We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service/dirty rooms but good location.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates from $179
Ranked #328 of 458 Hotels in New York City
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“poor service/dirty rooms but good location.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hilton Midtown is in a good location but I much prefer the London Hotel a block away. Check-in (even in the Gold HH line) took nearly 30 minutes in the early afternoon as only 4 people behind the desk. The sheets on my bed were stained upon arrival with a lot of hair in the shower. I called down for housekeeping redo while I went to meetings and the shower was cleaned but during the entire 3 night stay the stained sheets were never replaced despite repeated requests. Room on 13th floor still had tremendous amount of street noise so would recommend staying at a much higher floor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the city and we apologize for the service and housekeeping problems you encountered. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and know our guests deserve better. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards moving forward and we hope you will give us a second chance to impress if you return our area in the future.

Thank you,

Kellie Cahill
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    2,226
    1,303
    562
    271
See reviews for
1,533
1,260
316
1,505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I've been staying in many hotels in NYC and I can tell that I had this week an awful experience at the Hitlon Midtown.
First I arrived late 11.30 PM and had to wait about 20 minutes at the front desk before getting a room. During this waiting time I did not receive any information if there was any issue with my prebooked room. Then I made it to the room and noticed that it was not the appropriate one as it cam with 2 queen size bed instead of one King size as requested.

I had to change it and lost again 20 minutes !

I discovered that the mini bar was closed and they evene did not asked if I requested the key, then the in-room menu was really poor and finally the room was old and the window was really not clean (I may understand that).

On the next morning I felt tjhat the person in charge of the check-out was really unfriendly to me and did not consider my opinion at all.

The only good point is the concierge service that was really helpful and made my day much better than my night.

I would never stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Bryce,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We regret to hear about your disappointment during your stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the challenges you encountered at check-in and with your original room not matching what you reserved.
Our goal is to have each guest have an enjoyable stay and I am sorry we let you down. We are continuously striving to provide the best service to our guests and to enhance the overall experience. I hope that if travels bring you back to New York City, you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate the service you have come to expect from the Hilton family.

Best Regards,

Kellie Cahill, NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton Midtown in NYC and loved it. Location is perfectly allocoated and close to all wonderful restaurants and sites! Service was very nice. Although the rooms are a little dated, they were clean and comfortable. It's a very busy hotel and wonderful people watching. The Starbucks coffee shop was a plus! As a gold member, you also are provided with free breakfast gift certificates which is nice. I would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in a prime location and tour the city venues.

Room Tip: Don't have any tips at this time.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are definately a green friendlly hotel. The reuse of your towels, notes that can be left on bed for sheet changing when needed, etc... :)
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the hotel and your loyatly to our brand as an Honors member. We value your customers. Glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to see some of our enhacements.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing

NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
t: +1 212 586 7000 e: NYCNH_DS@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed in room 3551, and I could hear everything the couple next door was up to. They are not throwing a party or anything, just going about their business. The sound proof is very poor.
Don't know if this is room specific or hotel wide.
Other aspects are fine about this hotel, great location and relatively cheap.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your email and we are sorry that the sound was challenging for your stay. Thank you so much for the feedback. We look forward to the next visit to New York City.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Good location for tourists and business meetings. Great service. Good restaurant for breakfast, the omelets are very food. Very nice shoppes, especially the jewelry store. There are always reasonable sales. I always check it out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of the New York Hilton. The hotel was pleased to have been the choice for your stay. Glad you enjoyed the omelettes and that you were able to shop in the stores.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

i had a rare chance to come to do business and to go to the US Open.

the corporate guys chose this hotel. i had been here about a decade ago.

i appreciated the midtown location. very opportune. also the hotel was nice. a bit cramped.

the service was nice but the hotel seemed overwhelmed. there were two conventions and a ton of foreigners. by that i mean a lot of visitors. with these crowds, the hotel truly seemed overwhelmed.

we spent little time there. slept and woke up and went about our business.

overall, the location is the key point here. as for the ambience, there is little. it is a business hotel. as for the service it was ok. as for the price, again ok. would i recommend it for someone visiting New York, not really. New York has so many great hotel venues, i would tell them to select something else. if the purpose is simply to come in and use this as your base for going around New York, then this hotel will do just fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Glad to hear you were able to come to the city and enjoy the US Open. It is a great time to travel to New York City. Nice to see that the location suited your travels.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This large modern hotel is really well located for visitors - walkable to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and 5th Ave and works well but has a few shortcomings. The main one being no coffee making facilities in the room. The hotel should realise that guests from Europe wake early and it really is annoying to have to dress and go down for a coffee to bring back. Had an Executive room with lounge access which was fine but very crowded for breakfast and when it says a 'healthy breakfast' they mean absolutely nothing hot except toast! Overall a good hotel for visitors if location is important.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Appreciate your review of the hotel and glad to hear we were a good location for your stay. Sorry to hear that during your stay it was a bit crowded. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing

NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
t: +1 212 586 7000 e: NYCNH_DS@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#242 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 1980
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.