We will be reaching out to you to personally see if we can apologize and assist. Thank you for your long length of stay.

Thank you,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Went to NYC with my husband over Christmas, and stayed at the Hilton Midtown from
Dec. 23-26, 2013. We got a great deal on Expedia that we booked in Nov. It was BUSY!! (no surprise there). The size of the lobby and amount of people in it upon check in was overwhelming, but we were checked in in less than 10 minutes and got the room we had asked for. The staff at the front desk were quick and efficient.

Free wifi in the lobby is great, as in wifi in the rooms is I believe around $18/day. Lobby wifi is more than enough. Even given how busy it was, we were always able to get a connection for a quick text/email.

The lobby was beautiful and nicely decorated for Christmas.

The location of this hotel is by far THE BEST location we've ever stayed at in NYC. Close to everything...walking distance to Rockefeller center, shopping, restaurants. Lots of Starbucks around and a great 24 hour deli across the street with great options, as the quick take out restaurant they have at the hotel is WAY OVER PRICED, even by NYC standards. The food there looked old and not worth the price..$15 for a turkey sandwich!!

Anyways, the room was huge as it is an older hotel, which is a plus, (we had a king room). The room was clean, and the king bed was comfy. But as many of the other reviews state, the rooms are in desperate need of an upgrade. Especially the bathroom!! Old moldy shower curtain liner, dirty door, and old dirty wall paper. However, it did have a new shower head, which made a weird grinding noise when first turned on...but it still worked well. Good enough for a quick shower.

The lady at the concierge desk was very helpful and friendly in changing a dinner reservation for us.

If you're looking for a fancy, shmancy room with lots of amenities, this is not the place for you. But if you're looking for a big room in NYC, with a wonderful location then definitely look for a good deal and stay here, any time of the year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. Sorry to hear that hotel was quite busy during your stay. Delighted to hear that the location and the staff delighted you during your stay. The hotel is addressing the guest room concerns you mentioned. Please revisit to see the changes at the hotel.
Thank you,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel is in such need of a major refresh that I am mildly surprised the Hilton folks don't reassign it to a lower rank (Hampton Inn, etc.).

Where to start? Carpets in my 36th floor (Hhonors Gold) room need replacing, entry door is badly scuffed, shower head is antediluvian, light fixture has cracks in it, outdoor window is badly insulated on this frigid day, requiring excessive heat, etc. Restaurant for lunch was understaffed and pretty mediocre, elevators howl because of a poorly designed wind tunnel.

On the good side, room is a great size. Fitness center was great. And as I wrote above, the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. That you felt that the hotel was mediocre. We review customer feedback and share with our teams to improve the customers experiences. Happy to hear that the location worked and sorry for your disappointment.

Thank you,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Location great, room okay. The lack of room service, AND no real restaurant on the premises except the mediocre take out place in the lobby, will keep us from returning here. It is not that hotel dining is a favorite of ours, but there are times when it may be necessary. I happen to be here on business (a conference) with my husband but many of my women colleagues who are traveling solo are calling this a not very woman-friendly hotel and will make plans to stay elsewhere next time. For some of them, NYC is not a familiar place and they want the comfort and safety of having dining options within the hotel. The same may be true for men traveling alone who don't want to have to eat alone in a restaurant. So, solo travelers and anyone who wants the option of ordering up room service even once during a business or other trip, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1980
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.