We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, Impersonal, Tired, Expensive, but Clean, Great Location, and Accessible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Executive Lounge Access
Ranked #336 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Big, Impersonal, Tired, Expensive, but Clean, Great Location, and Accessible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I am staying the the Hilton Midtown right now…just after Thanksgiving. This is a crazy time of year especially for this area. There are a few things that I don't like though…let's start with those. This hotel is too big. I like to feel welcome at a hotel…but not here. It's like one of the big casino hotels on the strip….they are just processing the stock through the gates. There is no care or concern, no welcome and courtesy. It's just too big.

Due the size, I am sure it is hard to keep things current, but it just feels tired…and worn out. The carpet the colors, the furnishings…the uniforms…it just make me want to yawn. Everything about the hotel is expensive…and they try to squeeze every single penny out of you that they can…INCLUDING charging you $3.50 a bag to store your luggage until your room is ready…REALLY!?

There is a restaurant/cafe type place on site which serves Illy coffee…and while that's great…(at least it's not Starbucks)…the prices are out of control. A donut is $3.25. Really!?

The double beds…are very small doubles…and are not at all comfortable. The rooms are abut the size you would expect, but the decor, like the rest of the hotel is worn and dated. The bathroom was clean (including the corners), but it too could use a new bathtub and a general remodel.

The location in Midtown is great…a short walk from Rockefeller Center, Times Square, Central Park, and the Theatre district. So…much of what people come to do in New York is easily accessible. Speaking of accessible, I found the hotel VERY easy to get to…from the North…just a quick ride down the Henry Hudson…and a half mile East. That was GREAT. There is a National Car Rental place…just a few blocks away…so I was able to drop off my car…which was an added bonus!

All in all…it's OK, but I would prefer to stay in a smaller hotel, with more personality, amenities, and updated comfort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    2,423
    1,423
    630
    313
See reviews for
1,677
1,385
341
1,661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days during a conference and was very comfortable. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. I didn't have a great view of anything, but the location was great for exploring the city. Everyone that worked there was friendly and helped with recommendations on places to eat and see.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel situated right in mid town Manhattan. The location is excellent for both business and pleasure. The rooms are a good size and the beds are amazing. The comfiest I've ever slept in. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I am a Hilton diamond member. I stay at Hilton hotels all across the country and I would rate this years experience very poor. I have stayed at this hotel in the past so I didn't expect the recent changes.
First I will say the lack of control on the people coming and going to the executive lounge created a crazy mess at 5pm in the lounge. It seemed the bulk of the hotel piled in all at once for their 'free' food. The set up of food along the same wall as the wine made it virtually impossible to get a glass, mind you it's not free but with all the people lined up for food you couldn't even get to it.
Next I want to make you aware that they removed the coffee makers from the rooms within the last year and also no longer give breakfast certificates to honors members (your free breakfast is now in the lounge ... Good luck fighting for that).
The employees seem to know what is happening and are very wonderful but they didn't create the changes and can't help fix them. They are professional and polite ... But that can't help me feeling like I overpaid for this stay.
When in nyc, I stay at the embassy suites times square, normally pay half of what I paid per night on this trip (my room was over $500 per night). The embassy is in a primo location. And breakfast is great. Granted it is a holiday week /event but the price per night warrants a little more serve, not to mention my Hilton loyally deserves it.
So, I would highly recommend unless you need to choose this Hilton you make another choice .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have been to NYC many times and stayed at The Waldorf, Sheraton, etc. This is the first hotel that is rated 4 star with NO room service, no coffee pot in rooms (and none will be provided either-a strict policy), a self service restaurant like Holiday Inn but NY prices. Apparently the owners believe this is what hotel guests want. No real restaurant, no room service, no coffee pots in room and no availability, mostly self service with expensive room rates. Unreal.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

It's a great location but that's all that can be said. Broken arm - no help with luggage. not enough towels for people in room. did not seem that they could cope over thanksgiving, Room was in dire need of renovation. all in all a disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent visit to our hotel. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize for the poor reception you received and I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of ensuring our guests understand how much we value your time and business. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area, I do hope that you will be our guest again so we may better demonstrate our commitment to quality hospitality.

Thank you,

NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Hotel
Kellie Cahill
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We found the Hilton to be all we needed in a Central New York Hotel. Check in was very efficient and the room (standard king) was a good size with all facilities and clean and quiet. The cafe in the foyer is great for a simple snack or coffee.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your most recent review of the hotel. We appreciate the feedback from our guests and look forward to sharing it with our staff. Happy to hear that the location worked for your stay. Appreciate that the Herb N' Kitchen worked for your dining needs.

Kellie Cahill
New York Hilton Hotel
Director of Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1980
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.