We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed for this level of price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Save Saved
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates: $199/nt
Ranked #325 of 452 hotels in New York City
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed for this level of price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I've been staying in many hotels in NYC and I can tell that I had this week an awful experience at the Hitlon Midtown.
First I arrived late 11.30 PM and had to wait about 20 minutes at the front desk before getting a room. During this waiting time I did not receive any information if there was any issue with my prebooked room. Then I made it to the room and noticed that it was not the appropriate one as it cam with 2 queen size bed instead of one King size as requested.

I had to change it and lost again 20 minutes !

I discovered that the mini bar was closed and they evene did not asked if I requested the key, then the in-room menu was really poor and finally the room was old and the window was really not clean (I may understand that).

On the next morning I felt tjhat the person in charge of the check-out was really unfriendly to me and did not consider my opinion at all.

The only good point is the concierge service that was really helpful and made my day much better than my night.

I would never stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Bryce,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We regret to hear about your disappointment during your stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the challenges you encountered at check-in and with your original room not matching what you reserved.
Our goal is to have each guest have an enjoyable stay and I am sorry we let you down. We are continuously striving to provide the best service to our guests and to enhance the overall experience. I hope that if travels bring you back to New York City, you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate the service you have come to expect from the Hilton family.

Best Regards,

Kellie Cahill, NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,027 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,144
    1,994
    1,154
    493
    242
See reviews for
1368
1119
292
1319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton Midtown in NYC and loved it. Location is perfectly allocoated and close to all wonderful restaurants and sites! Service was very nice. Although the rooms are a little dated, they were clean and comfortable. It's a very busy hotel and wonderful people watching. The Starbucks coffee shop was a plus! As a gold member, you also are provided with free breakfast gift certificates which is nice. I would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in a prime location and tour the city venues.

Room Tip: Don't have any tips at this time.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are definately a green friendlly hotel. The reuse of your towels, notes that can be left on bed for sheet changing when needed, etc... :)
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the hotel and your loyatly to our brand as an Honors member. We value your customers. Glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to see some of our enhacements.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing

NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
t: +1 212 586 7000 e: NYCNH_DS@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed in room 3551, and I could hear everything the couple next door was up to. They are not throwing a party or anything, just going about their business. The sound proof is very poor.
Don't know if this is room specific or hotel wide.
Other aspects are fine about this hotel, great location and relatively cheap.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your email and we are sorry that the sound was challenging for your stay. Thank you so much for the feedback. We look forward to the next visit to New York City.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Good location for tourists and business meetings. Great service. Good restaurant for breakfast, the omelets are very food. Very nice shoppes, especially the jewelry store. There are always reasonable sales. I always check it out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of the New York Hilton. The hotel was pleased to have been the choice for your stay. Glad you enjoyed the omelettes and that you were able to shop in the stores.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

i had a rare chance to come to do business and to go to the US Open.

the corporate guys chose this hotel. i had been here about a decade ago.

i appreciated the midtown location. very opportune. also the hotel was nice. a bit cramped.

the service was nice but the hotel seemed overwhelmed. there were two conventions and a ton of foreigners. by that i mean a lot of visitors. with these crowds, the hotel truly seemed overwhelmed.

we spent little time there. slept and woke up and went about our business.

overall, the location is the key point here. as for the ambience, there is little. it is a business hotel. as for the service it was ok. as for the price, again ok. would i recommend it for someone visiting New York, not really. New York has so many great hotel venues, i would tell them to select something else. if the purpose is simply to come in and use this as your base for going around New York, then this hotel will do just fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Glad to hear you were able to come to the city and enjoy the US Open. It is a great time to travel to New York City. Nice to see that the location suited your travels.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This large modern hotel is really well located for visitors - walkable to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and 5th Ave and works well but has a few shortcomings. The main one being no coffee making facilities in the room. The hotel should realise that guests from Europe wake early and it really is annoying to have to dress and go down for a coffee to bring back. Had an Executive room with lounge access which was fine but very crowded for breakfast and when it says a 'healthy breakfast' they mean absolutely nothing hot except toast! Overall a good hotel for visitors if location is important.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Appreciate your review of the hotel and glad to hear we were a good location for your stay. Sorry to hear that during your stay it was a bit crowded. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing

NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
t: +1 212 586 7000 e: NYCNH_DS@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

it was nice in every aspect, huge reception great room and practical location only few minutes walking to times square and few minutes to subway going to uptown or downtown
it was in the center of manhattan, nearby starbucks one on 2 corners of the hotel. around the corner pizza place and applebees and KFC.

the breakfast is one of a luxury with smoked salamon

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel and glad to hear and see that it was a WOW for you. Our location worked for your stay and we love to hear that. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing

NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
t: +1 212 586 7000 e: NYCNH_DS@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#253 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.