We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Save Saved
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Rates: $179/nt
Ranked #312 of 446 hotels in New York City
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This large modern hotel is really well located for visitors - walkable to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park and 5th Ave and works well but has a few shortcomings. The main one being no coffee making facilities in the room. The hotel should realise that guests from Europe wake early and it really is annoying to have to dress and go down for a coffee to bring back. Had an Executive room with lounge access which was fine but very crowded for breakfast and when it says a 'healthy breakfast' they mean absolutely nothing hot except toast! Overall a good hotel for visitors if location is important.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Appreciate your review of the hotel and glad to hear we were a good location for your stay. Sorry to hear that during your stay it was a bit crowded. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing

NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
t: +1 212 586 7000 e: NYCNH_DS@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,089
    1,880
    1,058
    446
    215
See reviews for
1177
1015
266
1180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

it was nice in every aspect, huge reception great room and practical location only few minutes walking to times square and few minutes to subway going to uptown or downtown
it was in the center of manhattan, nearby starbucks one on 2 corners of the hotel. around the corner pizza place and applebees and KFC.

the breakfast is one of a luxury with smoked salamon

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel and glad to hear and see that it was a WOW for you. Our location worked for your stay and we love to hear that. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing

NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
t: +1 212 586 7000 e: NYCNH_DS@Hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel's lobby area is busy as Union Station. You have to queu to everything.. Front desk, concierge, breakfast.. always a hefty wait in line, which I find annoying. Service is not personal. When we got in our room we found out that there were no towels at all, another sign how everything must be tuned to mass servicing. The hotel breakfast is rather average and not worth the money. But location is convenient for sure.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The staff is friendly and my room was quiet, but I always leave the hotel loathing myself for staying there. Why? First, there is no longer any room service. It's a grab and go/flat bread takeout area where I paid $25 for a chicken caesar salad and soup. I didn't even get a drink. That's worse than the prices at the airports in NYC. Second, the thermostat in the room does not work. I asked the desk, but I was told that the systems don't respond well. Third, I was told I was in an updated room. It was fine, but it didn't feel brand new. Finally, the Wi-Fi was slow, even at 6am. The good news is that I slept quite well and that there was no room noise and that the TV had a timer, which I enjoy. It's a good location, but there are plenty of other Hilton properties in NYC that offer better amenities and similar to nicer rooms.

Room Tip: A high floor always helps out with lessening the din from NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for being a valued guest of our hotel and for sharing this feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience through our service and amenities. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your comfort and satisfaction.

Thank you,

KELLIE ANN CAHILL, CMP I Director – Sales & Marketing
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
NEW YORK HILTON MIDTOWN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed there on a girl's trip first weekend in September. I have few positive things to say. As we checked in they said, we gave you one of our renovated rooms....um, it was probably renovated 6 years ago. It is an average room, the bathroom is tiny and for the size was not nice, rather banged up making it look not that clean. The location, for us, was perfect. We were only sleeping in this room, so it fit our needs. If your looking for luxury, keep looking. If your looking for a decent hotel, with a good location...this is your spot.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor, it was not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with my dad and brother in law to catch a football game. The hotel has a great central location just blocks from Times Square, Central Park, and across the street from Radio City Music Hall. There are also two subway stops within a block of the building on either side so it was very easy to get around town. The room we stayed i was freshly renovated and well appointed. There is some construction work happening since the entire hotel is undergoing a refresh but it wasn't noticeable during the stay. The breakfast area seemed to be lacking in some options but there are some good options very nearby. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

this is one of the best Hilton hotels in the usa, it has a perfect location to visit NYC, if you do it on vacation or business style. Rooms are perfectly elaborated to fit your needs. Great Staff, Nice clean romos, one block away from metro station blue and orange, one block away from Moma museum, 2 blocks away from Radio City, 3 blocks away from Rockefeller center, 3 blocks away from central park, 4 blocks away from broadway shows, what can you ask more?
Even though a Little overpriced but if you book ahead, you may find some very good deals.
I would for sure recomend this hotel to anyone assisting New York City.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York Hotel
Hilton New York
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#248 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.