We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, but.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New York Hilton Midtown

Save Saved
You added New York Hilton Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New York Hilton Midtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Rates: $199/nt
Ranked #319 of 449 hotels in New York City
Karlslunde Strand, Roskilde, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“location, but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

we stay at Hilton during easter, and maybe its part of the problem. The Hotel seem full, god for management, not so great for guest its not a bad hotel, not at all. In fact it's a good Hotel. The location is great, everything is nearby, and it's also in a nice and quiet neighborhood. In fact I also think we got upgraded.

Why are we only give it an average rating ? Its a close call to an upgraded :-)

One problem is the amount of people. It seems all people are downstairs, and are evrythere at the lobby. I think its because you have free WIFI at the lobby, there you have to pay at the room. I think its a mistake from the hotel, also if you consider that to pay for the room.

Next is the capacity of the lift, this is not enough. We had big problems getting up and down, because to many people. I think there was 6 lift, but 3 of them was only for deluxe rooms. meaning other have to wait, or coming up and down with the same lift , on the same trip.

The breakfast was very espensive, but there is a lot of alternatives just outside - so not a problem.

The room was alright, but bed was quit small for 2 people - also for children. And very strange there is no minibar at the room.

But the location is great, and everything was in order, also cleening at the room and hotel.

Room Tip: up, up and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,047 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,169
    2,024
    1,137
    483
    234
See reviews for
1286
1087
283
1277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is the famous original Hilton built by Conrad Hilton way back in 1963. It has class for sure.
The location on 6th avenue is in the center of things. The service is superb. The rooms are nice with very comfortable beds. The gym is large and what you would expect of a city fitness center.

A few drawbacks, however, lead me to rate this hotel as too expensive for what it offers. For one, they advertise a sauna but the locker rooms seem to have been out of service when we were there. As well, the breakfast is marginal, at best, and is not up to par with breakfasts that I've had at other Hiltons (eg Copenhagen, Madrid). The decor is nice but a bit cramped, unlike every other Hilton where I've seen a nice atrium that greets you when you enter.

Overall, I wouldn't pay more than $250 for a 2-person suite at this place, but last time I checked, the prices are minimum $350, which in my opinion is simply not worth what they provide. I suspect, however, that they will keep charging such a high price simply because they have the popularity of being Midtown Hilton and can attract enough customers who don't know any better to overpay for their rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The property is the perfect location to stay. The property has everything one would need to enjoy their vacation in the Big Apple.

Some of the staff can be at times not friendly and reluctant to answer a simple question. However, the majority of the staff will go far an beyond the call of duty!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time, hotel was nice and we loved the location! The room service help was extremely helpful and kind. The rooms were bigger than expected. Would have like to have had a coffee maker in the room!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel. I did not have high expectations, based on some previous reviews. However, I was pleasantly surprised. This is an older hotel,but, in my opinion it was well maintained. The rooms were clean and comfortable and relatively large for NYC standards. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was excellent. They were friendly and helpful. This location is excellent. Close to all of the tourist sites and business areas. I will stay here without any hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great location but this hotel has the standards of a cheap motel. Lights in the room were broken and not fixed by room service. Bathrooms from the dark ages. No coffee / tea makers or mini-bar in the room. No staff in the gym (which was average). Room service menu was limited and the food quality was poor. The use of leaving voicemail at services (eg laundry) is frustrating. One just receives the impression that the hotel is short of staff.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights before checking out and moving to another hotel! On arrival we were greeted by a rude member of staff who rushed to check us in and send us on our way. We were sent to a standard room despite having booked an executive room - after having traveled for 16 hours my patience was wearing thin. After returning to reception we were moved to another room but told the room we had booked was not available that night - not pleased! The room was very small and dark, the bath was tiny and i could have done a better job cleaning the room myself. On waking we were greeted by the loud noise of the housekeeping staff which continued for 3 hours every morning as they ran up and down the corridors shouting at each other. We did not try any of the food at the hotel. Despite being a Hilton Honours member we did not receive free WIFI despite asking several times - since returning home we are aware that WIFI was included in our package but they are incredibly unhelpful! If you try to contact the concierge from the room, they NEVER answer the phone! On visiting the concierge downstairs to find out how long it would take to get to a restaurant by taxi we were told to take a subway!! We did point out that we didn't want to take the subway but she was adamant that i should and made sure i felt stuck up and spoilt - i was on holiday!! If the hotel was not in such a great location we would have left after the first night... instead we left after the third! The gym is the best feature of this hotel and has a great view. This Hilton hotel is not of the same calibre as any other Hilton hotel i have stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kek98, Director of Sales at New York Hilton Midtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle and frustration you experienced during your recent stay with us. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one and apologize this was not your impression. We will share your comments on noise and service with our team and use them as we work towards our brand standard quality hospitality. The next time you are in the area we hope you will return to stay with us so we may show you the level of service and stay you expect from our family of hotels.

Thank you,

Kellie A. Cahill, CMP
NYCNH_DS@hilton.com
New York Hilton Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New York Hilton Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Hilton Midtown

Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Avenue at 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#158 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#250 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Hilton Midtown 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated international hotel designed for both the business and leisure traveler, the New York Hilton Midtown is located in the midst of New York City’s business headquarters and media centers, conveniently near Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and the Museum of Modern Art, just one block from Fifth Avenue shopping, and a short stroll to Times Square, Broadway theatres, Central Park, and many more cultural attractions for which New York is famous. Equipped with modern conveniences to meet all your business and travel needs, the hotel features extensive facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your New York Hilton Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City
New York Hilton
New York City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York Hilton Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.