We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this Hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Save Saved
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates: $199/nt
Ranked #319 of 449 hotels in New York City
Hilliard, Ohio
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“I like this Hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have stayed here multiple times for work, and the thing I like most about this hotel is consistency. I can count on it to be clean. The rooms aren't the biggest, but they are not tiny, like some of the boutique hotels I've stayed at. I usually luck out and get a decent view from my room. The TV always works and the hair dryer and the plumbing (you'd be surprised how often I've stayed somewhere in the city and that's not been the case). The only thing that is annoying (and may keep me from staying there in the future, since my boss was NOT pleased, is that we usually fly in sometime in the morning, and if a room is ready, we've always been able to check in. This time, they informed us that we could not get into the room early (even though it was ready) unless we paid a fee of $25. Not cool. We checked our bags until after 3:00. There was no fee to store them, but it would have been nice to just check in, since we knew the room was available. I haven't stayed anywhere else where this has been the case. In my boss's words, "Ridiculous". Too bad, because I do really like this Hilton.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,047 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,169
    2,024
    1,137
    483
    234
See reviews for
1286
1087
283
1277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tequesta, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

First built in 1963 as the largest hotel in New York City this old girl is a little new and a lot old. The rooms are straight out of the 1960's but some improvements have been made over the years. As a huge hotel the staff does it best to give the 1000's of guests a good experience. The location is super and given the costs of hotels in NYC one expects the rooms to be in better shape.

Room Tip: Use you Hilton Honors points to get an upgrade to one of the floors with recently refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our family of 4 went on Thanksgiving week and were checked on the 29th floor. Unfortunately, this hotel also accommodated some of the marchers of the Thanksgiving parade. So whatever time of night or day, the elevators always had a line. There did not seem to be an alternative plan to accommodate this volume to minimize disruption to regular vacationers like us. So a 10 minute run for lunch would normally turn out to be 30 minutes. Some of these young gaggle of girls with no better sense would also use the elevators to get from one floor to the next floor below.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Eileen,

Thank you for choosing to spend your holiday with us and for taking the time to share feedback on your stay with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the wait time for our elevators. We will share your comments with our facilities team and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Arrived late Sunday of Thanksgiving weekend (10.30) after a long delayed flight. Only one person on checkin with a small queue. Checkin very pleasant. Arrived at room through corridor with rubbish and linen left to be collected. Had to ask Monday to have it cleared. Staff as always very helpful. New Breakfast/snackfood area since I last stayed-great idea. Hotel was generally very busy but (aside from the left linen) staff professional and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We usually have a good experience at a Hilton and the Midtown Manhattan is no exception. We were there the Friday after Thanksgiving. We were early and left our baggage in the storage area, but made sure we came back to check in by 3:00 pm so we would be sure to get our two adjoining rooms. Check in was smooth, rooms were just fine, beds were very comfortable and plenty of towels in the bath. The location of this Hilton is wonderful. We walked and took cabs all over the city on Friday and it was such a pleasure to fall into that very soft bed on Friday night. We got an excellent value and will be traveling back to the City with family again before the end of January, so will definitely look for rooms at the Hilton. Oh, one thing I forgot, it is primitive to charge for internet - Hilton get with the program here.

Room Tip: Ask for exactly what you want and make sure to check in as early as you can. There are limited oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us over the Thanksgiving holiday. We really enjoyed welcoming our guests to the hotel for this great time of year. Happy to hear the the location worked for your stay and that you will potentially visit again in January.

Thank you,
Kellie Cahill, CMP
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford-on-avon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We were a party of 5 who stayed here for 3 nights following Thanksgiving, having booked 2 rooms, a double and a room with a day serenity bed, when we got to our rooms they were both doubles with no serenity bed, however a quick visit to the lobby and after a chat to a very apologetic male member of staff we were given a much better room than the original,with 2 double beds. The location was perfect for what we wanted, being close to Central Park and Time Square area's

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Appreciate your review and hope that you will again stay with us. Sorry you had to make a trip down to adjust your room, but nice to see it was to your liking. Thank you again for making us your home on your most recent visit to NYC.

Thank you,
Kellie Cahill, CMP
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Excellent hotel with all the amenities and services you could need, one of my favorite hotels in NYC. Close to shopping, Rockefeller Plaza and many other attractions. On site parking, bars, taxi stand and restaurant make everything very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#250 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.