We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates from $179
Ranked #327 of 457 Hotels in New York City
A TripAdvisor Member
“So disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is getting old and in rough shape. I stay in hotels all over NY. The condition of the furniture in the room sinful. The "fast food buffetria" disgusting. You took the spa out, which was one of the only reason I stayed there in the past, after a hard day at work, it was relaxing. Now even the gym is total lacking. The check in took almost a hour to do since only 2 people where working at 330 in the afternoon. For the price, this was truly awful. You have no right to have the star ratings from Hilton that you post on your site. Certainly would not recommend it, or stay there again. Your hotel is on the same level as the Milford, but at least they charge the proper price for what they offer. Disappointed Big Time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and appointment and we regret you were disappointed in our evolving amenities. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience, and hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
Kellie A Cahill, CMP
New York Hilton Midtown
Director of Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,299
    2,220
    1,298
    560
    271
See reviews for
1,529
1,257
316
1,498
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,017)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had 2 nights stay buring a buisness trip - for me with a perfet locations for all my meetings.
Quick good check in
Stayed in an executive room - big advantage is lounge and "high floor" that is very quiet abd not disturbed by trafic noice.
Nice and clean room. However I managed to get a stiff neck during the first night - may be my body did not like their pillows ?
Quick checkout.

Room Tip: i will pay for executive room due to -seperate check in, very quiet and lounge with breakfast includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review on your most recent stay we are happy to hear that the location worked for your visit. Sorry to hear that you left with some neck pain. You can always request foam pillows to support your neck. Thank you again.

Thank you,
Kellie A Cahill, CMP
New York Hilton Midtown
Director of Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Clean, comfortable bed, quiet and peaceful in the room. But nothing special, no drinking water provided, one guy at the front desk was particularly rude and most of the front desk staff don't seem like they are happy to have us. Other than that, the other staff like house keeping etc., are pretty decent and good. Can stay if it is not for many days, but still am sure there are better and cheaper hotels around NYC we can choose over this. Like I said, nothing very bad, but nothing good too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words on our staff and your constructive feedback on our service and appointment. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience, and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,
Kellie A Cahill, CMP
New York Hilton Midtown
Director of Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just got back last evening from a three day stay. After an early morning arrival, we were thrilled to be given early check-in for a very reasonable charge of $25.00. There is a beautiful, large lobby where check-in and check-out was quick and easy. The reception staff was excellent. The room was large for New York City hotel and the beds were very comfortable. The location is perfect for just about everything. Short walk to Radio City Music Hall, Times Square, and Central Park. The reason I didn't give this hotel a perfect rating? We left the room early morning Saturday and went back around 5:00 in afternoon to "freshen up" and the room had not been cleaned yet and there were not any clean towel/washcloths, etc. I called the desk and they connected me to housekeeping who asked if I had the "do not disturb" sign on the door. When I told them "no", I was told they would send someone up. As we were leaving we met a man from the housekeeping department and he said he would call the supervisor and they would take care of it. When we arrived back in the room later that night we found a stack of towels/cloths resting on the sink. No cleaning, bed making, replacing toiletries, had been done. Complimentary water in room only one of three days. Other than that, it is a nice stay!

Room Tip: We were on the 34th floor and could see a slice of Central Park through the buildings. Our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay. We will reach out to you to find out what room you were in to determine what happened with the refresh in the room. Thank you again.

Thank you,

Kellie Cahill, CMP
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Director of Marketing
New York Hilton Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I used to stay at this hotel - years back, and found it pretty dumpy. Now, however, the hotel has a nice, clean feel when entering the lobby. The reception is helpful and efficient. And although it seems like there must be hordes of people in the hotel, you don't get the feeling that it is very crowded. On the other hand, there are a few other, similarly priced major chain hotels in the area that do feel super crowded when walking through the lobby. Getting the room was easy and efficient. The rooms are not exactly large (but what is in Manhattan), and the bathrooms are particularly squished. Even considering the size of the room, the furnishings are nice, clean, and the room is well fitted with the things you would expect from a nice hotel of this class, including (my pet peeve) proper electrical outlets for all of the gear that everybody carries these days. In all, this is a good hotel, although it is typically rather pricey, so your best bet is to watch for specials or book well in advance - and watch out for the holiday season when the hotel is extra expensive.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate that you recognized changes from the last time you stayed with us when you visited New York City. We appreciate our guests feedback and use it to improve our customer interactions. Thank you again.

Thank you,

Kellie Cahill, CMP
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Director of Marketing
New York Hilton Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton alberta canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had a quick 4 day trip to New York with a girlfriend and was able to see a Broadway Musical, Broadway show and an opera, tour Central park and most other sites and shop. And the best thing about it was the location of the hotel. Just a few blocks or so from all the shows, a couple of blocks from Central park and a couple of blocks from all the shopping - perfect. Beds were comfortable and clean and I did like having the "market" downstairs to buy food to either eat there or take to my room (coffee and bagel in the morning was perfect and priced reasonably).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your time in New York with your friends. Thank you for trying Herb N' Kitchen. Thank you again.

Thank you,

Kellie Cahill, CMP
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Director of Marketing
New York Hilton Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have just returned from spending a week at the Hilton Midtown, New York. Overall it is a very good hotel which is in a fantastic location.

Upon arrival in the main reception area, I was greeted by staff and had to wait only a moment to check-in. I was upgraded to a room which was "recently refurbished". The room was a good size given it contained two double beds, full desk unit and side table/chairs. Most of the fixtures and fittings were of a good quality with a mid-size bathroom. The fixtures felt relatively new around the room and the wide-screen TV with ESPN and HBO was good.

The location is the big sell for this hotel. It is a few moments from the main shops of 5th Ave, 10 minute walk to Central Park and has good access to most Subway lines. If you need a taxi, or limousine, you can quite easily book one. Although the hotel has no formal restaurant, the Herb Fresh area does offer an opportunity to get food, although you don't really need it as there are plenty of good places to eat/drink nearby and a Starbucks across the street. The staff were very friendly throughout, all offering help and assistance to any questions I had during my stay.

However I do have a couple of criticisms. I found the room fixtures - although claiming to be new - quite tatty in places already. Several cupboards just didn't open and one handle was hanging off the wardrobe. The lights in the room are really poor, it needs full ceiling lights throughout not just two in the entrance and subsequent tiny lamps dotted around the room. The walls are incredibly thin - it was very easy to hear people in rooms either side. The lack of free wi-fi is also a real negative, as is the main entrance lobby which can feel like you are navigating a main street - some days there seemed to be a hundred or so people just hanging around in the lobby. I expected to hear some road noise from the room, but we were situated overlooking the AC units which were so noisy it did make sleeping slightly more difficult.

On the whole though I would say this is a good hotel, rooms are big and clean and the location is excellent. I would certainly give consideration to staying in this hotel on my return to New York.

Room Tip: Try and get a room high up to avoid a/c unit noise and road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay. We will reach out to you to find out what room you were in to determine if we need to go up and repair your items mentioned. Love to hear that the location worked for you and look forward to hosting you again. Thank you again.

Thank you,

Kellie Cahill, CMP
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
Director of Marketing
New York Hilton Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1980
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.